Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
4,058 évaluations
1,221 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JA

May 04, 2020

Muy buen curso, me sirvió mucho, aprendí demasiado sobre las cosas básicas y el profesor es muy bueno !! Super recomendado si no saben nada de GIS y están empezando a comprender las herramientas

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 1,184 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Katharine S

Feb 06, 2017

Really awesome instructor! He walks you through everything. He assumes you know little about computers and programming, which is great for people trying to gain a deep understanding of why things work the way they do. Really helpful introduction to ArcGIS!

par JCarlos P

Nov 12, 2019

Mr Santos and his team have done a great job in this course. I'd highlight two points that I appreciated a lot: the final assignment closely relates to the course's content and the right balance between depth and breadth of the weekly topics. Congrats.

par Karyn D

Jul 01, 2018

I have been using ArcGIS for a long time and I am very comfortable with the program features that I use frequently. I expected this introductory course to be all review, but was very pleased that I learned so much more already. On the the next course!...

par Andrew K

Jun 07, 2017

Well paced introduction to GIS - If you don't have a solid background in various windows applications, file management, and basic analytics concepts allow more time to go through the assignments (and revise the course material) and make sure you do them!

par NIPIN K P

Aug 21, 2020

The course is exceptionally wonderful and informative. Almost covered all the basic topics in GIS and the basics of ArcGIS. The Mentor 'Nick Santos' and their team have taken a great effort for this course. Thank you UC Davis for such a great course.

par Mihaela F

Sep 11, 2018

Great course, well structured, and well balanced between practice and theory. I had already worked with GIS in university, but this course brought up some basic details that I until now missed. I am looking forward for the next courses in this suite.

par Madeline M

Jun 22, 2020

This is a great course for a first time GIS users! The assignments come with tons of helpful detail to help you succeed as you create your first maps. ArcGIS is an intimidating programs where your first steps are made accessible through this course.

par Saubhagya S R

Aug 15, 2017

Very well planned course. The videos and demo materials helped a lot in learning the concepts. The instructions to do the non-graded HWs were very detailed, which I would use as a reference material whenever I have some doubt regarding those topics.

par Catherine R

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was very helpful and I think by the final project submission I was fairly familiar with the fundamentals of GIS. I also used the supplemental reading that was suggested for the course and found it also very useful.

par Vaibhav G

Nov 06, 2017

It is a course that helps you understand the basics of GIS very easily (without any prior knowledge of the Arc software). The assignments at the end of every week is something that helps you a lot so if you are taking this course don't skip that.

par Jegadeesh R

May 16, 2016

This course gave me a great overview of GIS and in particular ArcGIS.

Big thanks to our instructor Nick Santos, who he was excellent in explaining the concepts

and how the tool works!!

I'd happily recommend this course to anyone interested in GIS.

par Lauren C

Oct 15, 2018

Fantastic course, very well thought out and put together for anyone to understand. I never thought I would be able to grasp GIS concepts but the instructor explains everything so well. This was amazing and I would highly recommend to anyone!

par S R

Aug 03, 2020

I am currently pursuing a master of technology in GIS and RS, while I thought I knew the basics of GIS and RS fairly well, I realized after taking this course the ocean of GIS has no depth. wonderfully delivered by Prof. Nick Santos:)

Cheers

par Warner B

Oct 31, 2017

I learned to use ArcMap in grad school several years ago, but needed a refresher to learn what new tricks the software could do. This course was an excellent start and I was glad for the opportunity to use ESRI's new cloud sharing tools.

par Shaun J

Dec 04, 2019

As a student intending to pursue a career in epidemiology, the course 'Fundamentals of GIS' opened up a new perspective for me. One that of a spacial analyst. I highly recommend this course for those who want to get familiar with ArcGIS.

par Jessica D

Oct 31, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. It was very thorough and I felt like I got a good grasp on the basics of GIS which was really helpful for the future courses. Definitely a great course to take if you are looking to master the basics of GIS.

par Megan H

Jun 09, 2020

I had already taken two GIS courses in college but this course really helped round out my skills. The instructor was very easy to follow and understand. I learned a lot in this class! I am much more confident using the ArcGIS software.

par Juriaan V

Dec 29, 2019

Excellent course to get to know the basics of GIS. I previously had some courses in a bachelor study in Earth Sciences, but this course gave me a refresher on most parts with extra new tricks as well. Very good pace for newcomers too.

par Trishna D

Aug 08, 2016

I am familiar with GIS, but am completely self taught. This course taught me many little tricks and ways to make the workflow much more efficient. Loved learning about the spatial join and was able to use it immediately in my own work.

par Ruby M

Oct 02, 2019

This course is really useful to learn the basics in interpreting maps, also, the tools are given, the resources and the way the classes are taught are incredible that you are looking forward to continuing learning even more about GIS.

par Jafed E G

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par Muntaha M

Nov 17, 2018

This course is awesome, prior to joining this course I had no idea what GIS actually is. Thanks to Sir Nick Santos for illustrating every thing meaningfully. Learners interested in learning GIS must take this course as a kick starter.

par Naveed A

May 18, 2020

Thank u Coursera for providing me an opportunity to learn through the top-quality platform. The course is well structured. The instructor is an amazing teacher with great abilities. Thank you, UC Davis, Coursera, and Sir Nick Santos.

par Samuel A d S

Apr 24, 2020

Que curso sensacional. Confesso que as minhas expectativas foram preenchidas. Parabéns a equipe do Coursera e ao Professor Nick Santos pelo repasse de conhecimento. Nunca irei esquecer e pretendo continuar ainda mais no mundo do GIS.

par Md. M H

May 23, 2020

Really it's a nice course for beginner and helps to enrich idea about these topics both theoretically and practically. the heartiest thanks to the course coordinator and UCDAVIS as well as Coursera team to creating this opportunity.