Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
4,213 évaluations
1,274 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

VM
4 oct. 2020

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
27 déc. 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,234 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Saili P

13 avr. 2017

This course was extremely useful for me to kick start learning about GIS and software. It has clearly laid our syllabus and neatly made videos which help overcome inhibitions about technical nitty grittties.. The course has instilled confidence in me to continue further studying various aspects of GIS. I enjoyed doing my assignments too. I highly recommend this course to any one who deals in spatial aspects in their work.

par Jason W

25 nov. 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this class! Nick Santos does a fantastic job of breaking down the core concepts and making them easy to understand while at the same time showing you how to jump right in and start learning by doing. I'm hooked! At this point, all the other things in my life (job, family, dog, sleeping, eating etc.) are just annoyances that are getting in the way of me being able to learn more in these courses.

par Kevin A C

31 déc. 2017

my only problem with this course is the use of Arc GIS.I have been able to download it or parts of it and I'm not sure which, but I can't get a license to work even the temporary one so I can't do the work. And frankly I don't have any intention of using the Arc GIS when I am done I intend using integrated program that I can use within Adobe's CAD system. So I really don't want to have to buy a full copy of Arc GIS

par Christopher B J

7 avr. 2020

This was my first introduction to GIS and I really enjoyed how this course provided a comprehensive and hands-on overview of the topic. The content of the course is very well structured and the different lessons nicely build upon each other. All the necessary information to successfully complete the assignments were readily available. The lecturer's excitement for GIS was truly infectious! Can only recommend!

par Nadine Y

27 juil. 2020

I've taken GIS tutorials before, both free and paid, but they have never really stuck. This course answered a lot of my questions about the behind-the-scenes pieces of GIS that were really tripping me up. Like, what do these files mean, how do I open this, why is this map that used to open now having problems? Nick's explanations of how ArcMap "thinks" really filled in a lot of gaps in my knowledge. 5 stars

par Colby N

21 oct. 2016

Great course! The instructor is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and makes the material relatable to many different fields. The assignments closely align with the material and are at the appropriate difficulty level with good walkthroughs to get you started. And the final project was also appropriate for the scope of the course - very doable but took a little bit of tinkering and experimentation.

par Andrew Y

27 avr. 2020

Very helpful course in getting my hands on GIS as someone who has never touched GIS before. Nick's videos are always very clear and concise. The practice projects with step-by-step instructions were very helpful, and I appreciate how the peer-reviewed project really allowed me to make sure I could apply the skills from this course. Looking forward to the other courses in this specialization.

par Ardi V

24 nov. 2019

I have been browsing the internet so hard for a good course about GIS until I suddenly came across Coursera. I have never been so amazed with how everything was well-organized and well-thought. Thank you so much to the team, especially to Nick Santos for putting up such great effort for such great course. I am looking forward to taking the next few courses to complete the specialization.

par Nadine L

3 nov. 2020

This course was a lot more challenging than I anticipated, but in a good way. I enrolled because I wanted to challenge myself with something more technical/mathematical than the biological/nature-based approach that I'm used to in my work. I wasn't disappointed, and I'm happy to have learned a lot. I plan to take the other courses so I can widen the scope of my future research projects.

par Shiva S M

24 avr. 2020

Everything was perfectly explained by Mr. Nick and I feel really confident about ArcGIS after finishing this course and I feel the assignments were perfect for my understanding of the topic in hand at the end of each module. The peer review really helped me understand the other ways through which I could do my final assignments and showed me my faults through other pupils assignments

par Jerson A

8 janv. 2019

Excelente curso, con un dictado claro y bastante preciso de los conceptos y herramientas de análisis de los sistemas de información georeferenciados (GIS) en el software ArcGis, invito a la comunidad latinoamericana a iniciar el curso no requiere de un profundo dominio del idioma ingles para aprender y desarrollar los trabajos, basta con un conocimiento a nivel intermedio del ingles.

par Paul B

9 juin 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. All the learning material, including the video lectures, are top-notch. Instructor Nick Santos has terrific presentation skills and his knowledge of the material is beyond reproach. Developing GIS skills while using industry-standard software is a wonderful opportunity, and as a participant, I just couldn't be more pleased with this course.

par Peter K

10 avr. 2020

This course was great! Nick provides very thorough descriptions and explanations of features and concepts that do not require any prior knowledge of GIS before starting this programme. I am now comfortable playing around with many features within ArcGIS thanks to practical skills put into practice through the assignments. I look forward to continuing with this specialisation.

par Michael P

10 janv. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I thought that the teacher was very helpful and thorough for an introduction course. This is my first time doing an online course so I don't have much to compare it to, but it definitely exceeded my expectations. Nick Santos or maybe Professor Santos is a very enthusiastic teacher and really encourages the student to excel and succeed. Thank you!

par Katherine L

18 juil. 2017

Fundamentals of GIS was a very well put together course! I enjoyed the well-done and informative presentations, the attention to a good learning sequence, and the excellent examples to encourage us to try on our own. The final project was a good one to test basic knowledge of analyzing data and preparing a final map. I look forward to taking the other courses in the series!

par Lee S

14 mars 2017

As an introduction to GIS, I thought this was excellent. I do wish it had been more in depth regarding data types, how to integrate (for example raster data) the different types. It's also obvious that the sheer number of tools available is huge. In other words, I've got a lot to look forward to in upcoming courses and I hope I can learn enough to become a GIS professional.

par Grazyna M R

12 oct. 2020

The course is well structured, informative and enjoyable. I like the fact that it is flexible, I could work at my own pace and repeat the modules whenever I wanted. The video presentations and assignments were excellent. I feel that I have greatly improved my skills and now have a good understanding of GIS, and a strong foundation to build on with further specialisations.

par Maite I

14 mars 2016

Although it is not yet over, I would like to rate this course. I think the course structure is very good and the contents are very useful. I like the way it works. As well, I would like to thank the instructor, Mr. Nick Santos and all the team, since the explanations are great (besides, as a non-native English speaker, I could understand everything without any problem).

par Ripan K

25 nov. 2019

I was confused on using ArcGIS and how to analyse and visualize data correctly by it. This course 'Fundamental of GIS' is helps me to overcome the limitations I had. I am gratitude to Coursera to offer such a course and giving me chance to do the course. Furthermore, this course is designed with proper steps that is crucially helpful for any beginner learning GIS.

par Kacper C

3 juin 2018

In my case, this course served as a recap of basic skills I've already learned. In the end it gave me some greater insight, and taught me some new things as well. The course was created in a very easy to understand way, and all of the materials are very helpful, as well as the course discussion. I'll definitely go and take next courses from this specialisation.

par Caitlin B

25 sept. 2020

I really enjoyed this course, and honestly felt like I learned more and was more able to work with data and maps in GIS after taking this 4 week course than I ever was after I tried taking a semester-long course in college on it. Thanks so much for this course! I look forward to taking the other courses in the specialization. It was a really well-done course.

par Eric L

15 juil. 2018

Great overview and introduction to ArcGIS. It might feel basic, you might want to skip parts, but there is valuable information throughout if you're relatively new to ArcGIS. Explaining how to navigate a program like this is especially helpful when so many powerful features are unintuitively buried in right-click menus or a settings button three levels deep.

par Golam T H

28 juil. 2017

This is amazing! Absolutely great, useful and easy online course. I have learned very basic things about ArcGIS and got everything I needed to start right away with the complex software package. The course was very interesting and student friendly and it helped me a lot understanding things I wanted and things that were vital for me to learn and understand.

par Tryfonidou E

20 sept. 2020

This lesson was really helpful. It was the first time I have never studied ArcGIS before, so I was a total beginner. It was an understandable lesson, with many tutorials and scripts which helped me to understand what GIS is what types of data it uses and basic functions of it. I would totally recommend it for every scientist. It is a a very important tool.

par Andrew J

2 mars 2020

Excellent introduction to ArcGIS. The course took about three weeks to complete during work hours at a casual pace. The three assignments were great at reinforcing course content I'd just learned, and the forums were very helpful. I'm currently enrolled in the second ArcGIS course and the materials from the Fundamentals course are already coming in handy.