Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
étoiles
3,181 évaluations
898 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JS

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 860 Avis pour Fundamentals of GIS

par Martin D

Nov 23, 2016

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain knowledge and learn some basic skills in GIS. Like the name of the course suggests, it gives you a sound foundation to build on. The lecturer, Mr Nick Santos, has a real talent in teaching and does a fantastic job in sharing his passion for GIS.

par Andriambolantsoa R

Mar 22, 2016

This is an excellent course for anyone starting with GIS. It covers all the bases you need to know to make your first map and share it with the world. It also in the way covers the most important thing in GIS : making selection.

The course is well structured and easy to follow. I highly recommend this course

par Victoria M

Jul 20, 2017

A great introduction to GIS. The lecture material is clear and easy to follow with weekly assignments making good practice for theory learnt. Nick is a great communicator and his passion for GIS shines through. I've thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to the next module in the specialisation.

par William A

May 29, 2016

This is an excellent introduction to GIS and ArcGIS, especially if you are a professional that needs to start learning GIS while balancing work. I am taking the entire speciality, which is really worth doing--four weeks is not enough for this field. The instructor and materials are thoughtful and clear.

par Andrei D N

Oct 23, 2016

Wonderfully structured ! This course helped me start with GIS from scratch and walked me through up to a point when I was able to search for data, evaluate and analyze data and make my own map files.

Recommend for beginners and self taught intermediates who need to grasp some core principles correctly.

par Rishabh S

Mar 11, 2019

Thanks a lot to University of California, In India we don't use GIS in City Gas distribution industry, but after learning this course I get to know the importance of this software. And providing free version for the student help to experiment with the software at my own pace.

Thanks a lot to Coursera

par Himanshu s

Mar 04, 2020

It is very good course for learning the basics of GIS as this course provide the important information that is required to learn GIS. Videos provided are quite descriptive which are easy to understand and assignments also helpful to understand the concept and help to be familiar with the Arcmap.

par wamunyima k

Apr 04, 2020

This journey has been good for me especially lessons by our lecturer Nick Santos gives very clear and descriptive explanations. Its very interesting to lean this course. its really helpful to me, wish my friend can join me, because this course is not common but can be applied in all the sectors

par Lourdes J

May 12, 2018

This was a great refresher course for me. it goes beyond basics to discuss troubleshooting ArcMap, sharing the map on the web, implementing a variety of symoblogy types, geoprocessing (spatial joins, etc.) your data, and making map books, all with practicality AND proper procedure in mind.

par Thomas L

Jul 24, 2017

Incredible course- extremely informative and does a spectacular job at preparing one for other specialties in GIS. This introductory course opens doors for further study in GIS, Urban Planning, and Environmental Policy and Law, and allows a functional understanding of the basics of ArcGIS.

par Denise P

May 15, 2016

Easy to understand overview of basic GIS concepts and how to apply them in ArcGIS. The short videos fit into a busy day and can be slipped in between work and home life. Forums are easily accessible with helpful input from the instructor as well as experienced students. Highly recommended.

par Kiran K G

Feb 12, 2020

It is the best course which covers all the essential basics which you need to know about GIS as a beginner. I highly recommend this course if you have 5-6 hours per week. You will appreciate this course once you complete it. I am looking forward to the next module in this specialization.

par Andrew K

Nov 04, 2019

Great introduction to the basic concepts of GIS. I took a GIS class in undergrad roughly eight years ago and wanted to brush up, and this class definitely helped with that. I recommend buying the textbook they recommend having as it gives extra practice than what is offered in the class.

par Zoran R

Mar 11, 2019

I have to say that this is one great course. I learned the basic of GIS, and everything I need for my first steps as a GIS analyst. I will certainly continue with mu education, and finish all five GIS specialization courses. Thank you very much for knowledge I receive during this course.

par Christopher A C

Feb 14, 2018

This is a great course to understand the fundamentals of GIS. While you may feel lost and confused at certain times, don't worry as it will all come together when you complete your peer-reviewed assignment, provided you are motivated enough to seek out the solutions to your errors.

par Laura M

Aug 07, 2016

This course is a good introduction for anyone beginning to work with GIS, because it starts from the very basics. The course has a great format and content; it's one of the best I've taken on Coursera. The tutorial assignments and project are great for practicing the concepts.

par Keshav R

Apr 09, 2020

This one of the best course in Coursera in the field of Geographic Information System. The course materials are up to date and the instructor is also very qualified and his ways of teaching is awesome. I strongly recommend this course to everyone who are involved in this field.

par James C

Apr 28, 2016

This course was perfect for just getting into GIS. I have taken a few entry level GIS courses and the videos / practical application that this course provided was some of the easiest to comprehend. Thank you for all of the material and I'm looking forward to my next class!

par Cristian R V K

Apr 11, 2018

Excellent course. The lessons were clear. The progression system is on point. The assignments were well designed and really got me motivated to continue. Highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely taking on the second course of the series. Thanks to the team behind this.

par Sofia S

Mar 14, 2020

The concepts were very clearly and concisely explained; the practice assignments (1-3) were very helpful in developing experience working with ArcMap; and Dr. Santos is a great lecturer. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants an introduction to GIS.

par Alexandre M

Jan 09, 2017

Highly recommended! The content is a fascinating introduction to using ArcMap and real-world data to create basic maps. Individual skills are taught in a stepwise fashion and culminate in an enjoyable final assignment. Nick is a terrific teacher - well done!

par Ángel B

Feb 19, 2018

I had previous experience with ArcGIS because I had to learn on my own, but this course taught me a lot more tools than I thought I would get from a "fundamentals" course. The teacher is very detailed and thorough, yet very easy to understand. Great course.

par Huanglei P

Dec 27, 2017

Although it is a fundamental course, Nick illustrated core concepts of GIS and most useful operations and skills on ArcGIS. When finishing this course, you are able to do some primary analysis and draw beautiful and professional maps in ArcGIS! Really cool!

par Katharine S

Feb 06, 2017

Really awesome instructor! He walks you through everything. He assumes you know little about computers and programming, which is great for people trying to gain a deep understanding of why things work the way they do. Really helpful introduction to ArcGIS!

par JCarlos P

Nov 12, 2019

Mr Santos and his team have done a great job in this course. I'd highlight two points that I appreciated a lot: the final assignment closely relates to the course's content and the right balance between depth and breadth of the weekly topics. Congrats.