Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
869 notes
335 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 327 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Rameeza N

Feb 02, 2016

This course is a complete package for those who aspire to be a fiction writer, it teaches all steps right from how to start writing to publishing. For me it was a dream course, really enjoyed it and I wish further course of such kind is available so I could join it . Instructors David Hill and Maria Gill were great and they taught in very effective manners and so were the guest speakers.

par Suzana J

Nov 09, 2015

Loved every minute of it.

par sandra

Sep 27, 2015

:D

par Lizeth M

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent! It has interviews from different writers - different cultures, too - and also has basic concepts to start writing. I loved it, it really felt like opening a treasure chest, literally!

par vmphuongg

Feb 16, 2016

really amazing :> thank you for this course :>

par Sherri P

Feb 19, 2016

I LOVED these instructors! I wish I could take an entire year of classes with them. I felt like they really want the students to succeed. Great course for learning the basics of writing for young readers. They gave us plenty to think about and whetted my desire to write even more! Thanks so much!

par Purnima L

Jan 28, 2018

Very salient points presented throughtout. Clear and concise advice. Liked the instructors and very helpful author video interviews.

par Luis E E G

Apr 29, 2016

Its a great Course.

It has a lot of good recommendations, interviews and tools for new writers.

It also has a very good format and the authors that participate communicate good and share very interesting experiences and points of view of what it is for them to write.

I think the interaction and forums dont work very good. Ive taken other workshops (not online) but a primarial resource for improving and getting to find out things is the feedback from others.

Thank you very much, and when I start publishing Ill get my certificate from this course.

par Virginia V

May 14, 2016

This course is fantastic, it show me lots of things that end up help me with my work!

par Juana L

Aug 25, 2015

Amazing. Very useful. Almost perfect.

par Krystol G

Aug 08, 2015

It was a really fun class with so many wonderful tips on how to improve your writing. I'm glad I decided to take it.

par Vikash A

Aug 28, 2015

This is a great course that shows a path to those who want to get into writing. I enjoyed learning and the best part was the interviews with different authors across different countries. I will look forward to another courses with commonwealth education trust. Thank you.

par Dianne M R

May 26, 2017

I have learned a lot on this course and motivated me to write more.

par Oshee J

Sep 26, 2015

Brilliant course to learn or refresh your writing skills. Great tips for editing and writing, too.

par Анна О

Dec 16, 2015

Wonderful!

par Stephanie M

Aug 14, 2015

Great class!!!!

par Crystal D

Dec 17, 2015

Really helpful course for beginner writers - and particularly those looking to write for our youngest readers.

par Colleen P

Feb 15, 2018

The class was very interesting and I learned a lot and helped to start writing again.

par Tricia C J

Mar 18, 2016

This is such an amazing course! It really opened my eyes to the fact that writing isn't just putting your ideas in words, it's much more than that, and it's really enlightening and helpful! Thank you so much for all the work that you've put into this course!

par Angelita G

Aug 23, 2017

I learned a lot from this course. Instructors are very well knowledgeable and experienced. I feel so welcomed and appreciated joining this course. Thank you so much to all who made this course available!

Bests,

Angelita Valencia

par Carmen

Mar 12, 2016

It feels like a privilege to hear published, recognised authors discuss their work and encourage beginners to w

par Lillian L

Jul 13, 2017

This course was a great help for learning how to write stories so that they are engaging to young readers. I found that the peer reviewed assignments were challenging, but fun as they brought out my creative side. The assignments also helped me to put the knowledge I learned throughout the course into use so that my stories flowed better and had a mixture of dialogue and action. Thank you, teachers, for this excellent course. Also, thanks to Coursera!

par Rebecca M

Mar 07, 2017

I loved the experience ,This platform is great is a great place to study

par Diana J R F

Sep 14, 2017

It was a pleasure for me to be a part of this. The content is excellent, it never gets boring, the way Mr. Hill and Ms. Gill guides and teaches is totally relaxing, interesting and productive. I just started getting interested in writing and finding this course was the best first step I could take. Thank you so much for the hard work in creating this wonderful course. Greetings from Mexico

par Michele W

May 22, 2017

Aprendí mucho y disfruté las clases. Los profesores realmente te animan a seguir adelante.