Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
849 notes
331 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 323 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Amy B

Aug 15, 2015

It gives helpful and easy to understand information about writing children's books. It also includes helpful documents to edit and proofread your writing, how to get published, writing query letters and advice from current authors about all of the above. You are able to write short pieces of work and have them reviewed.

par Monica W

Nov 15, 2015

This course was excellent and helped me alot!!!!!

par Stephanie Y G

Jan 07, 2016

I really enjoy the course and appreciate the feedbacks of all peers. For a full-time employee and mum of a toddler, the flexibility of the course helps a lot.

par Juliana B

Sep 28, 2015

Very enriching. I learned very useful things about writing. I enjoyed the interviews as well! The thing I liked the most, that it made me write weekly!

par Hiobi H

Nov 01, 2017

Excellent cours!

par Mary B B

Sep 15, 2015

Fun course for folks just learning about the process, and a good review for others who wrote at one point in their lives and desire to return but d

par Chelito S C

Jan 08, 2016

Extremely helpful for those who love writing for children!

par Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

This is a thorough and informative course which I greatly enjoyed, while learning many things that I did not know.

par Francisco M S E

Feb 29, 2016

Everything you need to start.

par Julie G

Jul 01, 2017

Great course for beginners to help you understand the basics of writing & stories. Really enjoyed the writer's profiles throughout. The course requirements are definitely manageable for someone with a full time schedule that wants to do this as a side. Helped me getting me start at writing where I felt I didn't know where to start.

par Virginia C H

Aug 22, 2015

This course is excellent, the content is rich, the videos are amusing and helpful, the interviews are just great. Thank you so much for such a high quality course!

par Naima M

Jun 28, 2018

Takes you step by step to a realm otherwise considered difficult.

par Rina J V

Nov 30, 2015

I highly recommend this course

par Tessa D V

Apr 06, 2018

I absolutely love this course. It's something light that doesn't require too much work, but still helps you work on your writing. It challenges you just enough to unlock new ideas but nut so much that you get stuck again.

par claudia p

Aug 18, 2015

Wonderfull course, unlocks all our creativity!!

par William K

Sep 03, 2015

This was a very engaging course. Well done Coursera!

par Heidy C

Aug 19, 2016

Great class to take if you're a beginner or more of an advanced writer to refresh your learning on the subject. Love how I also got to learn about the editing and publishing process as well. Definitely would not have minded if the class were a few weeks longer. Very glad I signed up and took this course. I am more motivated to continue my life as a writer.

par Albireo S

Jul 31, 2016

Thanks for this clear and useful course))!

par Yazhou L

Aug 15, 2015

Very nice course! It makes me finally start writing things instead of reading books about how to do the writing. And it is definately a great course with so many writers' interview and techniques. Reading other's assignments is also great.

par Raji P

Jan 06, 2016

I enjoyed the course. The videos are simply super. Inspired me so much :)

par Gina

Jul 04, 2016

This is one of my favourite courses, it is very interesting and I was able to grow as a writer.

par Reyna R

Jul 14, 2016

Very useful. Nicely put together. Lots of information. Explained very simply.

par Jessica R S

May 17, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, especially the last module where we learned about publishing options, there are so many options to choose from! I'll revisit the interviews with guests soon enough, I think those were particulary eye-opening for me.

par eve p

Mar 09, 2016

The bese

par Brajadulal P

Sep 02, 2016

This is one of the best courses on writing for young readers that I have come across. Of course, I have not taken many courses on writing. However, for a amateur writer like me, this course has provided enough fodder for thought and action. It has shown the path to be taken by a new writer, both in terms of developing the writing skills and providing information on editing and publishing. I would recommend this course to all those who aspire to be an author