Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
863 notes
334 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 326 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Michele W

May 22, 2017

Aprendí mucho y disfruté las clases. Los profesores realmente te animan a seguir adelante.

par Omkar C P

Jul 27, 2017

but the certificate are not received soon

par JANORYS J

Nov 15, 2017

Excelent course !!! I like it too much

par Gretel

Jan 02, 2018

me sirvió de mucho ahora solo me gustaría poder mantener contacto con los diversos escritores, en serio amé el curso

par Savannah N

Sep 16, 2016

I love this course, It is really helping me improve my writing skills, and grow my love of writing. :)

par Emma J G V

Nov 24, 2016

es una guía muy completa y de sencilla explicación para aquellos que amamos las letras y queremos sacarle a nuestra imaginación el máximo provecho.

par Vidhisha K

Dec 02, 2016

It was a good learning experience. This course certainly helped me to know as to know to bring out creativity in a structured way. The guest lectures were very informa

par Sue N

Oct 10, 2016

Very good course which I'd highly recommend to writer beginners and those, like myself, who need to brush up and learn a few more techniques. All the lessons were very useful and the assignments were challenging and interesting

par Anirudh N

Jun 15, 2018

Amazing. Learnt a lot

par Ellina N

Sep 09, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a thing or two about writing, editing and publishing.

par Dina H

Nov 02, 2018

Amazing and very informative :)

par Chigozie N

Nov 05, 2018

A very informative and practical course.

par Gitanjali V

Oct 12, 2018

Really appreciate the interviews with so many authors. Very inspiring and thanks for the trouble! Also that last assignment of writing to a publisher makes it all so (scary) real - and - so - possible....

par Marzieh A

Jul 12, 2019

An amazing course for all writers.

par Eliana H

Jul 18, 2019

I´m now even more motivated to be a writer. Thanks for open my mind and heart to writing again.

par Reshma M

Jul 22, 2019

Great course. Let's you grow your interest in it and in your own pace. Very helpful for a beginner

par Dan Z

Jul 25, 2019

Simple but very helpful! Great teachers and peer solidarity!

par Taylor M S

Jul 29, 2019

I've only done the first week of this course, but I've already learned so much. It is such a great course and the workload is very light. I highly recommend taking this course.

par Shah F

Aug 24, 2019

Its wonderful, Teaching staff is cooperative and knowledgable

par Connie N

Aug 23, 2019

I really received a lot of perspective with this course. It taught me to write with thought, how to reword a and rewrite when needed. How to keep to the subject, yet give the reader tantalizing story to keep them entertained. I'm very glad I took my daughters advice to take an online course to help me. The statement is true, "It's never to late to learn."

par rai_dahh

Oct 08, 2019

It was really helpful and interesting course. It helped me to start writing.

par Kristen H

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent information and overview from first draft to writing a query letter. I work in publishing but not in children's publishing, and I picked up a lot of new tricks from this course.

par Mohamed G

Aug 14, 2015

Very good course and Prof specialy guest Prof ,now really i have a tools to write story for children and teenager(my dream) ,i hope that i will succeed in my new experience.Thanks for all.

par Sudha M D

Sep 15, 2015

Many more Handouts to refer can improve the course much better

par Jane K

Dec 09, 2016

This is the first MOOC I did and it was a great experience. The instructors and guests were pleasant and informative. The assignments were fun to do and the peer reviews were all respectful, most were very constructive.

Would recommend!