Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
863 notes
334 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 326 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Vbergquist2013@gmail.com

Mar 07, 2017

While the information is certainly good, and I enjoyed listening to David Hill, it is too basic for me. I was looking for something that wasn't an introductory course, but I took it thinking the peer reviews would be worth it. I had a difficult time downloading peer writing to review, and I never got any feedback on my assignment. I also went to the forums for discussion, but there wasn't anyone adding new information. It seems like a ghost class without any real live students. Since it is not interactive in any way, I am just spinning my wheels. Not worth the effort.

par Shereena W

Dec 06, 2018

An absolutely fantastic course! Good for beginners, but also good for those with experience as well. The instructors are great and all the guest speakers are delightful and interesting.

par Reena D

Feb 20, 2018

This was my first online course attempt. I took it because I actually wanted to finally give myself a chance to take flight in the one thing I've always been afraid to do. I loved the instructors style of teaching. The taught me a lot of things mainly respect for my peers work, focusing on my tasks and learning to be kind to myself. They were with me every step of the way and offered great learning tips and guidance. I feel I have come a long way from the time I started this course and look forward to finally publishing my work with more confidence in myself. I highly recommend this course for those who have always had a passion for writing. Thank you.

par Charlotte T

Apr 21, 2018

This seems like a basic course but they give you a lot of useful information and it is very well done. The author interviews are informative and interesting too. I highly recommend the course.

par Benjamin J H

Aug 21, 2015

It is perfect for beginners, but if you're an experienced writer you might be looking for something a little more challenging.

par Aleks S

Oct 30, 2015

Information presented was too basic.

par Araminta

Oct 30, 2015

I wanted this course to focus specifically on strategies for engaging young readers, but it did not. Additionally, the method of assignment sharing is a file upload/download dropbox. I had fully intended to participate until I saw that. As a MOOC, I realize that there could be any number of individuals registering for this course using false information and uploading nefarious scripts that could hijack my computer should I download something from here. No thanks, Coursera. Epic fail.

par K M

Sep 05, 2015

These were very short lectures without a lot of content. For example the different kinds of publishing were described but no time was spent on how to evaluate publishers or how to decide what might work best for the author. The interviews with the published authors was by far the best part of this class and I enjoyed listening to them describe their writing lives.

par srini

Aug 25, 2015

oka, needs more fun

par Robert G

Dec 11, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

par Juan M J

Feb 23, 2019

Está buenísimo. Es una gran introducción al mundo de la literatura orientada al público juvenil.

par Melia T

Mar 01, 2019

A really great course! I have benefited a lot from it!

par Ghania M

Dec 28, 2018

Thank you very much for the great course. I've learnt a lot of stuff

par Ellina N

Sep 09, 2018

I enjoyed this course and learned a thing or two about writing, editing and publishing.

par Gitanjali V

Oct 12, 2018

Really appreciate the interviews with so many authors. Very inspiring and thanks for the trouble! Also that last assignment of writing to a publisher makes it all so (scary) real - and - so - possible....

par Dina H

Nov 02, 2018

Amazing and very informative :)

par Chigozie N

Nov 05, 2018

A very informative and practical course.

par Amber A

Aug 22, 2015

Such an enlightening and inspiring course!

par Sam A

Jan 10, 2016

I enjoyed this course to the fullest extent possible. I loved how they made a few short videos every lesson instead of one long one like other courses provide. It made it incredibly manageable and easy to invest time into. It was a great learning experience and I will be looking into furthering my opportunities to become a published author because I now have the confidence and a bit more knowledge on the industry. Thank you so very much.

par Alexis J M

Aug 18, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this course, it was really interesting and broken down into small, manageable chunks.

par Oliver G

Aug 24, 2015

Very cool easy going course. The videos are short and to the point and the authors in it speak clearly and are easy to understand and follow. The assignments are great fun to do and the community and forms are friendly. If you have an interest in writing in general and want to start writing I'd recommend it as it's good way to get started.

par Vidhisha K

Dec 02, 2016

It was a good learning experience. This course certainly helped me to know as to know to bring out creativity in a structured way. The guest lectures were very informa

par Sue N

Oct 10, 2016

Very good course which I'd highly recommend to writer beginners and those, like myself, who need to brush up and learn a few more techniques. All the lessons were very useful and the assignments were challenging and interesting

par Anirudh N

Jun 15, 2018

Amazing. Learnt a lot

par Suzana J

Nov 09, 2015

Loved every minute of it.