Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
871 notes
335 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 328 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Vbergquist2013@gmail.com

Mar 07, 2017

While the information is certainly good, and I enjoyed listening to David Hill, it is too basic for me. I was looking for something that wasn't an introductory course, but I took it thinking the peer reviews would be worth it. I had a difficult time downloading peer writing to review, and I never got any feedback on my assignment. I also went to the forums for discussion, but there wasn't anyone adding new information. It seems like a ghost class without any real live students. Since it is not interactive in any way, I am just spinning my wheels. Not worth the effort.

par Shereena W

Dec 06, 2018

An absolutely fantastic course! Good for beginners, but also good for those with experience as well. The instructors are great and all the guest speakers are delightful and interesting.

par Reena D

Feb 20, 2018

This was my first online course attempt. I took it because I actually wanted to finally give myself a chance to take flight in the one thing I've always been afraid to do. I loved the instructors style of teaching. The taught me a lot of things mainly respect for my peers work, focusing on my tasks and learning to be kind to myself. They were with me every step of the way and offered great learning tips and guidance. I feel I have come a long way from the time I started this course and look forward to finally publishing my work with more confidence in myself. I highly recommend this course for those who have always had a passion for writing. Thank you.

par Charlotte T

Apr 21, 2018

This seems like a basic course but they give you a lot of useful information and it is very well done. The author interviews are informative and interesting too. I highly recommend the course.

par Benjamin J H

Aug 21, 2015

It is perfect for beginners, but if you're an experienced writer you might be looking for something a little more challenging.

par Aleks S

Oct 30, 2015

Information presented was too basic.

par K M

Sep 05, 2015

These were very short lectures without a lot of content. For example the different kinds of publishing were described but no time was spent on how to evaluate publishers or how to decide what might work best for the author. The interviews with the published authors was by far the best part of this class and I enjoyed listening to them describe their writing lives.

par Araminta

Oct 30, 2015

I wanted this course to focus specifically on strategies for engaging young readers, but it did not. Additionally, the method of assignment sharing is a file upload/download dropbox. I had fully intended to participate until I saw that. As a MOOC, I realize that there could be any number of individuals registering for this course using false information and uploading nefarious scripts that could hijack my computer should I download something from here. No thanks, Coursera. Epic fail.

par srini

Aug 25, 2015

oka, needs more fun

par Juan M J

Feb 23, 2019

Está buenísimo. Es una gran introducción al mundo de la literatura orientada al público juvenil.

par Melia T

Mar 01, 2019

A really great course! I have benefited a lot from it!

par Robert G

Dec 11, 2018

I would recommend this course to anyone who is serious about being a writer regardless of where you are in your learning. This course is informative and encouraging and will provide you with methods that other authors have used to become and remain successful doing something that we all love to do....Write!!!

par Ghania M

Dec 28, 2018

Thank you very much for the great course. I've learnt a lot of stuff

par Nitya R

Aug 14, 2015

Very informative.

par Gergana A

Feb 02, 2016

This course helped me discover the writer inside of me.

par Mary B B

Sep 15, 2015

Fun course for folks just learning about the process, and a good review for others who wrote at one point in their lives and desire to return but d

par Chelito S C

Jan 08, 2016

Extremely helpful for those who love writing for children!

par Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

This is a thorough and informative course which I greatly enjoyed, while learning many things that I did not know.

par Francisco M S E

Feb 29, 2016

Everything you need to start.

par Julie G

Jul 01, 2017

Great course for beginners to help you understand the basics of writing & stories. Really enjoyed the writer's profiles throughout. The course requirements are definitely manageable for someone with a full time schedule that wants to do this as a side. Helped me getting me start at writing where I felt I didn't know where to start.

par Lidiia V

Nov 26, 2015

It's just beautiful!

par Hawra

Sep 07, 2017

Amazing course, gave me practical tips on how to get going and keep going:)

par Yevgeniya B

May 03, 2017

I love this course! It is very inspiring and full of great ideas!

par Liliana B

Aug 31, 2015

I just love it.

par Joanne L

Feb 06, 2017

Wonderful course!!! I got so much from the lectures, interviews, and exercise. I found the course very informative with valuable tips. I am new to the writing world and am excited to embark in the journey. This course helped pave the way in what to expect. Thank-you so much for the course!!!