Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
873 notes
336 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 328 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Luis C P D l R

Aug 23, 2015

Great course!

par Nastasja I S A

Apr 10, 2017

Simple but complete. Great introduction to the bussiness

par Alexandria S

Oct 09, 2015

The instructors are such good examples of kindness. I like the gentle and effective course. I plan to take it again!

par Bollamma C K

Aug 26, 2015

A well designed course. I am learning a lot and improving my writing skills.

par Sebastián G P

Nov 13, 2015

Awesome course, an incredible opportunity to polish writting skill and to meet some fellow writters.

par Saumya V

Jan 24, 2016

I love this course and the tips they provide are tremendously helpful while writing some extract or just some writing work. Thank you :)

It's actually fun to be part of this course. I will continue the course till end.

par Albireo S

Jul 31, 2016

Thanks for this clear and useful course))!

par Gina

Jul 04, 2016

This is one of my favourite courses, it is very interesting and I was able to grow as a writer.

par 罗詹妮

Jan 03, 2016

stimulated.

par Barbara G

Dec 31, 2015

This course has helped me to really tap into my creative side. Granted it is a course for learning to write for young readers, you can also learn how to write for an older audience as well. Thank you for offering this course.

par Shirlena R

Sep 11, 2015

I'm not even half way through it and I love it. Professor David Hill is enchanting.

par Nivedita N

Jan 06, 2016

It was a great course. I look forward to more courses.

par Hilda O

Sep 07, 2015

E

par Christina L M

Nov 04, 2015

An excellent and very motivational Module! Thank you!!!

par Moses H

Aug 22, 2015

Wow, really eye opening

par Amel K

Jun 14, 2016

Amazing course I love it. I learned a lot about how to write for young readers.

thank you

par Luis R L

Sep 08, 2015

I learned and enjoyed this course, I feel confident in my future writing and with the knowledge on how to continue. I am thankful for this opportunity

par Freda

Mar 14, 2016

I really appreciate being able to do this course for free. It is by far the best course I have done in Coursera yet. The content is great and very well planned. So much to get your inspiration from and qualified to teachers to guide you along the way. What more can one ask for?

par Siddhesh P

Sep 29, 2015

Awesome! I have no words to say. I really learnt a lot things being a aspiring writer.

par Kateryna K

Aug 27, 2015

I learned a lot of interesting things. Both Maria and David were great teachers: they spoke clearly, making examples and trying to speak as slowly as possible (which is good for a not native english speaker as myself). The interviews were another interesting addition to the course, as the peer reviews: they were not created or structured to lead to failure but to selfimprovement an improvement trough other's advices. It was great. I hope they'll make another course like this in the future, it would totally have my enrollment.

Thank you, to the both of you, for the things you taught me!

par Julia A

Aug 29, 2015

It's really great! More creative writing, please!!!

par SM S

Nov 06, 2015

Excellent demonstration with the easiest method.

par Monica W

Nov 15, 2015

This course was excellent and helped me alot!!!!!

par Stephanie Y G

Jan 07, 2016

I really enjoy the course and appreciate the feedbacks of all peers. For a full-time employee and mum of a toddler, the flexibility of the course helps a lot.

par Swathy

Aug 15, 2015

This is just what I looking for. It is very insightful and encouraging.