Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
étoiles
947 évaluations
375 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 368 Avis pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Danila G

Aug 29, 2015

I have really enjoyed this course. It is very informative and inspiring! Not to mention that David Hill and Maria Gill both do an excellent job!

par Keyome L S

Jan 28, 2018

Enjoying reading other writer's work and the established writers commentaries. This is my first week and already learned a lot about writing.

par Michelle W

Dec 17, 2019

This is a great introductory course that gives you an overview of important writing elements to consider writing short stories for children.

par Parth M

May 11, 2018

It was great overall. There were some minor difficulties in attending the course. The grading system could be better and costumer interface.

par Indu N T

Jun 01, 2020

Absolutely enjoyed the course, would like to do more interesting courses with you. Great team, great course work and good peers. Thank you.

par Sheryl C R

Dec 01, 2015

I completed this course 100. I feel I never get publish with all the courses I taken every where. So I keep my treasure chest for later.

par Purnima L

Jan 28, 2018

Very salient points presented throughtout. Clear and concise advice. Liked the instructors and very helpful author video interviews.

par Christine C

Jul 20, 2016

Writing for Young Readers course was very interesting and packed with great brainstorming topics to launch your writing assignments.

par Julie B

Feb 22, 2016

I have learned so much from this course. Anyone that wants to write for young readers would do well to take this course. Thank you.

par Milka R M

Feb 06, 2018

I am glad a took this course. This gives me the right tools, step by step to develop in the art of writing. Wonderful course! =)

par Frederick H

Jan 24, 2016

Very good course. Many valuable information and advice about writing in general not just aimed at young readers. Would recommand.

par Anthony K

Sep 08, 2015

A very well structured and engaging course which provides thoughtful suggestions for being a successful writer for young readers.

par Owen S

Aug 29, 2015

As a writer, this is a much needed course if you want to better yourself and learn the ropes on how to make a living as a writer.

par Teresa F

Dec 05, 2019

I really loved this course. The assignments had helped a lot with improving my writing skills when it comes to fiction writing.

par Sintija V

Jul 09, 2017

Really great course with highly valuable practice opportunities! I really enjoyed doing all the tasks! Thank you very much! :)

par Daniel A A V

Nov 28, 2016

Un curso muy provechoso y ameno. Aunque, me gustaría que incluyeran más entrevistas o material propio de autores más clásicos.

par María T F

Jul 13, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course!!! It was a wonderful experience! The teachers and the writers are incredible!!!

par Gabriel P

Nov 11, 2015

Excellent course if you are a writer and don't know where to start and how to go on! Not only for young readers, in general!

par Gretel

Jan 02, 2018

me sirvió de mucho ahora solo me gustaría poder mantener contacto con los diversos escritores, en serio amé el curso

par Alexandria S

Oct 09, 2015

The instructors are such good examples of kindness. I like the gentle and effective course. I plan to take it again!

par Krystol G

Aug 08, 2015

It was a really fun class with so many wonderful tips on how to improve your writing. I'm glad I decided to take it.

par Deinma D

Sep 20, 2017

It is indeed a well rounded course - touches every area necessary to kick start your a writing career for children.

par Carmen B

Sep 30, 2015

This is a thorough and informative course which I greatly enjoyed, while learning many things that I did not know.

par Charlotte H

Nov 25, 2015

Great introductory course! My writing improved tremendously and the interaction with other people was amazing.

par Mayank B

Jun 01, 2020

Loved this course. It helped me understand how to write for children and how it differs from writing for adults.