Chevron Left
Retour à De-Mystifying Mindfulness

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour De-Mystifying Mindfulness par Université de Leyde

4.8
étoiles
1,429 évaluations
557 avis

À propos du cours

Interest in meditation, mindfulness, and contemplation has grown exponentially in recent years. Rather than being seen as mystical practices from ancient Buddhism or esoteric philosophy, they are increasingly seen as technologies rooted in evidence from psychology and neuroscience. Mindfulness has become the basis for numerous therapeutic interventions, both as a treatment in healthcare and as a means of enhancing well-being and happiness. For millions around the world, mindfulness has become a life-style choice, enhancing and enriching everyday experience. Mindfulness is big business. But, what actually is mindfulness? Is it really good for you? Can anyone learn it? How can you recognize charlatans? Would you want to live in a mindful society, and would it smell like sandalwood? What does it feel like to be mindful? Are you mindful already, and how would you know? Evolving from the popular Honours Academy course at Leiden University, this innovative course combines conventional scholarly inquiry from multiple disciplines (ranging from psychology, through philosophy, to politics) with experiential learning (including specially designed ‘meditation labs,’ in which you’ll get chance to practice and analyze mindfulness on yourself). In the end, the course aims to provide a responsible, comprehensive, and inclusive education about (and in) mindfulness as a contemporary phenomenon. During the production of this course, we have been supported by Willem Kuyken, Director of the University of Oxford Mindfulness Centre, and Stephen Batchelor, co-founder of Bodhi College. And we gratefully acknowledge the contributions made by Mark Williams, co-developer of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT), and Rebecca Crane, Director of the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice at the University of Bangor. We have recently added expert advice from Dawn Scott (Spirit Rock & Barre Centre for Buddhist Studies), Sydney Spears (University of Kansa), Elisabeth Stanley (Georgetown University), Susan Woods (Centre for Mindfulness Studies), Patricia Rockman (University of Toronto) and Jeff Corntassel (University of Victoria). "A deep and profound dive into the ethical, social, psychological, and philosophical implications of modern-day mindfulness practice. The course is not for the faint of heart, perhaps, but it is also full of practical, guided exercises for the uninitiated! Thank you for redefining my relationship to Mindfulness in a completely new and thought-provoking way" 28 april 2021 "The course enabled me to explore the mindfulness construct at its deeper lever from philosophical, psychological and political lenses. The mindfulness labs were very useful in practicing the skills of being mindful." 23 nov 2018 "i took this course after a period of time when I was trying to practice mindfulness and meditation, but with doubtful success. The course answered many questions to me, and I needed that to keep me motivated. It really helped me understand the origins and, more importantly, benefits of mindfulness practice and made me persist in my attempts. I'm really glad I took the course, I find it interesting, well taught and very useful for all those seeking deeper explanation in why trying mindfulness." 9 Oct 2018 "I have taken other courses in other online platforms. However, this has been one of the best courses I have found online." 3 Oct 2018 "I really like the invitation to us, the learners, to rethink our preconceptions and beliefs, and then make our own judgement about mindfulness. The overall tone was very friendly and open, resources very useful." 12 Dec 2017...

Meilleurs avis

SM
20 juil. 2020

A course that will open your mind and heart. I thoroughly enjoyed it and learnt so much about Mindfulness and how I want to incorporate it into my daily life, relationships and personality. Thank you!

AV
2 févr. 2020

It is such a useful and practical course. The contents, discussions, assignments and quizzes are extremely insightful. I truly enjoyed the course and awaiting a second phase of the course in future.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 554 Avis pour De-Mystifying Mindfulness

par Sonya N

16 juil. 2021

Loved it! A fresh perspective from so many angles - a great compliment to my current knowledge about mindfulness and meditation. Enjoyable and useful course content. So much work put into creating this course - thank you!

par Alicia D

7 juil. 2017

An interesting course where you can learn about the history and philosophy of mindfulness and its relationship with the mindfulness that is being taught today. In addition to introducing you to many hours of practice.

par Sherry S

21 juin 2018

A great review of the history and philosophy of mindfulness. Professor Goto-Jones will give you things to think about that you never considered in relation to mindfulness. The exercises in the labs are very helpful.

par Andrea

22 juin 2017

Excellent class. First module is a little bit too long-winded. The following modules are much more rewarding. I liked how the course also included practical mindfulness excercises along side the theoretical work.

par Beatriz D

3 nov. 2016

I think this course was interesting. It made me see mindfulness from a different perspective, to understand its roots and the prejudices we have in our society about it and to practice it.

I highly recommend it!

par Jianwei W

14 févr. 2021

A great introduction to the subject of mindfulness. Not suitable for someone who wants to experience meditation first hand - which requires practice and guidance. Of course, that 's not what coursera can help.

par Marinka V

24 mars 2018

Course material supports learning. Very balanced in what they offer you. And most of all a great teacher. It will answer all your questions about mindfulness, including the ones you did not have.

Great course

par Amitabh S

27 août 2020

Please don't do this only from a spiritual or holistic point of view, but this course is a great tool for building focus, reducing stress and will be beneficial work wise also. Thank you for a wonderful course

par Chan S W

11 févr. 2017

The course is very insightful and organized. The workload for week 2 to 4 may be a bit heavy if you are working full-time... But going through all the materials 'mindfully' and not in a rush is well worth it.

par Yaakov L

3 déc. 2017

Well beyond anything I'd expected when signing up. A real eye opener, rich with content and experiences. Blends critical scholarly approach with experimental guided experiences to give a taste of mindfulness.

par Keila M

17 juin 2020

Excelente información, no tenía idea de lo que era Mindfulness cuando inicié el curso, ahora no sólo sé lo que es, también puedo discernir en lo que no es. Me gusta el método utilizado (origen y similares).

par Sylvia S

12 mai 2018

Insightful and extremely interesting. I have learned a lot about Mindfulness and am able to utilize what I have learned and put it into my daily practice. I am grateful to have taken this course. Namaste :)

par Bert B

29 oct. 2016

An excellent summary of Mindful practices, both the theory and the meditation. Recommended for everyone who wants to understand mindfulness or needs a moment of reflection in his or her own mindful practice

par Norma M

5 oct. 2020

Excellent, the course is clear, very professional the teacher drive you through this course with wisdom and the material is really interesting. A must for those who want to learn and practice Mindfulness¡

par Iza M R R

25 juil. 2019

It was an amazing experience! An excellent designed course that helps us to remove the myths aroud meditation; making it natural, accesible and refreshing, with great quality material and easy to follow.

par Gustavo R

8 janv. 2017

This is a wonderful course, no matter what do you know about this subject. I am a chartered psychologist, leading a weekly group to practice Mindfulness through facebook and found the course worth value.

par Tanya M

28 déc. 2020

Excellent course. I would recommend it to others, especially those I work with. My only bit of feedback is to try and include videos and interviews with Buddhist scholars from eastern countries as well.

par Kim

22 janv. 2021

I found the course to be very interesting, informative, and challenging. It was what I was looking for on the subject of mindfulness. It is well done and worth the time and effort. Thank you very much.

par Carlos M V R

4 avr. 2020

Great course

It helped me to manage my stress symptons, it helped me to be more aware of my daily life and helped me to be focused on the present moment, letting go the past and the worries about future

par Angel R

2 août 2017

The overall experience is great. The course is very well prepared and nicely presented. If follows a logical, comprehensive sequence from beginning to end. Instructor is excellent in every sense.

par Liza E

29 mai 2017

Excellent! Both the theory and the experiential learning activities, the material and the delivery. Very well-planned course, comprehensive and interesting. Also very helpful for our well-being.

par Dragana G

21 janv. 2021

Absolutely a powerful course!!! Dr. Chris Goto-Jones is an excellent and an inspiring instructor! Very meaningful content and very self-enhancing. Thank you for this wonderful course!

par Jennifer M

22 oct. 2020

This course was great! I may even be so bold as to say it's life changing. Chris Goto-Jones is an excellent person to navigate you through this course. Highly recommended. Enjoy!

par Diana S

5 mars 2020

This is a well designed course. The content and instructor are excellent. I have grown in gthis course and will continue learning mindfulness. I highly recommend this course.

par Jamie W

28 sept. 2017

This course has greatly enriched my life and helped me so much to find greater peace and gratitude in my life. The practices do require a lot of time, but are very worth it.