Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Calculus

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Calculus par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
2,570 évaluations
798 avis

À propos du cours

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Meilleurs avis

CN
13 nov. 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement\n\nmy will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

OM
26 sept. 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 809 Avis pour Introduction to Calculus

par Charles W

17 juin 2020

Professor Easdown's obvious enthusiasm is matched only by his attention to detail. I'm thoroughly impressed at how well he breaks down each and every concept into clear, concise explanations that successively build on each other. I honestly wasn't sure what to expect from calculus, but I now feel that I have a solid understanding of the subject matter.

par Michael d H 

8 déc. 2020

This course has been my “Covid” companion for the last 8 months. It has kept me sane. The instructor (David Easdown) is essentially what makes this course. His dedication and knowledge is what drives this to be the best experience, for me at any rate, and from what I read here, and others of a lifetime.

par Mattia C

28 avr. 2020

Very, very, well explained, for everyone (even for me, without a strong math background). A lot of exercises that helps to fix the knowledges and a detailed notes for every argument. A lot of help directly from the instructor in the discussion forum. One of the best courses I ever attended.

par Maahir J

20 avr. 2020

Exactly what I needed! Clear, concise explanations covering a wide array of topics. Moreover, the professor's visible mathematical passion and enthusiasm made the course all the more interesting. It is definitely the most structured and intuitive dive into Calculus!

par Ali T

5 août 2019

Simply - lean way to become higher than average in calculus. Love the course with its subject and material structure. Lecturer explains all the stuff lovely and with passion. Music introduction deserves separate appreciation. Thanks a lot!

par Hércules R

25 mai 2020

For the first time, I was able to practice and learn Calculus in a clear way. This course gave me the opportunity to understand the applications of derivatives and integrals in a way I never did before.

par Nicholas F A

14 juin 2020

A good recap of important mathematical concepts and and different perspectives, providing interesting elucidation, to what is already known. Thank you for this course, it was superbe.

par Jared E

21 oct. 2020

Very thorough, with an exceptional instructor. Hands down the best instructor I've ever seen on Coursera, showing both enthusiasm for the material and for education.

par Denis P

7 oct. 2020

I’ve been teaching science for 31 years in a highschool. This course was really a good way to refresh my mind. Moreover, the professor was outstanding.

par Mau G

26 juin 2020

Very good course. The teacher is amazing!

par Daryl J S

26 juin 2020

Great calculus refresher course!

par jackson s q

11 janv. 2020

Whilest I greatly apreciated the consise nature of this course, sometimes I found that ample explination on particularly difficult topics was sorely lacking. Often techniques such as partial fraction decomposition would be assumed which is a problem for people entering into this course relatively blind to mathematics.

If this course is re-vamped then I think more depth would be a great addition especially in areas that are particular complex and require detailed understanding.

par Vaibhav K

20 sept. 2020

Though I will acknowledge in advance that I was already familiar with pre calculus but had lost the touch due to a few years gap. Course was excellent and I guess most of the concepts are reinforced once again. The notes at the chapter end will help greatly in revision.

par Erqing X

8 oct. 2019

Very participant-friendly course with excellent teaching and gradual difficulty adding, but some parts seem to be too basic, especially for Chinese students in the pre-calculus part, which undermines the efficiency of teaching.

par John F

2 juin 2020

excellent review of major concepts. some of it required multiple viewings, but otherwise, it was fine.

par Ana T

9 août 2019

It is a great curse to learn the basic topics about Calculus, but it really is an introduction. The exercises aren't dificult, so I can't deep into this topics. Even though, the way it pretend to introduce the topics was great; I like it so much.

par Veethika G

15 août 2020

its a very good learning process for anyone who is starting or already knows calculus you will get your fundamentals revised as well as learned.

par Nourhan A J

25 janv. 2021

Honestly, this course is an extremely inconsiderate program for those who have no prior knowledge in 2 unit/advanced maths. As someone who only completed general maths, I was burdened by the difficulties of the content being taught; especially when the lecturer himself didn't explain the content in a way that would allow me to understand. In effect, keeping up with the work, ensuring that I studied for the 20-minute assessments, making my own notes to study from, and just in general, trying to get through the work all became too overbearing. I ended up seeking help from outside sources such as youtube just so I could grasp a particular topic. And the issue wasn't with one particular topic it was with all of them. And I found that the lecturer did a lot of waffling. Now I'm not saying he was bad overall, but I just wish that the content could have been taught at a slower and understandable pace.

par Fred V

18 oct. 2020

Useful for teenage learning, catch-up learning, as well as refresh-learning. However, in the discussion forum, instructors verge on arrogance and indulge in fallacies. It is surprising to see, nowadays, instructors who blind students with their oversized egos.

par Chris

2 oct. 2020

Coursera woudn't let me unenroll from the course.

par Karin S

28 juil. 2020

This course is extraordinarily tough. I thought the illustrations were very helpful with connecting concepts and there were times I got excited seeing where things were going mathematically. The professor is very helpful and is very excited about the subject, which I greatly appreciate.

My only thing is that this course is horribly misnamed, but maybe the US and AUS have different standards for what is considered to be an introduction to calculus. You pretty much have 2 weeks pre-calc and then cover all of calc I over 3 weeks, plus some extra things to where I found it a bit overwhelming at times. If you're looking to level up your skills, he gives you some very helpful tools with which to do so.

par Soohyun Y

5 juin 2021

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn calculus or brush up on their calculus. This course is so well designed and taught. The notes were incredibly helpful, and I feel that Professor David Easdown did a great job of explaining concepts and challenging his students. Furthermore, serious kudos to the video editor (and if it also happen to be the professor, double kudos). The visualizations were incredibly helpful in understanding the concepts faster. This course really boosted my confidence in learning while enjoying the process. If Professor David Easdown and his video editor were to do another collaboration, I think I would take the course regardless of the subject.

par Suren S R

23 sept. 2021

I had learnt elementary Calculus in college. Later in my MBA, I had to apply calculus and I realised that the way we had been taught calculus in college was very mechanical. Learn formulas, techniques and diifferentiate or integrate. This course was indeed an eye opener. May be a little late in the day, since I am 62, but I could understand how immensely helpful Calculus can be in solving real-life problems. Amazing that Isaac Newton and Leibniz thought through and developed this really brilliant branch of mathematics so many years back.

My complements to our teacher of this course. He is absolutely superb. Thank you Univ of Sydney for offering such a great course in Coursera.

par Marwin d C

28 mai 2021

This is one of the best courses I have ever taken on Coursera. Professor Easdown explains the subject clearly and with great passion. The accompanying notes are excellent. Every bit of the material is explained in details and you will be able to solve the assignments and quizzes with the knowledge provided by the videos and notes. Note, however, that this is a short but dense course. You will probably have to invest a great amount of hours per week if you want to finish it within 5 weeks. But be assured that this is a GREAT investment of your time. I now feel ready to go deeper in calculus taking some more advanced courses. Thank you so much Professor Easdown

par Abhay V R

4 juin 2021

Going into the course, I hadn't done calculus in over 13 years, and I was quite nervous about whether I'd be able to get my head around these topics again.

Thank you so much Prof. Easdown for creating a fantastic course - while I can't claim to have mastered everything on offer, I do believe I am now more than proficient at basic operations, and better yet - my fear of calculus has been replaced (at least partially) with curiousity. I'm really excited about using this knowledge to do well in grad school, where I will be pursuing a master's degree in environmental management.

Thank you so much once again Prof. Easdown.