Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Calculus

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Calculus par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
425 évaluations
105 avis

À propos du cours

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Meilleurs avis

AM

Jul 25, 2019

This professor explained all topics covered in a year long calculus class in the span of five weeks. I highly recommend taking this course either to learn calculus or for a review.

MA

Mar 29, 2019

its a very interesting course and i really want to learn this so thanks coursera community and specially the speaker for providing such a wonderful and handy knowledge and notes.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 104 Avis pour Introduction to Calculus

par Rodney M

Mar 09, 2019

I've tried a couple of calculus courses on Coursera. The others i've tried, assumed too much pre-calculus knowledge and did not provide adequate quiz's and problems. Also, they did not ease into new topics as much as i liked.

This course has not only been the best i've seen on Coursera, its the best mathematics course i've done fullstop. Everything is explained right down, right down to the simplest explanations. Many things are referred again to previous videos in the course if something is covered by another video.

I'd really like to shake the professors hand on this course. Magnificent work.

par Marcus S

Jan 13, 2019

Excellent introduction to calculus. Clearly explained, great to have some history in there (I'd like more!).

It sets a cracking pace, so do set some time aside to really get the most out of this course. Highly recommended. Gives a great basis to delve into higher mathematics beyond high school.

par Arman M

Jul 25, 2019

This professor explained all topics covered in a year long calculus class in the span of five weeks. I highly recommend taking this course either to learn calculus or for a review.

par Md. H H S B

Apr 26, 2019

its awesome course...

Mentor is skilled and explains everything clearly.

But if anybody has little bit pre-calculus knowledge it will be more helpful.

par Moneer R A

Jun 16, 2019

An Absolutely incredible course. Well structured, and David Easdown is the best math instructor I've ever had. Thank you University of Sydney, and Coursera. And Please make a more advance calculus course as a continuation from this one.

par Joseph V M

Jul 04, 2019

While the material is at an introductory level, it is comprehensive. The exercises are well-structured and the lectures clear.

par David P

Dec 07, 2019

Easily the best Math course I have ever taken. Offers the flexibility to stop and rewind the narrative, but unlike just reading a text, the instructor conveys his own infectious interest and excitement. The instructor anticipates aspects that may be more challenging, and offers background material to help the learners understand. I was supposed to learn all this thirty years ago, and it never made sense until now. Cannot recommend highly enough.

par Chuck M

Aug 09, 2019

I want to thank Prof. Easdown (and SU) for an excellent course. The material was organized and timed at exactly the pace that was perfect for me. In addition, Prof. Easdown was consistently accessible and prompt responding to my questions and feedback. I don't see a next course, but I hope there will be one and look forward to progressing with the next course in the series.

Thank You Prof. Easdown!

par Jason B

Jan 25, 2019

Professor Easdown is an amazing teacher and made something that is often perceived as difficult to be fun. The course covers a great deal of information in a short time, but Prof. Easdown is thorough and breaks topics down into understandable sections. The addition of colorful examples and historical facts adds a relaxed tone to the course, which is exceptionally helpful.

par Max W

Jun 08, 2019

An excellent course that not only teaches the fundamental of calculus, but also goes beyond a typical math course and explains why and how the equations arise, instead of merely asking you to memorize them. The instructor is phenomenal and helps to show the elegance of calculus and how all these applications naturally flow from a few basic principles.

par James M

Feb 06, 2019

This is a great course and anyone interested in getting into a more detailed study of Calculus should start here. The only suggestion I have is to make the answers to the weekly exams available because it helps to know which ones were incorrect.

par muhammad a

Mar 29, 2019

its a very interesting course and i really want to learn this so thanks coursera community and specially the speaker for providing such a wonderful and handy knowledge and notes.

par Rojs A

Aug 31, 2019

Builds the idea of calculus from the ground up. Explaining everything steps by step and giving great examples. Overall great course.

par Daniel H

Feb 28, 2019

I Loved how you could have the option to look over the notes instead of the videos to complete the course at a faster rate.

par Sarthak G

Jan 11, 2019

The teacher is great and if you are beginner this course is really for you

par Amr F A

Jul 27, 2019

Great course .

thanks for the efforts .

par Rafael P R

Feb 19, 2019

Excellent and interesting course

par Kirill I N

Feb 02, 2020

During this course, I figured out that my pre-grad included neither derivatives, nor integrals (schools in province are bad). It was not a problem during my bachelor's studies in Linguistics, but became a huge issue now, once I've begun my Master's in Data Science. Finally I feel my studies getting easier, and my skin becoming cleaner and smoother every day (not really).

Seriously though, this is one of the courses (especially comparing to those from Russian universities) that feel like they were actually being meant to be studied by human beings. Furthermore, it does not require a full payment (or financial aid, at that) to take tests, which are also by far more numerous and frequent than I am used to (a huge plus).

To sum up, one of the best courses I've had a fortune of taking (so far). It felt really beneficial, considering I have to virtually build up my base from nothing in a very limited amount of time: exams are coming, and I still have a whole "statistics" field to cover. Moreover, it gave me a solid foundation which now allows me to (for now) selectively add urgent things like Taylor series and get into multivariate calculus. Still, when the times are better and less chaotic, I am most definitely looking forward to the other courses from the University of Syndey.

P.S. Additional kudos to Mr.Easdown, you've made the course that much better. Thank you!

par Sesinam d Y

Aug 17, 2019

Took this course as a refresher since it has been a few years since I bothered with calculus and pretty much forgot most things. This course really doesn’t assume too much pre-calculus knowledge and instead contains a pre-calculus refresher that lays the groundwork for the calculus in later modules.

Although a few times I needed to pause the video lectures to give myself enough time to understand the logic in later modules, overall the video lectures were presented in a straight-forward and engaging manner. David Easdown communicated concepts concisely and his way of speaking and enthusiasm for math helped keep me engaged with the video lectures. The readings are also well put together and allow you to go over video material (plus more for certain lessons) at your own pace. Practice problems were mostly easily although a few could be a bit more challenging (but not too much). As much as I would have liked a few more challenging problems, it is an introductory course, so the current question difficulty makes sense to me.

Overall, If anyone is looking for a well-put together introduction to calculus course (even as a refresher), I would highly recommend this course.

par Diego R G

Jun 04, 2019

Excellent course! I learned so much in such a short amount of time. It's an excellent introduction to calculus and a good way to increase your mathematical skills. The lectures are great and the readings allow you to get all the information at your own pace and are a good way to get familiar with proper mathematical language and notation without being hard to read (if you have paid attention!). The quizzes and exercises are challenging enough to make you think and feel rewarded for being able to solve them, but not enough to make you want to quit them (in fact, I had a lot of fun doing them!). My advice to other people that want to take the course is not to rush it and to do all readings and exercises (try to get a perfect score in all the exercises and to understand all the questions before attempting each week's quiz). I am grateful to the University of Sidney and to professor David Easdown for making a calculus course of such high quality accessible to everyone. I feel more confident in my math skills and ready to keep learning more advanced stuff

par Jean H

Jan 02, 2020

Well structured course, fast paced and very challenging. First three weeks were a much needed precalculus review that gave a strong foundation. Last two weeks on derivatives and integrals were gruelling but comprehensive. For the complete beginner this course makes the subject possible as long as you take each bit, one tiny piece at a time and understand it before moving on. Nearly gave up but glad I didn't. Just wish there was a next step. So many of the other maths moocs expect you to be a genius with too many leaps in explanations without explaining how you get there. This one is an exception in that it makes no dangerous assumptions about your knowledge. Calculus is a road block that keeps many out of science. This course goes a long way to removing that block. Please do more courses to build on this.

par Brian A

Feb 03, 2020

This course was a ton of work and took me a lot longer than 5 weeks to complete, but I absolutely loved it! The material is presented by a fantastic, well-spoken professor with a contagious enthusiasm for the subject. The well-built user interface includes video instruction with accompanying notes and practice quizzes. The user forum is also super helpful where the professor offered help to students' questions along the way. I found the default deadlines helpful to maintain momentum, but appreciated being able to reset them in order to accomodate demands on my personal time. Altogether, this course is world class and well worth the effort. Thank you, Coursera and Professor Easdown!

par Matthew W

Oct 14, 2019

Awesome Class. I have much respect for the instructor. I wish he was my Professor when I was a undergraduate taking Calculus. I'm going to go back and practice, practice, and practice! This class was a awesome review! I haven't had to use any of these concepts in my job for a LONG time. I will be using calculus now in my job. Most people don't use it. I will be! This class is probably the best class I had, so far, in Coursera Platform. I desire to take another class from this Professor.

This class was well presented and well explained. I didn't have to look at a text book for this class.

The readings were highly informative.

Thank you, Sir you helped me enjoy Calculus, Finally!

par Michael C

Aug 08, 2019

This course was exceptional as a refresher for someone (me) who hasn't engaged in calculus in over 13 years. Professor Easdown communicated concepts in a straight-forward, easy to understand manner. It shocked me how he introduced so much material, so quickly, so concisely, and so thoroughly. The readings followed and expanded on the videos exceptionally well and will serve me well as reference sheets for the future.

This summer, I attempted 3 other processes to learn Calculus, each leaving me more lost and frustrated than the prior method. I only wish I had found this course earlier! If any seek a good introduction/refresher to Calculus, I recommend this before anything else!