Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,592 évaluations
315 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 311 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 16, 2017

The course failed to make me enthusiastic about image making the way I was enthusiastic about typography in the preceding course.

par Dries N

Jun 29, 2017

Not enough video's and explanation and what's there is to simplistic.

Not so good questions to review other people's work.

par Dmitrii P

Feb 23, 2017

Pretty weak teaching - "maybe you can place objects in this order, or maybe in this order". No any clear logics.

par Raquel Z W

Nov 13, 2017

The content of this module is good, however I think It's very complicated to depend on student's reviews only.

par Lisiane P P

Aug 07, 2019

I didn't like the rythm, the way that the tasks were passed. Many times it was a bit confusing.

par Hector E

Jul 14, 2016

Fun course but everything was already covered on the Fundamentals Of Graphic Design Course.

par Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

This course is good, although it repeats a lot from the Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

par Jackie F

Dec 11, 2017

General and basic overview of image-making techniques and strategies.

par 朱思超

Aug 14, 2017

kinda too basic for me....but it would be a good course for beginners

par sayed k n

Dec 18, 2018

good course but need a lil more resource. thank you

par Georgia K

May 05, 2016

Very poor instructions and not enough theory.

par Vivian F

Jan 12, 2018

课程的内容不太具体,在这个专项课程里算是有点薄弱的一节

par Ignacio R G

Mar 22, 2018

It is a very basic course.

par Holly H

Jun 01, 2018

Out of all the different ones in this specialisation, I felt like this one was the course that could have the most work done to it. I didn't feel like I learnt anything in this section, as yes you could be imaginative, however there was no real structural lessons apart from showing how to make your booklet at the end. Lessons about random placement and other overlapping didn't really give me any more depth of understanding compared to what I learnt in the last few courses in the Graphic Design specialisation.

par Christine

Jun 13, 2016

Not up to the standard of the previous two courses. The material was already covered in the first course - Fundamentals of Graphic Design - and nothing new was brought to the table. Even the assignments were a re-hash of the ones from the first course. I realize the point of the lack of specific guidance was intended to encourage us to explore the "making" of multiple iterations of the images. I just would have liked to have more instruction or examples of the elements of composition hierarchy.

par Veena V

May 09, 2016

I found the course videos quite dull and uninteresting. The topics covered could have been taught a lot better. I finished this course only because I wanted to get through the specialization course. I found that the course 'Fundamentals of Graphic Design' did an exponentially better job of explaining image making techniques and composition. The assignments in this course are reasonably good but the instruction videos can definitely benefit from some additional in-depth material.

par Lin Z

Sep 11, 2017

The course is generally interesting as a purely visual exercise, but It's not very clear what are the learning points are. Even the final assignment is not very clear in its objective, and no samples are shown. (The final video shows the process of handcrafting a book, but doesn't even show us the final book!) Would recommend this only for people who have created artwork before, or at least have a keen desire to do so.

par Molly B

Jul 08, 2018

I was excited about this class but I felt like it was a little lacking. There were not many videos so I felt like I was not able to learn a ton. I also felt the assignments just felt a little like busy work, basically just copying and pasting the same images. I would have like to have learned a little more detail about actually creating images through video and had a few different, more useful assignments.

par Yuliya S

Oct 14, 2019

It's a very abstract course. Peer review is absolutely useless here. I made some images but I didn't learn something new or interesting. Teacher's information is very unclear and sketchy. Very strong contrast with the previous two courses from the specification in a bad way for this course.

par Patrick C

Jun 26, 2018

The worst course of the Graphic Design Specialisation so far.Unclear instructions for each assignment and too much asked for so that the focus becomes on getting them done rather than producing pieces of quality.

par Leticia C R

May 11, 2016

I understand it was a more practical course but still more information would have been great. Same assignments but more information would have been great. Other courses had more videos.

par Sayem

Dec 07, 2017

Almost nothing is taught! :/ Assignments are boring and uninspired. Everything is really abstract and more guidance is needed.

par Arshla J

Sep 24, 2016

Quite a repetition of Fundamentals of Graphics Design, the first course in the specilization.

par Jeannie N

Aug 31, 2016

As an educator myself, I found this class to be rather pathetic in its structure and the assignments. These are topics and activities that I was doing as a student in middle school and junior high (both public schools mind you, not arts centered charters). Charging people for a certificate in this "class" is tantamount to what diploma mills do as the course requirements are not up to even senior high school level coursework. Truly, Coursera, what happened to your open education offering real education?

par Matthew

Jun 20, 2016

I was quite disappointed with this class. The videos and instructions are very short and the information is lacking. When reviewing other classmates material it was quite clear that people were confused with the assignments because I saw such a huge range of submissions that were very different from each other.

I found the material to be very similar to the first course in this specialization; both asked very similar things but this class didn't add much to the process.