Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,927 évaluations
395 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 392 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Camila A

Jun 20, 2020

There is a big contrast between this course and the others from the Graphic Design specialization. Although the course successfully makes the student create a lot, a lot of images, the content was very shallow sometimes, and the instructor is not very eloquent. So many um's and uhh's and kind of's in her speech, and so much usage of vague words like "stuff" and "things". This is very clear in the section where we analyze visual books.

par Ben R

May 31, 2020

With the exception of week 4, there is very few added information about imagemaking in this course compared to Fundamentals of Graphic Design. Many of the material is written rather than videos, the videos mainly feature recurring images and snippets. The assignments are a bit vague and it's unclear how to assess your own success. Week 4 final assignment and recorded examples were the one significant piece in this course.

par Mingtao W

May 16, 2019

I can feel that if taking in real world, this class will be a lot of fun. However, I don't think the design of this course really transits to online platforms. Without face-to-face teaching, it's hard to really do image-making works--there's no motivation, nor "quality control" from the teacher. Plus, this course is full of readings and DIYs, but I hope to see more lectures.

par Kristen F

Jul 08, 2017

The class was okay, I didn't feel like I learned anything particularly exceptional, but maybe that is because I have taken several art classes already so many parts of this felt repetitive. I also personally didn't like the instructor's voice/manner of speaking, but that's just a personal opinion and not reflecting on her teaching as a whole.

par Stewart G

Jul 21, 2020

This is an interesting class and I'm glad I took it, but it was difficult to understand the goals of the assignments. I think the instructor might assume students know more about this style of art than many of them did. I always think in X, Y and Z axes when I draw. This class ignored that entire concept and went straight to abstract layout,

par Nitish G

Jun 11, 2020

I found it very theory/reading-based and less interactive compared to other courses in the specialization. It would have been great if you could share your book before the last assignment to get an idea as it was quite evident from peer reviews that people didn't get it or weren't able to get started with it in the first place.

par Megan C

May 25, 2016

While I did enjoy this course, I found it to be less useful than the first two in the series. I also noticed a lot of repetition from the course before. I think my expectation was to learn more about imagemaking in a digital sense, but I'm still happy overall that I took this course and I can't wait to earn my specialization.

par Alice H

May 09, 2017

The progression of this course was not as comprehensive as the others in the Graphic Design Specialization series. We went from finding images online one week to creating handmade artwork the next. It would be more helpful for the instructor to build more of the work for the final assignment into the previous weeks.

par P Z C

Jun 02, 2017

This course has lots of similarities as in Foundamental graphics design and I expected more after I started to pay for the course. Feel that many students are confused about the assignment and I don't feel students are taken good care of in time. But I appreciate that classmates are trying to help eath other.

par Zdravka K

Jun 20, 2020

I had a bit more expectations about the course, I really liked the Fundatmentals of design and the lector, for me it was a bit more fluid and understandable. I suggest some theory to be included in this one.

Still I learned a lot about composition and narrative. Thank you!

par Turo U

Nov 12, 2019

Great course, but it takes a little bit more time that estimated. Teacher is a very good and inspiring. However the peer feedback is really poor. It would be nice if the teacher could also give some feedback (for example just in one exercise).

par Seth B

Dec 04, 2016

Would have liked to have more assignments and content on imagemaking rather than a focus on making a book. I feel like I got just as much imagemaking experience from the intro to graphic design course offered by Cal Arts.

par Moira B M G

May 12, 2020

This course was fun.

I think a few things that made this course challenging for me was the instructions for the assignments. I also think that my "classmates" misunderstand the grading rubrics.

Thank you, I learned a lot!

par Ella H

May 01, 2020

3.5 - Did not enjoy this course as much as the others in this group, found a lot of the exercises quite repetitive and due to lockdown I did not have access to enough materials to experiment successfully.

par Aimee L

Jun 06, 2020

This course didn't really seem to go into any more detail than the overview in the fundamentals to graphic design course. There was very little guidance and instructions were a little confusing at times

par Malu V

May 26, 2020

This course wasn't as well structured as the previous ones in the specialization. The assignments had problematic instructions

par Dmitrii P

Feb 23, 2017

Pretty weak teaching - "maybe you can place objects in this order, or maybe in this order". No any clear logics.

par Raquel Z W

Nov 13, 2017

The content of this module is good, however I think It's very complicated to depend on student's reviews only.

par SWASTIK C

Aug 09, 2020

please try putting in more videos with methods rather than case studies and reading texts.

par Hector E

Jul 14, 2016

Fun course but everything was already covered on the Fundamentals Of Graphic Design Course.

par Daria H

Jun 20, 2016

This course is good, although it repeats a lot from the Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

par Jackie F

Dec 11, 2017

General and basic overview of image-making techniques and strategies.

par 朱思超

Aug 14, 2017

kinda too basic for me....but it would be a good course for beginners

par sayed k n

Dec 18, 2018

good course but need a lil more resource. thank you

par Georgia K

May 05, 2016

Very poor instructions and not enough theory.