Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,613 évaluations
318 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 314 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

par Fergus N

Jun 14, 2016

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!

par J-Man

Mar 25, 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

par Sarah N

Nov 03, 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

par Lana

Mar 24, 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

par Nannie A

May 15, 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

par Jelome C

Jan 14, 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

par Kelly L

Apr 07, 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

par Beverley H

Oct 25, 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

par Justyna B

Jul 12, 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

par Susan M

Mar 24, 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

par Eumorphia K

Jul 20, 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

par Winnie W

Jul 14, 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

par Mohamed K E S

Jun 26, 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

par MUSTAFA A

Apr 08, 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

par Kolya K

Feb 16, 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

par Lisa H

May 21, 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

par Benjamin g

Mar 09, 2019

Good start for anyone trying to learn image making techniques and zines.

par Utku K

Jul 28, 2016

Good course, maybe more detailed information would be better.

par Nicole S

Jun 04, 2018

Very good course for the amount of time they spend with you.

par Kaiva J

Jun 05, 2016

Loved it. More non graded assignments would have been great.

par Marie A

May 16, 2016

I started 2 Hours ago.... it's amazing, such good teachers !

par Daniel M

Dec 17, 2018

Nice lectures and assignments. Also provided good resources

par Julia R

Jun 15, 2018

Great course if you want to practice image making!

par Hung C F F

Jan 08, 2020

Pretty informative on the subject, inspiring also