Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
1,489 notes
297 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 293 Examens pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Sarah N

Nov 03, 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

par Eumorphia K

Jul 20, 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

par Marie A

May 16, 2016

I started 2 Hours ago.... it's amazing, such good teachers !

par Utku K

Jul 28, 2016

Good course, maybe more detailed information would be better.

par Keith W

Jun 08, 2016

Very good course with fun and challenging assignments. My only criticism of this series of courses (the graphic design specialization) is the grading process and lack of instructor interaction. While the peer grading is setup so that it's not too difficult to receive a decent grade if you do the work, there is virtually no instructor feedback on assignments, which is a bit dissapointing. I realize this may be due to the huge number of students, but usually when I pay for a class, interaction and feedback from the instructor is part of the package. Perhaps if you did that, though, then the tuition cost would be much higher.

par Kara K

May 11, 2016

If you enjoyed the first course in this specialization, you'll enjoy this course, as it's much of the same. The class is more of an independent studio session rather than an instructional course. If you're looking to work with a single visual subject for a few weeks (but lack the discipline or knowledge to do so on your own), this course will benefit you. If you're looking to save money, perhaps stick to just the first class in the specialization (or take this one if you're only interested in image-making).

par Karen

Sep 30, 2016

如果有真实的workshop,相信效果会更好,这样的教育形式将在中国有很大的发展。

par Stephanie N

May 03, 2016

Much of the course seemed to cover what was previously discussed. About the only thing this course did for me was to introduce me to In Design. The teacher was OK, but she seemed to lack enthusiasm, particularly when she was demonstrating the book-binding.

par Lisa H

May 21, 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

par Kaiva J

Jun 05, 2016

Loved it. More non graded assignments would have been great.

par Lana

Mar 24, 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

par Jordan W

Mar 25, 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

par Maya R

May 24, 2019

Really liked the course, because it is very oriented to practical work. It would be great if there was more substantial exchange with other learners though.

par Monica E G

May 27, 2019

The contents of the classes itself is really really good, the videos, the assigment. But my 4 starts is because the method of coursera is annoying, having to go to forum many times to ask people to review so you can go on in the course, so the forum doensn't work to share knowledge is just for people to ask for review. Also there is no moderation about the reviews, I had a lot on reviews just saying "good"or well done". I expected at least the final course would be checked. One thing that made me waste time is that for 3 times I had to go to chat with us to ask to unlock my course, I didnt do that I would have to wait more than a week for star the new week and I had the impression is an impressiona that coursera make this to make us spend more time on the plataform.

par guy k

Jun 18, 2019

There is a lot of great information. The instructions in some of the assignments are not the clearest. I didn't have a flowing learning experience. There is too much information and sources. It got me a bit out of it instead of focused. I can see it working not online because there is truly great information presented. I think some adjustment should be done for a better user experience.

par Justyna B

Jul 12, 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

par Penny L

Oct 26, 2019

Good assignments. Really learned something from this course. However, I found the requirement of some assignments might be a bit misleading and I often see other students work not following requirements.

par Laurensia L S

Sep 24, 2019

The assignments are really fun and put the videos into practice very efficiently! The only thing that troubles me is sometimes the "design language" is too unfamiliar for beginners.

par Naomi M H

Oct 13, 2019

Great methods for development.

par sayed k n

Dec 18, 2018

good course but need a lil more resource. thank you

par Sister E B

Jun 01, 2016

This course gave a great opportunity to explore one's creativity, with assignments that didn't require us to have skills in particular types of graphic expression. However, I also found that it didn't give me the richness of principles and techniques that I've found in other courses in this sequence. I expect that, for an in-person course, this instructor gives individualized feedback that provides that content. In a peer review situation, the feedback is quite general and so doesn't take up the slack from the lectures. I suggest that Coursera work with the instructor to retain the current content, but produce much richer lectures that have concepts and principles which students can put into practice even after the course ends.

par Hongjoo Y

Oct 12, 2016

I like the content and enjoyed the process but as this is online course, it should be better designed. The criteria for reviews and assignment direction is probably not too explicit that cause a lot of confusion, and people are submitting very different assignments from one another. It is not easy to grade and hard to understand what is expected. Also it is recommended that you know Adobe Illustrator or InDesign. I actually had to take additional course alongside of this course because although it was not mandatory, it was better to know how to use these software.

par Rohit N

Aug 31, 2016

The course content was good but the assignments weren't structured that well. While reviewing I realised some people made very simplistic stuff like me after following instructions, while others with more design experience created really amazing stuff. They should have included some advanced example for demo.

par Ignacio R G

Mar 22, 2018

It is a very basic course.

par Hector E

Jul 14, 2016

Fun course but everything was already covered on the Fundamentals Of Graphic Design Course.