Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
1,487 notes
297 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 293 Examens pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Aleksandar J

May 19, 2019

I've learned a lot throughout this course. I recommend it!

par Sandeep M

Jun 11, 2019

So thankful to learn from such renowned and talented teachers. Thanks for the course, thank you Coursera!.

par chelsea r

Jul 16, 2019

Probably the most I learnt about Image-making so far.

par Alexander S

Jul 15, 2019

nice course

par Doaa M M

Aug 02, 2019

جيد جدا

par Celeste S

Aug 08, 2019

A really cool course. I loved the way how every topic was develope and the way this made me watch the things in a different perspective.

par Kritika D

Apr 24, 2019

Love this course especially the detailed section where we look at reference books. Gives so much clarity to the students..

par Dorcas J P P

Sep 01, 2019

ME GUSTA BASTANTE ESTE CURSO, YA QUE PODEMOS APRENDER MAS, REALIZAR VARIAS TAREAS O CUESTIONARIOS PARA EJERCITAR NUESTRA MENTE Y SABER QUE FUE LO QUE APRENDIMOS...

YO APRENDÍ MUCHÍSIMO GRACIAS A ESTE CURSO.

par Salem F A

Sep 22, 2019

very good course for beginners to learn how to make-images and learn about image components and composition.

par rocio g m

Sep 02, 2019

Excelente curso

par namrata

Sep 07, 2019

It's a good course .

par Mohammed A

Sep 09, 2019

Really good course I enjoyed the process. was very helpful to improve my creativity.

par David M

Oct 15, 2019

Fond of the book exercise, great way to explore creativity if taken seriously.

par John M

Nov 11, 2019

This was one of the most enjoyable classes I've taken so far. Gail encouraged me to have fun with the image making process. Learning the different styles of composition was also extremely helpful. I realize peer reviews are an important part of learning, but I would also like to have actual staff/teachers provide feedback and assessments.

par Tina L O Z

Jan 28, 2019

I felt this was a very challenging and stimulating course. It relies like many great courses in this series on peer reviews. I think the course is designed extremely well, I just wish there was more interaction/feedback from the teaching staff.

par Daniel M

Dec 17, 2018

Nice lectures and assignments. Also provided good resources

par Alexandra K M

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

par Benjamin g

Mar 09, 2019

Good start for anyone trying to learn image making techniques and zines.

par Lana

Mar 24, 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

par Jordan W

Mar 25, 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

par Joy S

Jan 13, 2019

Good, practical course

par Julia R

Jun 15, 2018

Great course if you want to practice image making!

par Nannie A

May 15, 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

par Kelly J

Dec 05, 2016

This course was a fun one that encouraged experimentation and making a lot of images. I would say the assignments could have been more challenging though.

par Kolya K

Feb 16, 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.