Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
2,150 évaluations
458 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC
8 oct. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21 mai 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 453 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Egle H

13 déc. 2019

Learned a lot and discovered some things about myself that O didn't know. Thank you for this course.

par Eugen M

20 août 2016

A very good course, not just for those who want to become experts, but also for those who know more.

par Victoria K

24 oct. 2020

This was a fun, hands-on course where you're able to explore all aspects of creative image making.

par Mariana M

12 juin 2018

Truly change my vision of design, the meaning of visual communication and composition.Thank you

par Jinn J

22 nov. 2020

I really learn alot of things at this course. I wan to send my thank for my teacher, Mrs. Gail

par Ebba J

23 nov. 2016

Wonderful course, interesting lessons, great assignments, fun to do, authentic artist teacher.

par Syed F R

30 juil. 2020

So much things I have learn in this course. Its a fantastic plat forum for knowledge seekers.

par Huda N

1 avr. 2019

I really Enjoyed this course, made me get out of my comfort zone and think outside the box.

par Diana-Mihaela S

11 sept. 2016

I really loved the teaching method, fluid and in tune with any artist`s budding creativity!

par Zuzana P

9 oct. 2016

It was really challenging, and interesting course. I wish I had more time to work with it.

par Subhan a

12 nov. 2020

Video lectures are less. Overall course is good but would be perfect if videos were more.

par Konstantinos A

20 juin 2019

Very useful course another step towards specialization

CalArts is doing a wonderful job!!

par Fabian M

31 déc. 2016

This course challenged me to expand my visual creative skills and for that I am thankful.

par Brianna P

10 oct. 2016

This was a great course that got me to stop judging my creations and start making images!

par Soumya P

14 juin 2020

I loved this course. It was very informative. Had a lot of fun making the compositions.

par Norman K

29 sept. 2020

Very informative tutors and interesting assignments that make the learning interesting

par celina o

10 mai 2016

Very practical, short videos, lots of exercices to get going, very interesting course.

par GALO R

27 juin 2019

Un curso realmente de mucho aporte, me ayudó para comprender y afinar mi creatividad.

par Mohammed A

9 sept. 2019

Really good course I enjoyed the process. was very helpful to improve my creativity.

par Elizabeth O

18 déc. 2017

Very informative and engaging course. One of my favorites among this specialization.

par Mohamed G W

9 oct. 2017

great course that will teach you the meaning of the pictures and spaces in the image

par Nicoleta P

12 avr. 2017

The way information combines with practice to enhance your creativity is just great!

par Shiela O

16 août 2016

I learned a lot esp the extent of using materials to create an artwork. Well done!

par Vivien S

25 nov. 2016

Great, very clear lessons. Kind of easy in a way but I learnt some basic things.

par Laura B D R

21 mars 2019

We learn really good tools and methodologies to abstract and create new images.