Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
1,483 notes
296 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 293 Examens pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Ana P B

May 26, 2016

Very inspiring! The ideas and process I've learned with this course will certainly help me in my future projects.

par Oluwaseun O O

Oct 23, 2016

i was never comfortable with image making, but this course had given me a lot of confidence and i made a drawing i was proud of

par lily r

Jun 19, 2017

Nice!

par Oksana P

Jan 29, 2017

Thank you very much for this great course. I have learned a lot and definitely gained new skills that will help me in my work.

par Nene W

Feb 06, 2017

thought provoking course and the practical aspects were especially enjoyable. like looking at a subject in fresh new ways, then you would love this course

par Kristian J L D R

Mar 25, 2017

Very Nice

par hangying w

Oct 26, 2016

This video lectures are very clear and well made. I learned the concepts of designs and new ways of thinking.

par Juachi O

Sep 22, 2017

Great course to help learn about images in composition and critical looks at planning and creating images.

par Aadit S

Jun 27, 2016

great course once again!

par Ana F

Oct 09, 2016

I really loved this course. Useful information presented in an attractive format. Hands on approach. It opened my mind regarding a lot of possible applications in different areas of life.

par Pamela F

Apr 29, 2016

This is a great course!

par Pedro M P R

Jul 14, 2016

Great course!

par Shirlena R

Jul 09, 2016

I am running out of words to describe how much I loved taking this class and those in conjunction with it. I'll be a little sad when it's over and I'm taking the last course. There is a true connection

par Daniel D

Apr 15, 2016

Great course!! Thanks again!!

par Roxana A S

Feb 21, 2017

Good course! Nice experience!

par Edi O

Sep 21, 2016

The course is delivered in a simple manner, easy to follow and with clear instructions. I'm not sure how much a peer review is a valuable contribution once most of the students don't really know how to criticize properly the peer's assignment, either always giving the full mark or evaluating according to its personal ideas and not necessary what the exercises called for. Anyway, it's still a very valuable alternative to formal education, specially if the student is committed enough.

par Alisha T

Jun 01, 2016

Fun and informative. Very creative.

par Abhilash V

Dec 24, 2016

Image making is the focus of this course.If you love making images you will love this.Not much theory but all the more making.Assignments needs a bit more time and thought than the other courses in the specialization.

par ВахитоваСабина

Dec 22, 2016

Excellent and impressive course!

par Georgina P

Nov 28, 2016

Graphic degsing is about relation between images and the spece where they are. I think this course is a grate conector which explains the main conexions and relationships of the components of an image.

par Carlos L

Jul 09, 2017

very practical and interesting course!

par Olena

Jun 29, 2017

Very helpful course, specially for the newbies :)

par Evelina V

Jul 03, 2017

it makes me loving images and photoshop!

par celina o

May 10, 2016

Very practical, short videos, lots of exercices to get going, very interesting course.

par Hayden P

Jun 01, 2017

Fantastic Ideas and practical application