Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health par Université de Stanford

4.7
étoiles
18,665 évaluations
5,647 avis

À propos du cours

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Meilleurs avis

GG
22 janv. 2021

Love how Maya presented the course and I especially love the cooking sessions featuring her cute kids. I am looking forward to reading her book or if she has any YT account featuring more home cooking

AE
21 juin 2018

It was an amazing course that allowed for me to be much more conscious of what I was eating and pushed me to strive to achieve a healthier lifestyle. Overall, it was very entertaining and informative!

Filtrer par :

5301 - 5325 sur 5,591 Avis pour Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

par Maria B

4 mai 2020

Very basic. It could use much more in depth material. I would recommend it to someone who was absolutely no knowledge of food and nutrition, even basics like "do not eat processed foods". For someone who has basic knowledge, this is not very useful.

par Kim H J

2 oct. 2018

This course is too easy and too simple that we don't have to learn from the lecture. We already learned most of this course's information from high school, news, or SNS posts. Also, I'm a little doubted about the recipes if these are really healthy.

par Marilyn P

2 juin 2020

The course was very simplistic but I guess it was an introduction. I stopped watching the recipe videos when everything had sugar and/or Nutella. Nutella has zero nutritional value. Really? A program on health and all the recipes have sugar?

par Kyuhyun C

9 oct. 2020

Probably not for people who are looking for academic knowledge or a lecture that takes a theoretical approach toward nutritional science. It seems to be more fit for the general public who want to learn how to make healthier choices for eating.

par L A

15 juil. 2017

It was really easy... perhaps too easy IMO. I barely had to focus or think throughout the lecture videos or the quizzes. The course provided me with facts that I already knew about. However, I found that the recipes were creative and helpful.

par William H

20 mai 2020

I was hoping there would be more breakdowns of nutrients at a molecular level, and why your body needs them. This course offered a superficial understanding of those nutrients. However it offered a guideline of how to organize your plate.

par Peter S

28 nov. 2017

A very enjoyable course, but a little on the 'light side'. Good fun to watch, but not as rigorous as many other MOOCs. Though to be fair, the course only claims to be an introduction to the topic. The lecturer is certainly not boring.

par Sandra M

6 avr. 2017

I actually enjoyed this class very much, but it doesn't go very deep in the topic. The questions to the quiz are very easy to answer to. In my opinion, this class is great for a general public, but it is not an university level course.

par Garry L

25 janv. 2020

Great course. Very interesting. I skipped all the recipes etc at the end. I think if they were more practical using very simple ingredients on a budget with each meal taking no more than 20 minutes with least labels?

par Patricia S

16 nov. 2020

This course serves as a part of a foundation to healthier eating with practical tips on shopping,choices of foods and cooking. So because the content had these several areas,it made the course more realistic

par joseluis

6 mai 2020

Foi um curso incrível que me permitiu ser muito mais consciente do que eu estava comendo e me forçou a me esforçar para alcançar um estilo de vida mais saudável. No geral, foi muito divertido e informativo!

par Courtney D

4 oct. 2019

I found this course very basic and almost all of what was said was pretty obvious to me. I would say this course is more suitable to people who have absolutely no knowledge about nutrition, food and health.

par Juan H C

4 mai 2018

I expected more depth in the nutrition side, like meals and drink that prevent some nutrients absortion and shouldn't be mixed with the meals providing those nutrients. But I guess it's ok for introduction.

par Ilona G

1 nov. 2020

The course itself is a really basic intro for people who have no clue what is managing diet and healty eating. It is done really well, but if you are looking for some more detailed basics it't not for you.

par Турбина А Э

28 mars 2020

As for me eastern european was not so many things new. In my country we don't have such problems. We always eats at home homecooked food. Only first 2 modules give me some new and introduction. Thanks.

par Evan C

1 août 2017

Well produced and informative, but very very basic. I thought that it would be a little more in depth and require a little more study. I think I could have passed the quizzes without watching the videos.

par Ruchika M G

28 sept. 2017

Loved the video sharing experience about foods and nutrition. Would be more helpful if mre case studies were added to explain the benefits and side effects of ingredients found on processed food labels.

par Daphne G

5 mai 2016

This was a very baseline introduction and basically a summary of Pollan's books and ideology. The positive is that is was very accessible in time and presentation however provides little insight to ins

par Valeria C

8 févr. 2016

Interesting and well presented information. I wished the course had been more interactive and had spent more time on the chemistry of nutrition. Also the lectures and quizzes could have been longer.

par Jessica S

26 févr. 2021

I thought there would be more science and depth to this course. I was looking for a deeper level of knowledge, felt very basic to me. Love Michael Pollan but would have been nice to see more experts

par Holo D

10 févr. 2021

Some Case studies should be included to make reader feel that Change in Food Habits can make a real difference. Doctors are too eager to put people on Metaphor (something like that)and Crestor.

par Debbie C

19 févr. 2016

It was well presented but a little light on, I was hoping for a bit more "meat" to it. But interesting none the less, & a fascinating insight into how few people apparently cook their own food.

par Andy N

3 févr. 2016

If you have some basic knowledge about food and nutrition, then this course is not the right for you. It's very basic and sometimes trivial. But the lecturer and course itself was really nice.

par Sofie E

15 mars 2019

It's a course which covers basic. I would not recommend this to people who already are in the health and nutrition field, but to people who are new to the field. Very well explained and easy.

par Shivam S

4 févr. 2018

If you are wanting something more technical, this is not the course for you. The concepts are simple to follow and for the common man. Its more of a motivational documentary than a course.