Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Search Engine Optimization

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Search Engine Optimization par Université de Californie à Davis

4.6
étoiles
3,549 évaluations
949 avis

À propos du cours

Ever wonder how major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo rank your website within their searches? Or how content such as videos or local listings are shown and ranked based on what the search engine considers most relevant to users? Welcome to the world of Search Engine Optimization (SEO). This course is the first within the SEO Specialization and it is intended to give you a taste of SEO. You will be introduced to the foundational elements of how search engines work, how the SEO landscape has changed and what you can expect in the future. You discuss core SEO strategies and tactics used to drive more organic search results to a specific website or set of websites, as well as tactics to avoid to prevent penalization from search engines. You will also discover how to position yourself for a successful career in SEO should this subject prove interesting to you. We hope this taste of SEO, will entice you to continue through the Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

SS

Aug 10, 2016

Great course, very informative!! I can tell the classes are starting to be structured differently though. Not too much meat to this first course... reserving my opinion, until I go through a few more.

KS

Oct 03, 2019

I found this intro course to be more intense and simultaneously more valuable than I expected it to be. I've already gained new insight and learned techniques I can put into practice now. Brilliant.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 917 Avis pour Introduction to Search Engine Optimization

par Sammy S

Sep 18, 2017

Given the time frame of 4 weeks, the course was well structured, detailed and clear. The goals were set early on to ensure students understand what the course is about. Explaining the job scene within the SEO environment allowed students to understand what they will be working towards should they choose to continue this specialization. Understanding the history and the development SEO had gone through over the years builds an idea of what can be expected in the future. As an introductory course, I believe that this is what many other universities can learn from in order to ensure students know what they have selected to learn.

par Amandip S

Dec 27, 2018

Thanks for the best wishes by the way. At the beginning I failed the first week and left the course for a couple of days. I started again and scored so much also learnt so much that in the 4th week I used a little nit of tactics on my website. The latest blog is now ranking on 4th position among 173000000 results. I have developed so much interest in this course and realized that SEO community is the most strongest and supportive community I have seen till day. Once again thanks for the amazing content.

par Prakash R P

Sep 20, 2016

The course is excellent in many ways. The course material,video is very simple and understandable to a layman also. one need not be an expert.The presentation was superb, leaving no doubt at the end of each week.The course material and video is self sufficient. I am very happy to have joined the course. I would like to complete the rest of the course satisfactorily. I would love to have soft copies of the material which can be downloaded for study at convenient. Thank you, madam

par Amanda v

May 14, 2016

Course objectives are clear and concise. Course instructor's voice is upbeat and she articulates well. Visuals are simple and focus on key concepts. Course contents follows a logical progressive flow from easy to more complex concepts. Small chunks of information makes it easy to follow. This is an excellent course and definitely worth while the investment. For me, It has sparked a keen interest in the field of SEO and it has build my confidence to proceed to the next level.

par Daniel P S

Jun 28, 2017

A good overview of what to look forward to. I went into this knowing only that it is an important part of the new age of marketing, but I can now see that it is much more than that. It reminds you of why search engines like Google and Yahoo even got started in the first place; a way to catalog, store and retrieve useful information, from any where in the world, in a matter of seconds. It has reignited my interest in the endless possibilities, of what the future may hold.

par Hasari T A

Jun 08, 2016

A course offering the possibility to start practicing from the third week has providede me with a deep sense of purpose and increased my overall expectations of the Specialization.

Having professor Rebekah May is also a blessing. She has been in the industry for about 8 years (I don't remember the precise amount of time) and that provides the subjects with a deeper insight from her personal experience. A Specialization to complete, thank you Coursera.

par Amy R

Apr 29, 2018

It is a very comprehensive introductory course which makes clear the whole concept of 'Search Engine Optimization' from both a technical and industry angle. By touching on all the main areas of the SEO practice you actually come away with some useful understanding of how to do SEO even though it is still a simple introduction course. It answers all the main questions about and SEO and is definitely worth it to see if SEO is a good fit for you.

par Gaurav S

Feb 08, 2018

Week 1 is irrelevant for people who look SEO as an additional skill set rather than a profession. Content wise Week 2 and 3 are superb. Before doing this course I thought I know enough about SEO, but now I realize it was just the tip of the iceberg. Like other streams, SEO is also a science and this course has very well captured nitty-gritty of concept. Earlier I used to see the google result, now I analyze them. . Thanks again!

Gaurav Singh

par Deleted A

Nov 26, 2016

I signed up to audit the first 5 courses in this specialization. This review is for the first 3 of these courses taught by Rebekah May.

I don't know that SEO is truly simple and logical or if it just appears this way because of how clear and easy to listen to Ms. May is. I do feel she has supplied a lot of very useful information, pointed to a lot of great tools and websites., and am already making improvements as a result of her classes.

par Andreas M

Apr 04, 2016

Nice introduction and great overview of SEO.

While criticized by some I think it is great to get some insights of what careers are available in this field. For myself, I am not looking for a career in this field, but getting to know how to present and approach things based on different circumstances provided me with great pointers of how to communicate my ideas effectively to other people.

Thanks, looking forward to the other courses

par Irem D

Jul 18, 2017

It was a very comprehensive, step by step course to start SEO without any prior knowledge. Ms.May goes in a very nice pace and that helps you understand better. The fact that she enriched the instructive materials by adding related articles and videos is definately a plus to gaining a strong perspective on the history and backstory of how and why SEO was formed. I would reccomend to anyone who wants to start learning about SEO!

par Lee B

Dec 18, 2016

I found the course appealing, especially the set up of the combination of video lessons with correlating reading/video materials. Though I certainly have a lot to learn, I feel Rebekah May's lessons offered clear, focused objectives that helped me to "get my feet wet" in learning about SEO. If I had one request, I would love for the discussion forum to be more interactive, especially in the early stages of the course.

par Stefanie T

Oct 10, 2019

Fabulous introduction into SEO. Though it took a little while for me to get interested and invested in the content, I quickly became fascinated with SEO. I am grateful for the slew of resources provided, and made sure to follow many of the blogs that were linked to the course. The course completely shifted my opinion about SEO, and I left the course with a more positive outlook on SEO and on my future as a marketer.

par Meghan C

May 14, 2018

This course is a good overview into SEO. I decided to audit the course in order to learn some on-the-fly SEO for my personal website and was so intrigued by the content and career opportunities that I enrolled in the certificate course. After earning my certificate, I plan to build up a portfolio and try to land a job in SEO, so thanks for helping me figure out what I never knew I always wanted to do!

par Génesis M

Aug 25, 2018

¡Excellent course! I learned a lot. More than I though. Actually I'm really surprised because I didn't suspect I could learn so much online. The videos are really helpful and the way Rebekah explains is very clear.

I'm very happy about findind and completing this course

I was supposed to learn just the basics about SEO, but at the end I learnt a great deal about digital marketing, not only SEO

par Jeffrey B G

Oct 14, 2016

This course really opened a lot of new possibilities for me. I now understand better how I can reach my target audience and share information that I know will help people using SEO. I hope that this course will reach more people looking for a skill that is very indispensable in this ever growing online based generation. Thank you very much for the opportunity of learning from experts.

par Taylor D

Dec 05, 2016

Course material was well sliced up to keep it relevant and interesting - nothing really dragged on. I'd suggest re-considering how long reading material takes, sometimes something like 2 articles was listed as taking 2 hours, making the overall course time seem much longer than it truly was. But the content shared was really interesting and helpful to a beginner SEO like me.

par Jacob R

Dec 17, 2019

Very good! I learned a lot about the foundations, the history, and the industry that is search engine optimization. I learned so many terms and concepts that I am sure to use if I pursue a career in SEO and I have a far better understanding of what is required in this job. Thank you Davis/Coursera for providing this, I can't wait to continue down this specialization.

par ANURAG K

Mar 16, 2019

The course provides relevant informations regarding SEO. The course run through the history till the current updates that has been made in google search algorithm. It also talks about penalisation and how to get rid of it and increase ranking in search. Contains wide range of contents that are required to become professional and establish a career in this field.

par Rhitik J

Mar 10, 2017

A very informative course that lays out the basics of SEO really well and forms a foundation that a learner can build upon. The instructors are great! Supplementary reading material and constant references to tools and softwares available online helps a learner understand what kind of tools SEO professionals use and how they too can use them to their advantage.

par Allan R M

Mar 14, 2016

This course gives a fabulous introduction to the world of SEO and organic web design. It opened my eyes to how much control Google has over the internet and how important SEO is to branding and marketing of a website. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in how the Internet works; even better, is the insight into Google's algorithms and history.

par Gayane T

Jan 05, 2017

The course was designed in a way to explain the very beginning of the SEO profession: how search engines developed, how the search mechanism works and what is the role of SEO specialists in improving search results. The course provided me with the basic understanding of the theme and filled with curiosity to explore the principles of site rankings further.

par Durvankur P

Jun 08, 2018

Even though the content of this course scratched the surface of SEO industry, it helped me to gain insight in this field. Being a content developer, it has opened some new dimensions for me to look at, and also boost my profile in the market. I am surely taking a few more courses under this specialization to develop on the foundation from this course.

par David V

Feb 28, 2018

I learned many things about internet, the web, search engines and lots of technical terminology. I think the course is very well structured starting with the basics and the history of internet to finishing with a lot of ideas and advices to succeed in this field and how to face the future and keep up to date in this field that is constantly changing.

par Nicole B

Jun 28, 2019

This was a really helpful course, I felt I left with great foundational knowledge that will help me immediately. One improvement: the course suggested that I would be able to perform an audit of my site based on the materials provided and I think I needed a bit more hand-holding to do that after completing the material. Still a very useful course.