Chevron Left
Retour à Art et idées modernes

Art et idées modernes, Le Museum of Modern Art

4.7
2,404 notes
485 avis

À propos de ce cours

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Meilleurs avis

par AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

par AV

Oct 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. My only issues with the class were the frustrations with the quizzes being graded incorrectly.

Filtrer par :

479 avis

par Sree Harshavardhan Nimmagadda

Apr 25, 2019

I enjoyed learning this course thoroughly............

par Chiara Ponticelli

Apr 23, 2019

It was a great experience. Really enjoyed it.

par Fernanda Ximena Mendoza Martínez

Apr 21, 2019

I really enjoy the course, it was basic but it's a must.

Thank you!

par Leigh R. Hendry

Apr 18, 2019

Well done. I very much enjoyed the course and the learning experience. However, I feel that there are several teaching and technical issues, which, if addressed, and improved, would provide a more rewarding, less frustrating environment for the learner. First, I believe there should be an automatic word counter on each essay section to alleviate the issue with peer reviewers assuming that they can judge the number of words by just “eyeballing” the copy. On more than several occasions, the peer reviewer marked my essay down for exceeding the required length, when, in fact, my essay was not too long. In self-defense, I finally began adding the word count at the end of the essay, which immediately resolved that problem. Additionally, the final essay question for the essay is apparently confusing for the peer reviewers, as they seemed not to realize that the question posed was an either or format. So, I’m assuming that the sentence is simply too long and should be rewritten in order to make it more comprehensible. Also, I wanted to point out that it is difficult to compare three works of art In 300 words; the assistant director may want to lengthen the permitted essay word number a bit. I’m very impressed with Coursera and its available courses. I especially appreciate MoMA’s participation!

par Emily K. Olson

Apr 17, 2019

A very accessible and interesting introduction to Modern Art. The extra materials and learning via the Moma website are curated with thoughtfulness. I truly enjoyed this course so much and look forward to learning more through other Corsera classes and on my own.

par Хуго Дария Евгеньевна

Apr 17, 2019

I like this course. I really enjoyed it. But it was difficult because of language. I thought that this course will have more information in Russian language. Some videos and many texts was really challenging. Thanks any way.

par Patricio Sebastian Romero Quevedo

Apr 16, 2019

Nice easy going way of learning something interesting and new for non-art professionals. Easy and short lectures, good exercices if you have the time.

par Jacqueline Docherty

Apr 14, 2019

A fun and interesting course. Excellent selection of works used for discussion.

par Belen Resnikowski

Apr 13, 2019

VERY INTERESTING

par Maria Guadalupe Romo Ríos

Apr 12, 2019

Beautiful themes and pieces of art!!