Chevron Left
Retour à Art et idées modernes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Art et idées modernes par Le Museum of Modern Art

4.7
stars
2,934 évaluations
599 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Meilleurs avis

AM

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

AV

Oct 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and the way art was discussed based on theme rather than chronologically. My only issues with the class were the frustrations with the quizzes being graded incorrectly.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 592 Avis pour Art et idées modernes

par Ladislav S

Dec 06, 2017

Really nice course materials with a different way of looking at Art studies than I was used to. Lecture is divided into themes rather than different "isms" on a timeline. I enjoyed this approach much more and highly recommend the course.

par Guillermo D G

Jan 07, 2020

This is an amazing introductory Course that helped me to identify the Artwork Techniques and learn about the different Artist profile and their motivations to create this great artwork pieces, definitively one of the best I ever attend

par Likhitha B

Oct 13, 2016

The multiple modules concentrating on a specific theme have enabled easier understanding and succeeded in grasping the attention of a student towards speedy completion of course along with complete comprehension of stated artifacts.

par Christine N

Jun 06, 2019

Every time I do a MOMA course, I deepen my understanding of art and indeed I generate new ideas. The course is engaging, full of new knowledge and inspiring in terms of the influence these courses have on the generation of new work.

par Kathleen R

Mar 20, 2018

This course was well-designed and extremely interesting. I've taken other academic courses on Modern Art and have spent a lifetime as an admirer of Modern Art and yet found this course informative and insightful. Highly recommend.

par Tony D

Jan 31, 2016

Even though I'm not on the path of becoming a museum educator or art teacher, I found this course to be very worthwhile. I feel that it really deepened my understanding of art, both in terms of how to approach it and create it.

par maryam a

Nov 26, 2019

This has been an exceptional course where I have learnt a lot of expressions that could be derived from present art and how we can also convey meaning through everyday art. Brilliantly crafted course that has unique topics.

par Angela T

Jun 11, 2018

This was a very enjoyable course which gave me a lot of information on Modern Art. It has given me a whole new appreciation for art and I'm really looking forward to visiting some galleries with my new found knowledge.

par Alison

Dec 31, 2018

Learned a lot about modern art & grew broader lenses; great course & aesthetically pleasing short videos!

> When the retro feeling of intro-videos they've made are brilliantly high-qualities, you know it's from MoMA ;)

par Valeria E D G

Sep 05, 2015

Great video lessons and extra reading material to expand concepts and ideas. The course has also very good rhythm and short tests at the end of each lesson are great to understand the important points of the course.

par Stephen J

Mar 23, 2019

Very interesting course that makes you work your brains into thinking what art truly is about. It has definitely helped me opened my eyes and perspective in appreciating and knowing what modern art is all about!

par Teresa O

Aug 18, 2018

My only suggestion is just a bit easier navigation. For example, I wanted to see the rubric before I wrote my responses, but never did see it. However, I learned so much and thought it was expertly delivered.

par Pramodana U

Jun 03, 2017

Good courses, easy to understand, Thank you very much. It was very useful course and art provided very insightful information. I look forward to participate at your next course. All the best. Thanks Coursera.

par Diego F V M

Sep 15, 2019

Great course! It presents awesome topics to discuss and think about the role of the Modern art in our lives, exploring different topics such as the representation of the identity in the creations of people.

par Julieta M

Oct 11, 2016

This course gave me a new understanding of modern art, and also about the artists and the works selected for the course. The content has been carefully selected and the reading material is very interesting.

par Yu S

Dec 05, 2015

The required reading is a bit long, and because it's all written, it's hard to go through at one time. So would there be some videos source instead I could use to facilitate learning in a more visual way?

par Varya M

Oct 18, 2019

I really liked this course as it taught me to look and think about art differently. In the end, I learned to think outside the box a bit more. Thank you to all who participated in creating this course!

par Breno T

Jul 12, 2017

The course and its interesting approach to Modern Art open up a whole new way of looking at the works you see, helping to engage and create a connection between them and the reality that surrounds you.

par Aracely L M

Jan 15, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

par Zelenma

Aug 11, 2017

VERY VERY GOOD COURSE !!!!!! for learning, discovering , practicing and i have learned to appreciate all these abstract artists , or to understand their expression with our teacher C.D'Augustine .

par Daniel L

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent course ! Really enjoyed it and learned so much. Easy to follow and easy to complete. Thanks to this course, I will have a different eye on Modern Art. My personal goal has been reached.

par Panferova E V

Aug 10, 2019

Really liked the course! Many new artists and interesting works! And also I liked the tasks after each week, make me think and reason more. Thank you very much for the opportunity to learn a lot!

par Pri H

Oct 08, 2017

An excellent course, with lots of interactive information and additional resources. The explanations are very clear and the selection of artwork is excellent and goes beyond the obvious choices.

par Farah F S

Dec 21, 2019

This course is like a revelation to me. There is so much thing I did not know about critical thinking especially through art. Very recommended to anyone who ever thought art is a trivial thing.

par Carolina L

Jun 05, 2017

An amazing course, it was very interesting. I learned not only many things that I didn't know, I also learned to understand the ideas of modern art.

It was a pleasure for me to take this course.