Chevron Left
Retour à Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners par Université Jiao-tong de Shanghai

4.7
311 notes
85 avis

À propos du cours

Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for beginners is a beginner's course of Mandarin Chinese. It uses lectures, short plays, interactive exercises and cultural tips to help learners build a fundamental capability of oral Chinese in real-life situations. At the end of the 5-week course, the learners will reach the following proficiency: ♦ 150 words ♦ 20 language points ♦ handling 5 real-life situations This is a beginners' course, therefore no prerequisite is required....

Meilleurs avis

ME

Nov 09, 2017

This a great course to learn Chinese for real-life purposes. The pace is perfect for adult learners. It's also fun and not stressful at all.

DM

Jul 12, 2017

This course gives you the option to learn the characters or to simply learn the pinyin. The dialogue videos and scripts are very helpful.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 82 Examens pour Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

par Patricia F

Apr 03, 2019

Only because my money was invested in this course i stayed.

Introductory indeed, thanks to this course I knew where to start with my Chinese Language acquisition. The sentences given can be used in the real world. But there was a lot to be desired.....

I don't live in a place where I can get much practice face to face and so feel that there should have been more in depth lessons to help what I was learning to stick.

For example, more cultural backgrounds, how one word or phrase could differ in different places, a number of realistic conversations in regular speed not just one scenario using students of the language like myself (I would've been more accepting if the demonstrators weren't so unnatural). There was a lot of things that detracted from the videos.

At times the accent of the instructors from the lesson videos took away from the message, though i wasn't distracted, I wasn't totally present either It took much effort to stay focused. Delivery is important for such a complicated subject.

The App was convenient, I could download the video lessons, and do some of the tests then have them submitted when I had internet access again. But there were some bugs, especially on the new vocabulary page.

The PDF lesson sheets had valuable information in them, I just wish there was a way to have been tested more on those. It was like pouring information into my lap and asking me to learn, and correct myself. I've learned that can hurt language acquisition.

Lastly, the community in my opinion is almost purposeless. I've seen comments sit unanswered and conversations unexplored for months on end. This would have been no big deal if my grade didn't depend on another persons involvement in the course. The final Peer Review was a pain to wait through. One can submit their assignment in 10 minutes but must wait a month for it to be graded by another. I've noted too (because I did it myself) When someone finally does check the assignment they are not obligated to give marks based on criteria. I could just give full marks without checking with no consequence. When I did pay attention to what I was listening to, I heard many mistakes in pronunciation and grammar but could still give full marks because that wasn't the criteria for the assignment. Whats worse is that I'm not aware of other mistakes a native speaker could pick up, and yet...I could still give ...full marks. That needs to be corrected or removed entirely.

Sadly this review is filled with criticism, but only because I believe it has the potential to be better.

par Stephen P

Dec 13, 2018

It's a little frustrating that I need a VPN (because I live in China) for this MOOC. However this course is nicely balanced and timed. I feel i am picking things up. You can download so you can get home/offline practice and the pace is nice and steady (not too fast).

par Jamie B

Aug 04, 2017

I've used several resources to try to learn Chinese on my own. This course is incredibly well structured, the audio-video content is clear, and I appreciate the ability to get feedback. I look forward to the other courses in this series.

par Noel C

Jan 15, 2019

Great introduction to the language

par Patrick T

Dec 31, 2018

Great course!

par Brock

Jan 02, 2019

Excellent course and very helpful

par Fatin A B M

Mar 20, 2019

Good thing to learn and really easy to understand.

par Akor A

Mar 01, 2019

A lot of examples and real life scenarios

par Ivette L I R

Dec 20, 2018

This course was a wonderful experience for star learn Chinese. I like the method.

par Michél- S E

Jul 12, 2018

Really loved what I learn looking forward to learning more

par María V B G

Jan 13, 2018

Excelente curso

par Daniel M

Jul 12, 2017

This course gives you the option to learn the characters or to simply learn the pinyin. The dialogue videos and scripts are very helpful.

par Sandra G

Mar 31, 2018

Ni hao! Like the dynamics of the course! I`m learning a Lot! Thank you so much Ann!

par Tanveer A S

Jun 19, 2018

It was a great opportunity for beginners to learn about the basic mandarin Chinese. By taking this course now I am able to speak about myself, my family and daily life conversation.Thanks for making this course.

par Cristian Z A

Aug 30, 2017

Excelente curso

par Jason C

Mar 26, 2017

In talking to a friend about learning Chinese, I surprised myself with how much information I've retained from this course. The teaching curriculum is fun and evidently effective. I highly recommend this course.

par Susan S

Feb 03, 2017

this course is very good and beneficial for my Chinese learning. the professor is very kind and I learn a lot of sentences which will be practical in my daily life.

par Ambreen

May 10, 2018

great course for beginners. Very easy to pick up

par Beyers F D W S

May 24, 2018

Excellent! If anyone can teach a 68-year-old "geyser" Mandarin, they deserve 5 stars. Will be going on to next course!

par mohammad n

Jun 18, 2017

very good for starter.

par Б. М

Nov 06, 2017

THANK YOU

par Peipou F

Dec 04, 2017

I really enjoyed this course !!!

par Pedro H d S H

Apr 12, 2018

Very, very good.

par Iann A

Feb 18, 2017

This course is very useful for people who just started to learn Chinese. This course is very good. I have learnt much in a best way. The topics are useful and the vocabulary and grammar that we learn are at HSK 1 level. The quizzes are short and the deadlines motivate you and help you keep track. Thanks to Coursera for providing this course.

par lillianwu

Jan 21, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. The instructors are fantastic, and I also liked the way they use videos and online interactions to deliver the content.