Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to HTML5

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to HTML5 par Université du Michigan

4.7
8,363 notes
2,043 avis

À propos du cours

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Meilleurs avis

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

NJ

Apr 26, 2019

I didn't know about making my web pages accessible till this course. But now I know how important it is for my web pages to be accessible to all, for my html to validate and be semantically correct.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 1,990 Examens pour Introduction to HTML5

par Ngassa J

Apr 26, 2019

I didn't know about making my web pages accessible till this course. But now I know how important it is for my web pages to be accessible to all, for my html to validate and be semantically correct.

par C. P R

Jan 31, 2016

Exceptional course, taught by a friendly, talented teacher. Perfect introduction to HTML. While the course seems to be still under development (there is the odd typo or the like) it's a great start.

par Nova R

May 20, 2019

tl;dr: I do NOT recommend this course. It is riddled with errors. Additionally, you risk not getting your certificate based on wrong information given to your peers to grade you for your final.

This course has multiple errors in the quizzes and most egregiously in the instructions to your peer reviewers to grade your final project. All throughout the forums were people pleading with students not to mark them wrong based on the grading instructions but grade them based on the instructions to complete the final project.

Here is a post in the forum. It is one of many and she explains it better than I can.

=====

Typos and errors in quizzes and final project! Frustrating.

Michelle SchauerWeek 3 · 12 days ago · Edited

I was quite surprised at how often I found grade-critical typos and errors in the quizzes and final project. I checked other students' comments and saw that other students are frustrated about this also. Not good. There are quiz question-and-answer errors which are incorrect.

There are a couple of errors on the final project. For example, the instructions say to create an unordered list (HTML course). Then the peer review questions to correct another peer's work asks if the person created an ORDERED list. If they didn't, we're supposed to dock them a point for their "error". The peer review question SHOULD ask if the person created an unordered list, as the instruction clearly stated.

Examples of typos within quizzes:

<o> (incorrect) instead of <ol> (correct - should have been this)

<nag> (incorrect) instead of <nav> (correct - should have been this)

There were quite a handful of errors similar to this on other quizzes as well. Frustrating when you're trying to learn and be tested fairly on your retention.

=====

Additionally there doesn't seem to be any TA's or active involvement from the teacher. I've loved the Dr. Chuck courses from UMich but this course was terrible. It's a complete lack of respect for the open learning community to create a course, not test it for errors, and then have students beg in the forums for corrections and changes to something they paid for and have it be ignored. I'm paying for the Specialization and I have nothing but dread going into the rest of courses. Please look for a better option. The book, Learn to Code HTML & CSS, by Shay Howe was the best thing to come out of this. It's free on his website and I got more out this than the lectures. The teacher is just reading her slides and not very interactive. The book has codepen examples throughout and you'll get far more interactive learning by working through the chapters than sitting through the lectures.

par Saurav C

Dec 22, 2018

It' s a great course if you wanna pursue web development and it explains all the basic concepts that everyone needs to know in web development and the teachers are great and they will show you all the practicals according to the machine you are working on and she teaches very smoothly and also add the relevant details if she misses something in the video. Overall I can say that go for it, this course will develop your interest in web development and you will love this course.

Thanks Mam (Collen Van Lent)

Regards

Saurav Chamoli

par Mutwakil S I A

Dec 22, 2018

Very good !

par Rejohn R A C

Dec 20, 2018

I thought HTML was about just writing working code. I was wrong. HTML is all about writing semantically working code.

par Waqar A

Dec 19, 2018

good explanation

par Noor R T

Dec 16, 2018

Thank you to the outstanding trainer for this wonderful course. Thank you to the staff of the Coursera platform and the scholarship staff. It was a very useful course

par Mylen R

May 07, 2019

Very basic, but gives a fundamental understanding of HTML5 doc structure, tags, and proper accessibility coding. Just enough challenge to be interesting, but no overwhelming. The more you invest on your own to experiment and read outside of the assignments, the more you will get out of this course.

par Todd B

Nov 11, 2017

Good introduction to web development. The teacher (Colleen van Lent) has great attitude and seems interested in getting students themselves interested... she explained the intro topics very clearly.

par tai n

Dec 21, 2018

The final project is a great learning point. To get the most out of the class you definitely need to take what you've learned, as well as using the resources offered, and keeping practicing coding with html5.

par ANURAG J

Dec 20, 2018

should be more practical and include more application of tags

par Ritu R R

Dec 20, 2018

it is very helpful course for beginners

par S K K

Dec 16, 2018

Would be better if included more live examples

par Ayush S

Dec 16, 2018

Very easy course and very knowledgeable too. The instructor(Colleen) is brilliant. She helps at every step and makes the course very easy.

par Pradeep P

May 18, 2019

Faculty teach excellent.

par Yumei L

Jun 03, 2019

Even though this course has Dr. Chuck's name associated, it is NOT of the same caliber. The assignments have spelling errors and the instructions contradict the examples given--many of the errors have been pointed out as far back as 9 months ago, and yet remain uncorrected. The quizzes are designed like traditional in-class quizzes: petty and full of "gotcha" type of questions, UNLIKE Dr. Chuck's quizzes that clarify and reinforce course material. The video lectures seem to be wordy and offer info that one can easily get online. Now and then there is a bit that might be useful, but overall a waste of time.

par HIMANSHU S

Jan 14, 2019

awesome

par Sharmistha D

Jan 29, 2019

I love how this course starts from a no-wise level and ends at the hosting level giving you additional tips and tricks.

par Debra L G

Jan 31, 2019

This was one of the best classes I have taken on Coursera!!! The instructor was GREAT. She made it easy to understand the lessons and she actually showed you what happens when you make mistakes and how to fix them. I give this class all the credit for my desire to continue learning more about coding and website design.

par Miro M

Jan 19, 2019

very helpful, taught me basic and i understang how it works

par Rebecca S

Feb 03, 2019

Colleen van Lent is an amazing instructor. I am looking forward to taking additional courses from her in the future. Thank you for making education more accessible to working adults.

par Jason M

Feb 03, 2019

Very informative class. Teaches a lot about accessibility and good practices when designing the structure of a website. The teacher is good and encourages you to try coding on your own. Since it's a html class, you won't make 'pretty' webpages but the teacher still goes through all the basics like hosting your own site and getting it online.

par Hudeyfa M

Dec 15, 2018

Well organized, good/clean/detail course.

par HANIEL

Jan 05, 2019

i love the lectures