Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Graph Theory

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Graph Theory par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.5
étoiles
888 évaluations

À propos du cours

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this online course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Meilleurs avis

SU

27 févr. 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH

16 nov. 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 197 Avis pour Introduction to Graph Theory

par ANUSHREE C 1

6 avr. 2020

Very conceptual and everything was clear and easy to understand.

par David W

15 mai 2020

The content is good, but it needs more programming assignments.

par Shubham C

12 juil. 2020

Last two weeks are little bit difficult to understand.

par Mayank A

5 sept. 2020

really a great learning on graphs

par K A K

27 juin 2020

Graph Theory in its purest form.

par Thành N K

16 sept. 2019

very useful and so hard

par Nikhil Y

29 avr. 2020

just amazing course!!

par PRAJUL G 1

4 juin 2020

Great Course

par D V S S R

16 mars 2019

NICE COURSE

par Bhanuprakash B

6 juin 2020

Helpful

par 121910305010 P S K

16 janv. 2021

good

par Deleted A

12 janv. 2021

nice

par BAINA R R

10 janv. 2021

good

par 121910316019 C G S

9 janv. 2021

good

par Trần C L

8 nov. 2019

Too much boring stuff, somewhat poor lecturing, I must say. I only took in a little what I've just learned.

However, 3rd party puzzle is fun and quizzes are ok, new good thing is glossary which reviews the module's contents. These are things that got me understand about graph honestly.

I like the old teacher's lessons, he has many interactive quizzes on it and he seems passionated, others should do it too, it keep my concentration from falling apart.

This course keeps what's good from previous courses, but you guy still messed up the teaching.

par Ethan H

26 oct. 2020

Not the best MOOC for graph theory, but it got the job done. This might just be my preference as a student, but I find Alexander Shen's lecture style very confusing, and often inaudible. For these sections (e.g. Ford & Fulkerson), I simply watched OCW lectures from MIT. The exercises for the course are a bit on the easy side, and didn't require learning anything beyond definitions (an an occasional theorem). Although I did not use online forums, I appreciate that the instructors are very responsive to questions and concerns. Thanks!

par Yang L

23 oct. 2019

It is overall a good course. The week 5 part is super confusing. In that lecture, a lot of terminologies are mixing together without proper explain. Like the "cut", it would be nice to explain it is a minimal cut at first place, otherwise one would not know why that specific cut can tell the maximum flow while other cut can't. It will be better to have a clear lecture with more diagram or animation. It's very hard to follow when there only few words on the slides and the lecturer don't follow the slides... .

par Anh T

8 févr. 2022

The course is informative at the basic level but has some drawbacks.

- The first week were very laden with knowledge and concepts that are repeated in later weeks anyway

- The exercises were easy, there were no advanced challenge to strengthen one's understanding of the theories learned.

- The last week was a major spike in difficulty and the explanations were not very clear.

Overall a good enough course for a beginner, but it could do with more exercises.

par Vanya B

19 août 2019

The course content was very good and I found the notebook exercises extremely useful in visualizing the problems. However, I found the instructors extremely boring and the explanations they provide for some of the proofs are very vague and not very engaging. I had to watch youtube videos on the same topic to understand the concepts more clearly. The quizzes were very easy sometimes but good enough for a beginner to graph theory.

par Shamah M Z

13 juin 2020

The course allowed learning the relevant topics of the subject, but the topic of Network graphs and the Ford-Fulkerson algorithm should be revised. An example or two of how the algorithm works could do marvel. Also, the concept of the said topics should be better described with the help of appropriate diagrams and simulations. Other than that, the course was really amazing. Thank you, professors!

par Luis M V F

7 janv. 2020

This course is better compared to the previous two courses. I can state that I liked the first 4 weeks, but week 5 is terrible. I enjoyed implementing the coding assignment, but I would definitely suggest not taking this course because is not really a good course for Discrete Math.

par yk

20 avr. 2020

I enjoyed the course up til week 4. Week 5 was just a complete mess with incomprehensible explanations to...well I couldn't even figure out what he was trying to explain. I don't understand why they decided to change the instructor for the final week.

par Alex Y

10 janv. 2019

Some explanations could be more detailed. The course jumps over important theorems too fast, so there may not be enough time to internalize knowledge for some. If one wants to understand basics of Graph Theory well, external readings may be required.

par M. A

30 juil. 2020

This course does not cover discussion regarding graph representation using the adjacency matrix. Although there some discussions about graph algorithms, these algorithms are presented using Jupyter and not constructed from scratch in Python.

par Rajiv D

13 avr. 2022

The course is ok. I believe the course could improve as an example the prooves of theorems could have been more detailed. Other than that it was okay as a first introduction to graph theory.