Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Graph Theory

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Graph Theory par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.5
étoiles
871 évaluations
194 avis

À propos du cours

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this online course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Meilleurs avis

SU
27 févr. 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
16 nov. 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 192 Avis pour Introduction to Graph Theory

par Ziad B

13 oct. 2018

Really cool course to take with very interesting exercises. I especially liked some of the puzzles at the beginning of topics. I thought that the week 5 material needed some more concrete examples. It was presented in the abstract straight away. However, don't let that discourage you from taking the course. You may simply need to access the odd Youtube video to supplement the material presented here.

par Dan S

22 juin 2021

F​irst four weeks were very good introduction. I have no prior experience with graph theory so it was a very gentle introduction. The labs were very good view into the software available for these types of problems.

T​he fifth week, however, was poorly presented. I actually stopped mid week 5 because it seemed pointless to try and follow the instructor.

par Eric B

18 févr. 2021

I was unfamiliar with graph theory before taking this course. It greatly helped my understanding of the subject. A few points were hard to follow and I had to look elsewhere to understand them. Also, I found it annoying for the final week that the lectures were constantly interrupted with pop up questions asking if I understood what was just said.

par Gyanesh T

27 sept. 2020

Thank you team for making such an exiting content on graph theory it has really encouraged me to take few more courses on discrete mathematic and computer science. Though my area is not computers and neither is mathematics but your intuitive style of teaching has kept me glued to the basic concepts of the course. Thanks once again for wonderful work.

par Ganesh P

7 mai 2020

The course "Introduction to Graph Theory " given me to understand the different basic concepts of Graph theory through the examples,puzzles and video lectures.

One of my suggestion is to discuss solution of one more example related to Ford-Fulkerson algorithm in the Week 5 contents .

The programming assignment was also well.

par arnab n

9 mai 2020

Course materials are very good. But explanations of the topic aren't up to the mark, mostly because the instructors aren't native English speakers. The quizzes are very easy, they could be make harder and little programming assignments could be given like that in week 5.

par Juliano P

2 janv. 2021

This wasn't as good as the first 2 modules, but still very informative. Lots of practice exercises but I'd say less helpful than before, as some of them seemed very easy to provide any valuable insight. I still recommend this course for an introduction to graph theory.

par Farhan F A

18 juin 2020

The course content was fun but too many questions inside the lecture videos were annoying. Most of them were unnecessary and very easy. Especially the notes for mistakes. Mistakes do take place. But interrupting the class for mistakes is another mistake

par Daniel B

27 avr. 2020

Most of the explanations of concepts were great. One professor has a tendency to force students to draw conclusions for the main point(s) he is making, or trails off verbally so that it's difficult to understand what the main point is.

par 김한아

12 janv. 2021

Overall the course was designed very well and explained with care, but it would have been more enjoyable if more visual explanation in week 4 and 5. It was a bit difficult to understand compared to other weeks.

par matthew l

28 févr. 2020

Great course. Only reason I give it 4 stars is because of the audio quality in week 1. It's very bad.

The same instructor that did the lectures in week 1, had drastically better audio quality in the later weeks.

par Shankhalika S

7 juin 2020

Week 5 was very confusing and not well curated. Please fix this.I had to lookup youtube videos to understand the concepts and that defeats the purpose of me taking the course on coursera

par Toxic

1 janv. 2018

This course is interesting, and it is a good introduction. I like the first four weeks' courses, while I feel the last week's course is not clear presented, which changes the instructor.

par Wan H L

10 mars 2019

The lecturer well explained the course materials. But the assignments are too easy to complete, it does not tease your brain as exercise, and the week 5 is a bit hard to follow

par Akash V S

8 juin 2020

The course was excellent apart from the Ford Fulkerson Theorem in the last week where it was rather shabby and hasty. The Gale-Shapley Algorithm was fun however!

par Ved B

9 août 2020

Though it is beginner level course some concepts are hard to grasp. Gives perfect introduction in graph theory. Useful for computer science subjects.

par Suji E M

16 août 2020

It's a wonderful experience.Since Iam unaware of Python, I couldnot workout the problems. Otherwsie its a nice programme.

par Keenan B

30 déc. 2019

This course was fun an informative, but wasn't as developed as the first two courses in this series. Still a great class

par Digvendra S T

24 juin 2020

Overall the course is good, however, you may face some difficulty in understanding last week instructor's voice.

par Joseph D

5 nov. 2017

Alex Shen's manner of speaking is difficult to understand, but I enjoyed and learned from the material anyway.

par Mike T

29 juin 2018

would be good to have a few more algo questions, perhaps one submission per week?

par 祈璃

24 août 2021

Week 5 is so hard to understand. The lecturer didn't provide enough examples.

par Denis D

21 juil. 2019

Some parts could be clearer. Adding more examples would have gone a long way.

par ANUSHREE C 1

6 avr. 2020

Very conceptual and everything was clear and easy to understand.

par David W

15 mai 2020

The content is good, but it needs more programming assignments.