Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Graph Theory

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Graph Theory par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.5
étoiles
873 évaluations
195 avis

À propos du cours

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this online course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Meilleurs avis

SU
27 févr. 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
16 nov. 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 192 Avis pour Introduction to Graph Theory

par Aryan R

30 août 2020

The course is good overall but the proofs of almost all the theorems are not very intuitive or convincing. If you are taking this I suggest doing this with mit's 16.042's graph theory lectures.

par Rony T P R

27 août 2020

The content is great. In my personal opinion, I think it can be improved in the following ways:

+ More references to books, journals, papers for more depth on topics.

+ More challenging quizzes and puzzles.

+ More programming assignments.

+ Extreme challenge mode [make it optional] :

> Post unsolvable/very difficult problems. Reveal solution or unsolvability only at a later point.

> My point is, nobody should be able to 100% the course. And struggling through a problem is a valuable learning experience, more useful than getting a solution. Also, being someone who likes games like dark souls, this type of dynamic can be highly rewarding!

par Jorge J C A

29 nov. 2020

The course is great. Just recommend adding on the in-video questions a picture related to the question! If a question appears so randomly and no notes were taken, then answering the question is not possible unless rewinding the video to see the graph.

Also, try to explain a little bit better the section related to networks, I had to watch videos on YouTube to understand the last cuestionary.

par 창무

1 janv. 2021

As a non-native English learner, Graph theory is very tricky to understand at first. so learners don't have to be frustrated with it. If you get frustrated here, you won't be able to do anything in the future :)

It would be nice to provide an explanation of difficult graph terminology in PDF, but it would have been better if they explained it more clearly in class. Thanks for this lecture.

par Adrian M

21 oct. 2020

I really liked everything in this course, especially the graded tools. They were a lot of fun and really helped to introduce new ideas very well. The only thing I struggled with, were the explanations in the beginning of Week 5. But it wasn't a big problem and after watching some youtube videos I fully understood the concept.

par Ahmad A

12 juil. 2021

I'd like to let you know that this is your "Rest Station" in the specialization Comparted the last 2 courses, this one is much more simple, clear and easy to follow and solve assignments Great but simple course so don't expect advanced stuff about graphs, thus prefect entrance to graph world

par Altamash A

3 avr. 2021

It is without a doubt one of the best courses I have enrolled in Coursera. The video content, assignments and professors are truly remarkable. I am planning to take up more courses from HSE university and also thinking to pursue masters degree form there. Thank you all for this great course!

par 储忻

30 mai 2021

A great introduction to Graph Theory which is completely new to me. The material is explained very well. There is a lot of terminologies in this course but the power point at the end of the lecture does a good job of summarizing them. I highly recommended this course.

par Jessie A

29 sept. 2020

This course was awesome!! I have already learnt theoretical graph theory but these practical games and quizzes made me understand the concepts much more easier and made the study more fun!! Best way to learn the fundamentals of Graph Theory. Thank you.

par Nguyen D L

26 févr. 2021

I learned a lot in this course even though I was a hardware engineer by training. I took this course so that I can tutor my son in computer science.

I definitely will continue with all the remaining classes in the specialization.

par Matteo N A

11 déc. 2020

Great course and perfectly suitable if you are familiar with technical thinking, but don't know much about graph theory and want to get an overview in a short time

par Mohamed H I

12 oct. 2020

Great, informative courses. I liked that they are NOT focusing much on Python. I am more confident now with Graphs and its application

par Muhammad K S

4 oct. 2020

Excellent Course, It refreshed and renewed my concepts of graph theory. I would apply graph theory to solve computer science problems.

par noah a

24 nov. 2020

awesome course! But a lot more material needed on the last week of the course. (flow networks and stable matching)

par Digvijay D A

15 sept. 2020

It is very useful for me. The faculty was great and they gave understandable examples which were helpful to learn.

par Owais A

3 déc. 2020

Fantastic experience with it. Except with the last week and last week's instructor.

par Carmina B J

24 janv. 2022

Muy buen Curso, me gustaron muchos los ejercicios, bueno ejemplos de la vida real

par Ayrton C A d A

24 oct. 2020

The course is very good, it covers many concepts about graphs and algorithms.

par Ajay T

24 déc. 2020

Well designed. A quick refresher of the important graph theory concepts

par Shahad T

17 nov. 2021

It's an amazing course, I learned what's a Graph Theory.

par H S L V

19 janv. 2021

Buen curso para iniciar en teoría de gráficas.

par Antonio M M M

16 nov. 2020

excellent course, very good materials prepared

par Ahmed R

4 oct. 2020

Great Job but Graph is a a complex topic

par 121910309031 K P S

3 oct. 2020

good course to learn Graph Theory

par Payal K

23 août 2020

very interesting course