Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Graph Theory

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Graph Theory par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.5
étoiles
868 évaluations
194 avis

À propos du cours

We invite you to a fascinating journey into Graph Theory — an area which connects the elegance of painting and the rigor of mathematics; is simple, but not unsophisticated. Graph Theory gives us, both an easy way to pictorially represent many major mathematical results, and insights into the deep theories behind them. In this online course, among other intriguing applications, we will see how GPS systems find shortest routes, how engineers design integrated circuits, how biologists assemble genomes, why a political map can always be colored using a few colors. We will study Ramsey Theory which proves that in a large system, complete disorder is impossible! By the end of the course, we will implement an algorithm which finds an optimal assignment of students to schools. This algorithm, developed by David Gale and Lloyd S. Shapley, was later recognized by the conferral of Nobel Prize in Economics. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

Meilleurs avis

SU
27 févr. 2019

Appreciate the structure and the explanations with examples. The practice tool before every lesson not makes it fun to learn but also sets the student in the context and can anticipate the concept.

RH
16 nov. 2017

Was pretty fun and gave a good intro to graph theory. Definitely felt inspired to go deeper and understood the most basic proof ideas. The later lectures can spike in difficulty though. Very nice!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 191 Avis pour Introduction to Graph Theory

par Ivan Y C M

4 août 2020

very goo course

par 121910303051 V S T

19 déc. 2020

Well Explained

par 121910303007 S S A

11 janv. 2021

A very course

par HEIM T

10 oct. 2021

Excellent !

par 121910319060 g

10 janv. 2021

excellent

par 121910310046 M N

1 oct. 2020

EXCELLENT

par Vraj b b p

22 août 2020

Very good

par 121910313060 g

20 déc. 2020

nice..

par Jack

21 sept. 2020

great

par 121910319059 g

28 janv. 2021

good

par 121910304017 V K M

20 janv. 2021

good

par Yasaswini D

19 janv. 2021

good

par DWARAMPUDI H A R

16 janv. 2021

good

par ABHISHEK C

14 janv. 2021

Good

par 121910319015 B P R

11 janv. 2021

good

par Sasisrivundavilli

18 déc. 2020

good

par POLAVARAPU K P

5 déc. 2020

GOOD

par 121910309040 N A K

28 oct. 2020

Good

par APEXA M S

20 août 2020

G

o

o

g

par MODANI H

14 janv. 2021

fab

par PINNAMARAJU S V

11 janv. 2021

-

par Kevin M

16 août 2020

I feel that I received a fairly thorough overview of Graph Theory although, there were some topics missing I'd hoped to learn more about such as adjacency lists. Perhaps a topic such as that requires a level of understanding beyond an introductory course, however, so I'm not faulting the course for not including it.

The quizzes and exercises were fair, relevant and usually at least mildly interesting. Most of the topics are not difficult when illustrated with diagrams and, fortunately, there were plenty throughout the course. I do wish there were more assignments or questions (with answers) to provide practice at using the concepts which would really help provide a more lasting understanding of the material.

All instructors are Russian except one who is French. As a native English speaker, I had no major issues understanding any of them. Indeed, the Russians speak surprisingly clear and proper English the vast majority of the time.

My only significant complaint about this course is that I've come away feeling like I still have only a tenuous, at best, understanding of "Networks, Flows and Cuts." In fact, I still don't understand the rules or procedures of Cuts at all. In my opinion, this section was not presented at the same level of quality as all the other sections. Incidentally, this is the only section in this course taught by the French instructor.

Overall, a very good introduction to graph theory.

par carlos j u

30 nov. 2020

Theoretical concepts of graphs and networks very well explained, friendly and informative lecture notes, but insufficient treatment of concepts from a programmatic standpoint. They use Python and networkx to illustrate some concepts at the beginning, but the examples given are too simplistic and one only learns to use "a couple of methods" of a graph object with networkx.

Certainly a good course if you want to learn graph theory from scratch and how to use it to solve some interesting problems, using paper and pencil, but this is not your course if you want to learn by coding.

par Florian P

2 mai 2020

Things got a little bit messy in Week 5 of the course. The lecturer is very charming, but also seems like a hurricane of information at times. A few more illustrations or computing examples could help this. E.g., a step by step explanation of the Ford-Fulkerson algorithm would have helped me out a lot.

Overall a very good course which does a good job at teaching the fundamentals of graph theory and even giving an impression of what lies beyond.

par Ziad B

13 oct. 2018

Really cool course to take with very interesting exercises. I especially liked some of the puzzles at the beginning of topics. I thought that the week 5 material needed some more concrete examples. It was presented in the abstract straight away. However, don't let that discourage you from taking the course. You may simply need to access the odd Youtube video to supplement the material presented here.