Chevron Left
Retour à Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design par Google

4.8
étoiles
48,494 évaluations

À propos du cours

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define the field of UX and explain why it’s important for consumers and businesses. - Understand foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, and equity-focused design. - Identify the factors that contribute to great user experience design. - Review common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. - Explore job opportunities and career paths within the field of user experience. - Explain why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work. - Describe common UX research methods. - Identify and account for biases in UX research....

Meilleurs avis

AA

19 août 2022

It's a wonderful course that I've ever taken. I'm being proud of me that I've elected this particular course.

The way of taking their challenges (or tests) on a weekly basis had impressed me a lot.

UK

26 mars 2022

It was so cool to learn new skills online and it was so understandable and thankfull to Google team, Courseera and the technology that helped people like me to get new skills flew in the blood stream.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 9,776 Avis pour Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

par Jozz G

8 sept. 2022

What a journey this has been! I remember that when I signed up for the course, I had no idea about everything that the world of UX involved. I just knew that it was an area where I could develop skills that I already had. The more I advanced, the more I began to be interested and passionate about each of the topics I saw, especially those related to accessibility. I think it is an area in which I see myself working and that motivates me to continue with the courses that follow. I am very grateful that there was always a lot of repetition in different formats (video, readings and tests) to make everything clearer. I am very excited to continue on this path and I thank all the mentors who worked to make this course possible! :)

par Aisana S

20 juin 2021

this is just an amazing course! it exceeded all my expectations.I have already taken other courses on ux, but the course from Google does not compare with anything! it is the best and most up-to-date. I'm really glad I found it. an incredible amount of useful information! I heard great stories from the lecturers and the lecturers themselves are very cool. excellent, up-to-date and real-life portfolio examples - all at the highest level. great job, Google! I liked the part of the course about design sprints and the part about personal websites. it was difficult in the segment about the personal brand, I will definitely return to the study of the fourth week. thank you guys! I'm moving on to the next second year!

par Lisa D L

24 mars 2021

This course gave me a thorough understanding of the field of UX (jobs, companies, career advice). I really enjoyed the videos from those working in the field of UX explaining how they landed in the field. Now I have a better understanding of concepts such as universal, inclusive, and equity-focused design. This course gave me a solid foundation for understanding what UX is, how it works, the tools that are used and their advantages. The Readings were quick reads and super informative. I've been working in UX for a few years, but after this course, I feel more knowledgeable about the field. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to gain a thorough understanding of the field to build on for future courses!

par Thane Z O K T Z O

17 août 2022

When I started attending the course, I didn't know what it was. I didn't know for sure until I passed the first week, but gradually I found my true passion. In the first week, there were so many lessons, so I was very worried about whether the trip would end. In the second week, I started to see things that were interesting and slowly became happy. I like it because the discussions are like what I see with friends. Coaches are also loving and desirable. The most difficult is the quiz of last week. I wanted to get full marks, but I did not get more than (80) every time I answered, so I had to answer 3 times with difficulty, and then I got 100 marks. Anyway, for me, it has brought me a lot of happy memories.

par Anshu P

27 juin 2021

I absolutely LOVED the course as it is really well structured and well-guided! It introduces you step-by-step not just to learning 'user experience' but a guide to how to go about it - from building portfolio, personal brand and networking. The activities and assignments are really helpful that helps you to remember the topics and and follow along for building the presence and starting out. All of those steps are really important and it is good to start with those first as you can then only focus on creating later on! I was concerned with some reviews saying that the portfolio should have been a part of a later course, but I disagree. I love how well-structured it is and absolutely fantastic to begin with!

par Xenia K

19 sept. 2021

I am delighted with the course! When I just started to study, I was very afraid, doubted that I would be able to take the course at all and I had a big problem - I understand very poorly in English. I promised myself that I would just leave the course if it didn't work out and I would just try to study. But then I passed the test of the first week, then the second and noticed that I already understand quite well. The course is superbly designed! All information is structured, templates and examples are attached. The speakers are very nice people who are pleasant to listen to and learn from them! Thank you so much! With great desire I want to cross over to the next course and go to the end!

par Daniel O

6 sept. 2022

Firstly, I'm really excited to be a part of this program. It has been a really fun ride so far. I was able to learn a lot and there were many things that piqued my interest and helped boost my enthusiasm for this field

I really enjoyed learning about the differents fields available in UX and the various roles an entry level designer would have to fulfill. I also really enjoyed learning about User research and how crucial it is to the UX design process.

I didnt find anything diffcult, but I will say that designs sprints and retrospectives aren't the easiest things in the world to understand though.

I'm really happy to have completed the first course and I can't wait to dive into the next one.

par Sarah M

25 janv. 2022

As someone completely new to this material, I found the information to be easily digestible, well organized, and exciting to learn. I believe it would be useful to add a feature to allow you to capture notes from readings and an option to exit the small video player when scrolling down on the video pages. Even though I didn't need to read the video transcripts for accessibility reasons, I still found it useful to read them while adding to my handwritten notes and wished that I had the option to exit out of the small video player in the bottom right-hand corner of the screen at certain times. Overall, it was a great introduction, and I am ready to continue on with the program!

par Harriet H

5 juin 2021

What a great course! I really enjoyed it. The only gripe I have is that in the impostor syndrome section, I would have liked to see more variety in the experiences shared. There was a young man in the beginning who emigrated from the D.R., who was self-taught and made his way up to working at Google. A lot of the portfolio examples were from people who went to really great colleges like SCAD and Carnegie Mellon. Having a little more representation of people who have taken less traditional paths and made it to Google would be uplifting to people in this course, since it seems like everyone who works as a designer at Google went to Carnegie Mellon, Stanford, or SCAD.

par Eniola K

16 août 2022

Lovely, insightful and concise. Breaking the tutorials into short chunks that ultimately are more effective than a large expanse that can get quite monotonous overtime.

I also like the fact that I can sign in on my laptop and phone at the same time. This way, I am able to minimize data usage (by using my phone for the videos) and using my laptop for the survey, quizzes and tests.

The feature that saves my progress (even to where I stopped in a video) is great. The in-video questions are equally needed, as they serve to ensure that I am making the most of my videos (I have been distracted a few times; this helped bring my mind back).

Overall, the UX is one to die for.

par Shaza D

28 avr. 2022

The whole course was so interesting for me; it was so fruitful and I benefited a lot not just as a UX designer in training, but as a human who wants to be the best version of herself. The most exciting part for me was when I started creating my portfolio, creating a personal brand and online presence. For me, It was more than just a course, it's a life changing course. All the activities were fun, and I got to learn a lot of things some of them I had no idea existed, and some others I knew but never understood until I took this course.

I'd like to thank Google from the bottom of my heart, and the amazing team for taking time to create such an amazing course.

par Uwakmfon E

21 nov. 2022

Violaa, I had a really great time going through the foundations of UX. From understanding what UX means, to who a UX Designer is and how they think, to types of UX designers and their roles, UX colleagues and roles of entry-level UX designer.

Where a UX desinger can work and who is a USER. I learned about the design thinking phases and importance of equity focused design. Importance of design sprint was among as well as assistive technology(AT), how to overcome different types of bias to mention a few.

The most important take out from course one is how to empathize, and think like the user, thereby placing the user at the core of your everyday design.

par Patricia

28 août 2021

Thanks to Coursera and Google for this amazing course.

Every part was developed in a coherent and easy to follow way. Understandable course with clear insights.

It's not just a UX course, but it is UX itself. I found that is actually focused on what the student needs to know. They teach theory, practical cases, stories from real people, and how to boost your professional life.

It took me more than 4 weeks to finish it, but that was because I am the type of person who likes to recap and check details.

I highly recommend this course for all of you - who are checking the review section-.

Hare Krishna and my best wishes to the instructors & students.

par Наталья О

3 août 2022

It was educational enough. At the very beginning of the course, it seemed to me that it would be a little boring, since I was expecting practical examples and assignments. I thought theory was not for me. But, as it turned out later, I didn’t know much from what I learned in this course, and this information is very useful and informative. This information helped me understand what I really want and can expect from this course and I realized that I can apply this knowledge in my life and work right now. The analysis of the ultimate goal and the collection of information is an integral factor in any successful project.T Thank you so much!

par Maria A B

4 janv. 2023

I recommend this course to people who are considering moving to a UX role because it covers all the fundamentals of this profession in a very understandable way. Also, it gives important tools for product owners/ business analysts to take into account during the creation and improvement of IT products, centering our attention on the final user. Thank you for bringing the accessibility and assistive technology topics to the table because sometimes those are topics that are skipped during the Product development life cycle and they are very important if we want to include users with different skills and characteristics to our experience.

par Melissa B

12 déc. 2021

Great intro to the field of UX Design. The instructor was very clear, easy to understand and informational. The course is definitely intended to be for people with no working knowledge of UX Design. I like that everything is broken down into bite sized chunks. Even if I only had 30 minutes, I was able to get through a lecture and reading and feel like I was still accomplishing something and pushing forward even during a busy week. Highly recommend for anyone even considering the field of UX Design. You don't have to commit to the full certificate so if you find it isn't for you, no problem. Excited to get started on the second course!

par Shane J P

8 juin 2022

What an outstanding learning experience it has been! The novel notion of UX Design is much more clearer than what it was prior to completing the course.

Next, I mosy admit that eventhough, the overall length and breadth of the context seemed never-ending at times, it was well worth the investment. The team of Google experts are second-to-none.

Each and everyone of the presenters brought a measure of energy that is to be envied. I look forward to the second course "Start the UX Desig Process: Empathize, Define, and Ideate" with eagerness and great anticipation!

Thank you all. Perhaps, I shall see you again in the next course.

par Joe M

16 mai 2022

The course was good. I enjoyed the content and instructor videos. I wished I was better matched with peers though for my reviews, or was able to dialog a bit with them on the reason for their comments or grades. I submitted my project for peer reveiw and it was quite apparent that the native language of the peers who graded me was not English nor were they able to synthesize all of the parts of my project to see how they fit together. I had all of the requirements in the project, but got downgraded by my peers because of their lack of understanding. It will be frustating to continue if I am reviewed by more peers like this.

par Jodi V

15 avr. 2021

I loved it. I already knew some of the information, but hearing it again from a different company from company employees in the industry is refreshing and interesting.

I feel inspired to continue. I can feel what Google's culture and brand may be like. It's a positive experience.

From a technical view, I love the multiple methods used in each week's work. I love the videos with transcripts, available to be slowed down or sped up. I like the questions and readings. The only thing that was a little off is the interaction between peers. Some people don't post much substance or reply.

I can only dream to work at Google one day.

par Elena M P

25 févr. 2022

Had a really pleasant experience learning in a such well planned course structure. Every single explanation was so well thought and organised, that now I feel I could easily explain ux concepts to non-ux designers. I am grateful I had the chance to actively participate in the discussion forums, see others' work and receive feedback from peers. Feeling even more grateful I switched career to UX, field that gives me the entire freedom to combine passion with work. Overall, I really appreciate the foundation I received throughout this first course and can't wait to get to the finish line of this program! Thank you, Google.

par Kaitlyn A

12 juil. 2022

I feel like I am learning a lot! I just finished the first course, and although I see complaints about this not being in depth enough, I couldnt disagee more. The entire first course is only an introduction, and it does a great job at that. I now know exactly what it means to be a UX designer, and what a typical day might look like. Additionally, I also feel that I have learned what TYPE of person it takes to be a great UX designer, and exactly how that fits in my life. EXELLENT course, and I cannot wait to get started on the next courses, so that I can begin to learn the skills and build my portfolio. Thanks Google!

par mister s

16 juin 2022

The course is very detailed and interesting. I enjoyed the most the time dedicated to explain the different directions in this profession.

Usually, taking a course you won't hear about all the possibilities and different directions you have in this field. You will jump straight to the material without clear understanding what you are going to do or what part you are going to take while performing your job. In this course we had great examples not only for all the possibilities but also the difference of those possibilities in large and small companies. Thank you so much for a great opportunity to take this course.

par Estefania

11 avr. 2021

Is the first time I feel that I have really learned and enjoyed a course. It seemed important to me to solve each proposed activity even those that were not necessary to complete. I liked that through the course the experiences of different Ux designers were shared, it made the experience within the course nicer and also, gives me an idea of the type of job I'll have when I become a Ux designer. I appreciate that over the weeks, websites about design inspirations were shared. Now, I signed up in accounts where I start following blogs and people who works as designer, it'll help me to have more skills and contacts.

par kanika s

27 août 2022

I was a bit skeptical about the learning outcome of this course, but the course is outstanding, and the instructor's insights are very inspiring and thought-provoking. I learned a lot about the importance of use-centering design and the types of biases we can have as human beings towards various things and how to overcome them. If you are passionate about the user-centered design approach, it's a must-take course. The course not only helped me to learn the basics but also taught me the importance of being an empathetic and active listener. I am looking forward to taking other courses and enhancing my learning.

par Kyrsten K

26 août 2021

This course is for real. It's challenging but not overwhelming. I did all the exercises, posts and readings to the best of my ability. One could coast through, clicking assignments as complete but far less would be learned or accomplished. It's an excellent introduction to the field of UX design. It asks students to begin some of the most intimidating aspects of any career up-front: networking, defining your brand and creating an online presence. The Googlers are encouraging, personable and inspiring. If this is what UX designers are like, they are the kind of people with whom I'd like to spend my work-life.