Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
étoiles
1,130 évaluations
470 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB
6 févr. 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
16 juil. 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

451 - 462 sur 462 Avis pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Marjolein D

18 déc. 2015

Good videos but strucural info and help. Unfortunately , for me it wasn´t very exciting or motivating and perhaps that is because of my own interests.

par Monica B C

22 mai 2020

Yo envío mis trabajos, pero dice que estoy atrasada y no se como revisar el porque del atraso. Necesito ayuda. Gracias

par Eddie M

21 déc. 2015

The last two weeks of this course held great information. However, the first three weeks seemed to lack focus.

par Mogeeb A R M

3 févr. 2020

Nice course for writers in the start of their career, specially those intending to write for children.

par Ana O

3 sept. 2015

I enjoyed the course but I would prefered it to be longer. I found the second part more useful.

par Annabelle k l

26 oct. 2015

Its intresting but often feels repetitive and more like advertising.

par Thomasybruce

8 sept. 2015

The interviews and course discussion are invaluable in this course.

par Amy

24 mars 2016

Pretty basi

par STEPHEN E

9 oct. 2016

Very generic advice although the interviews with children's writers were illuminating and helpful. The marking system was inaccurate, for example it deducted marks for submitting an assignment over word count when it wasn't! Good, solid advice about setting character, scene and place and ideas to help you out of writer's block. The two main presenters were very knowledgeable and it was pitched to an international audience. Some of the activities were repetitious but I guess the craft of writing is but there was a sense of the course tapering away at the end with a proposal letter to a publisher with very little exemplar material being provided to assist.

par Maureen M

1 mai 2021

I really enjoyed this course and the others I have taken through Coursera as well, but I am frustrated with the marking system! Some peers don’t fully understand the criteria or they are scammers, give 0% and tell you to take their English as a second language course. The system should figure out how to flag these people somehow. If I got 100% from one and a 0% from another that should tell you something.

par Mehdiya a

19 mai 2020

I'm thankful for their effort but it said I didn't submitted my assignment and the peers reviewed it and it said all of them I got 0 and not passed

par Deleted A

13 août 2020

Lot of trouble in submission of assignment