Chevron Left
Retour à Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest par Commonwealth Education Trust

4.7
872 notes
336 avis

À propos du cours

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Meilleurs avis

DB

Feb 07, 2016

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO

Jul 17, 2017

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 328 Examens pour Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

par Mamotheba M

May 11, 2017

I am finding this course helpful. The presentations are simple and easy to follow

par Lianne

Jul 13, 2017

Very fun, and interesting. Only thing that was lacklustre for me was the peer-feedback. I gave a lot of specific feedback and didn't really get anything back. Other than that, awesome.

par Dorothy E

Jan 14, 2017

Great course to learn the basics of writing and to get a broader view on what i means to be an author of children's fiction.

par Hanaa A

Sep 13, 2015

I love this course. I learned a lot. It ignited my passion for writing again.

par Nguyễn M T

Nov 10, 2015

Great, this course upgraded my view.

par Alexandra L

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very helpful course, as well as entertaining.

par Luis F d C C G

Mar 01, 2016

This course was very nice, its objectives were clear and it gave a good panorama of the writing experience. The interviews with writers were interesting and some tips about editing and publishing were really valuable.

par CLauder

Oct 04, 2015

I'm learning to write a book which is great.

par Phillip K

Aug 29, 2015

It's perfect for teach beginning Children's book writers how to start writing

par Quenntis A

Mar 28, 2017

I found the course to be a very good introduction and review for beginner writers and also experienced writers who just need a refresher of sorts. Comments from peers are the most helpful and motivational aspect of the course.

par Angélica V

Apr 22, 2016

One of my favorites parts of all the course, was the interview with the playwright. The course is about guiding the participants, or those who want to start to write, with the most important and necessary advices. In addition, the profesor wants to make us understand that writting is more than just a profession: it's passion, and the most effective way of see that point is by hearing a writter who feels that way about litterature active and also pasive.

par Safen R

Jun 02, 2016

A very introductory course that helps in getting an idea on how to write for young readers. I found it quite useful.

par PASCAL D

Sep 05, 2015

interesting and clear !

For all levels of English

Good experience

par Johana T M K

Aug 24, 2015

It was good tips. it has really interesting interviews. It was been really positive experience and encouraging to keep writing.

par Martin P

Sep 07, 2015

The general advice given is very good and useful, and the section

par Julia S

Nov 18, 2015

Wonderful to see and hear so many different authors giving advice and being able to learn from them. The instructors were well spoken and neatly organized or an online audience. Definitely a treat for the unpublished and aspiring authors. New tips for old dogs and pups. You can have others review your writing style and format. The only problems you may run into might be the students submitting for review.

par Geetanjali

Oct 06, 2015

This is a really nice course, it has actually help me grow in the way i write a story! There are many things i am taking away, key tips and suggestions. One thig that could be improved in this course was the assesment, noone has assesed my work becase of which my course it said to be incomplete. That could change, otherwise AWSOME!!!!

par Rhiannon D

Feb 18, 2016

Very simplistic in places and preaches their style as if it is the only way sometimes too. However it's a good grounding in the basics and there are some useful exercises.

par Cecilia A

May 09, 2016

This course has some very distinct and informative material which was terrific for learning about writing for young readers. I particularly found Maria Gill's modules very informative, encouraging and well presented.

What I found REALLY disheartening, was that we as students (who aren't qualified and at times, have questionable English literacy skills), were the ones who were given the task of assessing all of the assessments in this course. I was really hoping for feedback from the industry experienced course creators :( . The other thing that was frustrating is that 'word count' was a criteria. Some students were brutal in their grading because one was over the word count by a few words, so be aware of that, if you are going to undertake this 'course'.

This is not so much a course which leads to some sort of exam or qualification (dictionary.cambridge.org) but an independent information acquirement experience.

I learnt quite a lot about writing and publishing and would encourage you to do this course, as it does contain some great information and tips, just be aware that grading is based on newbies like us and sometimes the feedback can be a bit disheartening but just persevere and you will learn lots. These people really know what they are talking about.

par Hasan F

Dec 16, 2015

A great tool for beginner writes, but not very good at showing you how to write SPECIFICALLY for children.

par Shirley J

Sep 15, 2017

This course is incredibly helpful on many levels. The advice given from the course instructors and guest instructors is very good.

par Em

Sep 14, 2017

Great course that develops your confidence on book writing. Well-tailored with regard to the needs of a beginner writer, showing clearly what editing, proofreading and publishing involves and the various existing types. It was such an opportunity to know more on writing and especially on how to approach publishers and get your book published.

par Nazanin M

Aug 16, 2016

Loved this course! I just wished there was a better system for peer reviews, because I couldn't get any helpful tips or feedbackthrough them.

par Ejikeme J O

Aug 14, 2016

I Love this Course. It challenges me to write. It makes me believe I can be a good writer, may be an author.

Thank you Commonwealth Education Trust Team.

par Ranjeeta R

Jan 04, 2018

Loved the course! It would have been perfect if along with peer reviews we could have been reviewed by famous writers as well!