Chevron Left
Retour à Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
1,242 évaluations
305 avis

À propos du cours

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Meilleurs avis

PD
7 déc. 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

MT
16 nov. 2021

Professor Barry is skilled and compassionate in teaching the writing course. He's very clear with how he discuss concepts and make learning easier. And he's got a good taste in good sentences.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 311 Avis pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

par Rebecca D

17 sept. 2020

Patrick Barry is a really engaging instructor. This is a well-planned course with immediately applicable advice. Would highly recommend to people in all professions.

par Justyna B

14 sept. 2020

I am just going to say this - I have update both my LinkedIn AND Tinder profile bio based on this course. This is how life relevant it is. Must-have under your belt!

par Daniel L

11 déc. 2021

Mr Barry is a captivating educator. Have enjoyed his content, though also enjoyed seeing him stand in front of his classes and inspire them. All the best to you.

par CAROLINA A V

23 août 2020

It is extremely useful. Now I feel I identify better when my writing is good or bad. It is helpful from writing scientific papers to writing quick text messages

par Tam A

19 déc. 2020

It's an amazing course [but time consuming] for both beginner writers like me and writers who might want to check on why they are not yet unique in their work

par Grace G

24 oct. 2020

The course was concise and easy to learn. The different samples gives a better view of the correct word choices and order. It is not a typical grammar class.

par Trần T V

22 nov. 2020

I'm pleased with the skills and knowledge in this course. I can learn some tip for writing my resume, my essay, my mail and apply it to be more professional

par Dina H

4 sept. 2021

One of the best courses I have ever experienced. I would not mind taking another course, with this professor. Thank you, Mr. Barry for an awesome course.

par Aida G

13 oct. 2020

This course was really insightful to me. I've got a lot of useful takeaways that I'll apply daily. Thanks to Professor Barry for his time and dedication.

par matias f d

4 sept. 2021

me encanto la dinamica de enseñanza y la facilidad de poder desarrollarla a tu tiempo logrando completar los trabajos en el tiempo que mas me acomodaba.

par Romeo T

16 juin 2020

I recommend this course to anyone struggling with grammar and writing blocks—excellent delivery by Professor Barry and a well put together curriculum.

par Evan R

15 juin 2020

This course provides you with practical, memorable truisms that strengthen your ability to effectively communicate to an audience or decision-maker.

par sanchit g

30 juil. 2020

it was good. The professor way of explanation and material is good. Waiting for the other parts of the specialisation to give a final review.

par Jorge G

10 juil. 2020

Succinct but comprehensive. The teaching methods and course structure made going through the content an enjoyable and rewarding endeavor.

par Awilda M

10 juil. 2021

Very informative. I believe that everyone, no matter their background or field of study, can benefit from this course. Thank you so much.

par Tatiana S

9 avr. 2021

Great course! as a philologist, I'm already familiar with most of the concepts, but I still found great food for thought in this course.

par Maria C

13 oct. 2020

Excelent structure of the course, nice readings, videos, quices. It has been very useful for me. I have applied it since the first week.

par Shreya N U

16 août 2020

It's absolutely perfect! This course is probably one of the few MOOCs I've come across that are so beautifully crafted for its audience!

par Gabriel P

22 janv. 2021

Professor Barry packs a lot of great writing concepts into this course. He is entertaining as well as insightful about good writing.

par RJ

29 oct. 2020

I learned a whole lot about legal writing. Prof. Barry taught a lot of tools and techniques that I will surely use as a legal writer.

par joyce n

12 févr. 2021

This was an exceptional course—content, structure, and delivery were all fantastic. I look forward to the next course in the series.

par Linh D

13 juil. 2021

An amazing one for non-native speakers like me. Really interesting. An amazing lecturer with his good teaching methods and books.

par Achuyat S J

20 juil. 2020

This course was nicely designed and I would like to thank the instructor for making it interesting, participating and motivating.

par Dr. S M

16 juin 2020

The course has been awesome; so well designed and conducted with good number of examples, references, and supplementary readings.

par Victor O

28 juin 2021

This course improved my editing skills massively. My favorite topic would be the rule of three. Thank you for this opportunity.