Chevron Left
Retour à Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
1,255 évaluations
308 avis

À propos du cours

This course will teach you how to use your written words to become more persuasive. You’ll learn creative ways to use syntax, effective techniques for telling stories, and a clever method for arranging a complex series of information. You’ll also get a chance to both professionalize your use of punctuation and add a bit of style and sophistication to how you craft everything from sentences to slogans. In addition, you’ll get access to a wide range of books and other resources you can use even after you finish the course. These include (1) the readings and exercises provided to the students who have taken the in-person version of this course at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago; (2) two digital libraries of excellent writing from a diverse collection of journalists, scientists, novelists, poets, historians, and entrepreneurs; and (3) a monthly “Good Sentences” email. Social media has only accelerated the ways in which we all must learn to use our writing to connect, compete, and create—sometimes all at once. So join us for this first course in a four-part series and experience the many benefits, both personal and professional, of becoming “good with words.”...

Meilleurs avis

PD
7 déc. 2021

It is an excellent course that offers deep insights into the importance of words, it's usage in professional writing, and the impact it makes. I've learnt a lot from the course. Thank you Coursera.

SS
1 juil. 2020

Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Excellent teaching and excellent material. Everyone can improve their professionalism by taking Professor Barry's writing on course, it's not just for lawyers.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 314 Avis pour Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order

par Evangel R E

15 oct. 2020

I did not regret joining this course. It has opened a lot errors in grammar and improved my writing to its potential. Thank you professor Patrick Barry for being our mentor throughout the whole 4 weeks.

par Deborah O N

7 nov. 2020

I definitely recommend this course to you - whether you are a professional or a high school student - who wants to feel more confident about your writing and your writing style.

par Chia-Yin L

13 juil. 2021

It was a great course that made me get better at writing. All of the materials were useful, and helpful.

par Sonia S K

9 juil. 2020

This course introduced me to some new ideas and made me aware that what I have been using all this time have been some efficient writing techniques. I loved the sessions 'notes on nuance' and 'punctuation and professionalism'.

par Farras M R

26 mai 2021

If only the content hadn't been this great, I wouldn't have gave it a 3 star because the structure of the course is so confusing for starters. You'll get the dynamics as you progress tho overall really nice and worth the purchase

par Jon S

12 déc. 2020

There is alot of extra information that you can read and it makes for an interesting class. But the assignments are useless. There could be better assignments where you actually get graded on a rubric not just class discussions.

par Jo L

22 déc. 2020

Overall, I liked the pacing and how the concepts were taught and illustrated. Some of the questions in the quizzes weren't relevant to the concept taught, but overall, I liked the content of this course.

par Hang

27 sept. 2020

it was a good one.

par ENA S

22 févr. 2021

I only signed up to audit this course. Why am I being charged and there is no number to call? I hope this reaches you.

par Sharon E

6 sept. 2021

Just posts several resources. Not teaching.

par Nirmala M

2 janv. 2022

I got on to this course to improve my writing. This first course totally met my expectations; the structure of the course in which the weekly core topic together with other segments such as Punctuation and Professional, Nuances, Good Sentences, delivered me to the next level of writing better through the great teaching by Prof Barry. The various teach media used - the teach videos, Prof Barry's reference books and many useful links for readings, the polls and quizzes was just right and effective. The sharing of writings by great writers all along the course exposed me to what great writing is. Thank you, Prof. Barry.

par Barbara B

2 mai 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I liked the pace and the material. The teacher was very interesting, thought-provoking, and entertaining in a good way, which kept the course flowing at a good pace. The only issue I had was at the beginning when I didn't know how the structure of the course worked. So nothing to do with content, but course structure. This is kind of stupid on my part, but I listened to all of the videos in Week 1. It was a lot of material and I couldn't figure out how the course was organized. This took me hours. So perhaps I could suggest a short tutorial on how to take the course.

par DANIELLE D

11 févr. 2021

I really enjoyed the Writing and Editing: Word Choice and Word Order, by Patrick Barry.

I really enjoyed the reading materials, discussion boards and video lectures that he used to help drive specific writing points, communicate grammar efficiently, and to use our creativity to "write sentences that nobody else could write".

These skills can apply to any career to help when driving a point, or expressing a view, and sharing our opinions in a streamlined and authentic way. I also enjoyed cover letter suggestions for diversity and standout statements that can help reel in any suiters.

par Naw J E H

7 sept. 2021

I really want to appreciate and thank Professor Barry for his wonderful lessons. His lessons help me understand how to use words effectively in order to create attractive sentences. I greatly enjoyed the videos of him lecturing in his classes. I am also grateful for getting access to a wide range of books and other resources which are very valuable. By effectively studying Professor Barry’s lessons, I am starting to gain confidence in writing. I have learned a lot from Course 1 and now I am so excited to continue Course 2 of Good with Words: Writing and Editing Specialization.

par Jeff G

16 sept. 2021

After five decades of writing one would have thought that there might have been a few things in this course that I had already learned, or didn't need to know. But, that wasn't true even an iota. I relished every moment of every lesson, from contemplating the provocative question, "What value am I bringing to the reader?" to exploring the value of the particular in great writing. One total surprise...I learned to love learning grammar. How did that happen?!?

par Veronika J

22 janv. 2021

Amazing course with lots of useful information! It is simple, well structured, and easy to follow. Professor Barry was born to be a teacher. His patient teaching and his clear explanations are a true inspiration not just for students but for other teachers as well. I liked that he kept the videos short, yet detailed enough to catch my attention. I even used some of the techniques presented in this course for one of my recent lectures.

par Fatiha R

10 déc. 2020

Great class on writing with helpful observations on different fields of writing and general good habits. There were also great sections on grammar where I learned new things that will be very useful to crafting better sentences and prose.

Another note, I really loved the diversity and range of the examples the instructor, Patrick Barry, uses. If you pay attention you might learn some insights about life too!

par Eduardo J K

29 nov. 2020

O curso é incrível. Conteúdo interessante, apresentado de forma didática e leve. O professor é didático e engajado. Apesar de ser dedicado a alunos do curso de Direito da Universidade de Michigan, pode ser aplicado a qualquer área do conhecimento. As dicas sobre o uso da língua inglesa são muito boas e proveitosas. Recomendo este curso para todos(as) que desejam escrever de forma persuasiva.

par Swasti D

31 janv. 2021

This is a wonderful course. I took this up out of curiosity, in order to figure out how much better can I write? I already considered myself a good writer. But, Professor Barry's course is designed to teach at ALL levels. I have started looking at words with new eyes. Highly recommend this course to ALL, but especially those who think that they are already good with words!

par Fernandes M

23 avr. 2021

I loved it; Professor Barry is my idea of what a teacher should be - entertaining, interesting, caters to every age group.

The course made me re-think a lot of my writing, and how I want to go forward making the transition from technical writing to content writing.

Best part is I've already started using much of what I've learnt in writing work for others.

par Amber P

14 janv. 2021

This is a great course for writers at every level! I'm a graduate student in the humanities, so of course I had fairly decent writing skills already, but this gave me a much needed little boost in skill and motivation. Try it, whether you're a non-native speaker who wants to learn the basics, or a polished writer who just wants a few more tips and hints!

par Angela S B

19 janv. 2022

I enjoy taking classes that challenge you. Writing and Editing is the type of class you will scream at your computer but determining it was not going to beat me I met the challenge and passed with a 90. If you need a class to kick start your skills, challenge your personal growth and take this class.

par Nicole M

6 avr. 2021

I enjoyed Professor Barry in this course. He was very good at explaining the information and used great examples. I also liked the supplementary materials provided with the course. Combined together will aid any individual in increasing their writing skills to be more effective and efficient.

par Ramnath S K

11 janv. 2021

Absolutely wonderful and engaging course on Improving one's command over the ENGLISH LANGUAGE - written in particular. I was totally bowled over by the erudition, the quizzes, the resources, and the lectures. The instructor was nonpareil. I wished I had done this during my halcyon years.

par Marilyn R

4 mars 2021

I am encouraged to read more and look for sentences I like. I can dissect these sentences and compare them to the lectures on what makes a good sentence. The Resource Library has an abundance of books and articles available to students that is worth more than the price of the course.