Chevron Left
Retour à Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals par Université de Virginie

4.7
étoiles
2,352 évaluations
717 avis

À propos du cours

Not so long ago, the job of product manager was about assessing market data, creating requirements, and managing the hand-off to sales/marketing. Maybe you’d talk to a customer somewhere in there and they’d tell you what features they wanted. But companies that manage product that way are dying. Being a product person today is a new game, and product managers are at the center of it. Today, particularly if your product is mostly digital, you might update it several times a day. Massive troves of data are available for making decisions and, at the same time, deep insights into customer motivation and experience are more important than ever. The job of the modern product manager is to charter a direction and create a successful working environment for all the actors involved in product success. It’s not a simple job or an easy job, but it is a meaningful job where you’ll be learning all the time. This course will help you along your learning journey and prepare you with the skills and perspective you need to: Create the actionable focus to successfully manage your product (week 1) Focus your work using modern product management methods (week 2) Manage new products and explore new product ideas (week 3) Manage and amplify existing products (week 4) This course is ideal for current product or general managers interested in today's modern product management methods. This course was developed with the generous support of the Batten Institute at UVA’s Darden School of Business. The Batten Institute’s mission is to improve the world through entrepreneurship and innovation: www.batteninstitute.org....

Meilleurs avis

RA

Feb 16, 2020

The course delievers a lot of knowledge, strategy and tools for product managers. You will finish the course with many ideas and tools to implement and have more success in your company. Great course!

LK

Jun 25, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 718 Avis pour Digital Product Management: Modern Fundamentals

par Aditya D

Mar 31, 2019

I felt like I went from only a vague understanding of what it means to be a product manager to a much more focussed view of what this role entails, common best practices, experiences from other product managers, etc. This course was great for helping me decide if I wanted to pursue Product Management as the next stage in my career seriously or not, and I am glad to say that I am hooked and when I become a successful product manager this course would have been instrumental in retrospect.

par Devesh V

Jul 19, 2017

Too much subjective information. Little info about tools, models and techniques. Overall ok

par Shiv A

May 14, 2019

I've been a Product Manager for a little over a year now, and have been working in the digital sector for over two. This is a really great course, consolidated much of my existing Product Management knowledge and built on other areas where I was lacking. I have taken notes to use as my 'cheat sheets' in my day to day Product Management to ensure I don't forget to implement things from it. Recommend!

par Riccardo M

May 06, 2020

The course is interesting indeed, but lot of reviews here are right in pointing out that there are also some problems that could be addressed. TO be more specific 1) Lot of content and not enough depth, so lot of topics get only surfaced and not fully explained and understood: 2) This idea of the teacher to scribble/write on top of the slides while explaining is not the best, at least for me. The final slides are very hard to read, and the original slides are not enough cause they missed annotations; 3) More practical examples would have been beneficials

par Saklen I D

Sep 02, 2019

it was mentioned that the course is for free but later after completion they are asking for money for certificate

par Luke K

Jun 25, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much! This course helped me ground myself in some of the core principles of product management and I'm confident that I will take what I've learned and put it into practice.

par Claudia V

Mar 05, 2019

Overall it was a great course, even as an experienced technologist I liked reviewing some of these topics or hearing different takes on them. It's very hard to give due diligence to data science and analytics topics in 5 minute videos. I found the first part of week 4 hard to get through, it was just not as engaging as week 1 and week 2.

par Nir A

Mar 14, 2019

I wish there was an exercise and not just quizzes.

par ABHINIT P

Apr 10, 2018

The course was very practical in its approach with a lot of good sessions with industry practitioners. Also, I learnt a lot of industry & function-specific lingo, tools and frameworks that will help with a structures approach to product management. Alex as a faculty comes across as very friendly and humorous. However, I felt he could have made his lectures a little more structured rather than impromptu. All in all, the course serves as a great primer to product management and one needs to apply the concepts learnt in practice to gain fully from the course.

par Varun D

Dec 28, 2018

The first module was great, from there on a lot of the meat of the course is similar to Agile, but just packaged differently. They are a few noisy question in the MCQ too. It would be better value for money at a lower price point

par Vishesh A

Sep 27, 2019

The course is just amazing. Thanks Alex for a great course. I am now motivated to learn more about PM roles. If you are interested in this course you can go through the course review -

1. Course is addictive and contains a comprehensive introduction to core principles and exciting frameworks/methods used in Product Management.

2. Most interesting part is when the real Product Managers- Nir Eyal , David Chait, David Bland, Tamara Carleton, Ph.D., Eric Qi Dong ,Kiran Kadambi, Andrew Kritzer, Jim Rose , Greg Cohen and Nastia Root, talk about how they applied those core principles and frameworks in their use cases. Thanks everyone.

3. The major part of this course focusses on the importance of achieving customer desirability through agile methodologies.

4. Teaches some great frameworks such as Business Model Canvas, Hook Framework and many others. I really loved the idea of Hook Framework, Lean Startup and Corporate Innovation Pipeline.

5. Touches upon the importance of Design Thinking in developing great processes for identifying personas, problems, and alternatives.

par Cole S

Sep 24, 2018

Great course, very educational and full of helpful information. The only thing that would benefit me would be some sort of step by step example of running a project from beginning to end. There are plenty of examples in the course on how to perform specific methodologies, but by the end I was really hoping for a big picture example of one project going through the whole process and using each tool along the way. Aside from that, an amazing course!

par Saurabh G

May 22, 2020

It was a really wonderful and structured course for Product Managers. There are many techniques which I didn't know and can use now to my product. Recommended course for all type of Product Managers.

par Jose A

May 04, 2020

The course materials and content were very good. Much better than I expected, even from UVA. The facilitator and guest interviewees were generally very good to excellent and provided high-quality real-world perspective. Where this course lacked was collaboration and interaction with the instructor and other students. The student submissions are generally very low quality and there is little to no interaction. Creating a more structure participation model would go a long way in improving the course even further.

par Noel C S

Apr 16, 2020

Pros: Perfectly set and aligned.

Alex Cowan's way of presentation is engaging and does end up bringing a smile.

Guest Lectures, industry experts sessions are lit.

Cons: Quizzes have answer options which are ambiguous.

Highly Theoretical at some parts.

par Ogonna M

May 16, 2019

Great theoretical concepts. However i would have loved a more practical session with compulsory assignments

par Brian S

Apr 07, 2020

The first three weeks are good, a lot of good content, but he (despite trying) has trouble fitting all the methodologies together in one single framework that is actionable. 4th week is an absolute waste of time.Ideally, to improve the course, the author should give a concise overall picture, concatenating ideas, connecting them with a timeline of the PM's role throughout the product's life cycle/challenges.It seems to me that the course lacks an overarching view of the whole process. At the same time, the author goes through all the views, methodologies, and prisms of what it is to be a PM, he does not make those views compatible, which makes the course lack pragmatism, despite being a good introduction.

par Giuseppe B

Aug 15, 2019

I would have been appreciate more practical examples. For instance was a good idea to start from the week 1 to the week 4 to show about to manage a product from scratch in all the steps

par jonathan, m d B

Jan 29, 2019

All the quizz questions are vague and the "right" answers are debatable.

par Ralph M

Nov 20, 2017

I understand that this is a multiple choice type assessment course, however many of the questions were created based on the professor's definitions, and quite often they used trickery around what is very grey lines between the choices. I felt in many cases many of the answers were highly subjective and could depend on multiple variables, that were left out. A better course would be like the Gamification one I did, wherein I explained my rationale given scenarios. I feel overall this would be a more reinforcing method of learning these theories.

par Minjeong K

Apr 19, 2020

I'm a digital designer who works for various client projects and sometimes plays a product manager role in these relationships. I found the course helpful for the frameworks it provides. A lot in software development is fluid that it can feel chaotic. This course helped structure my thinking, and I'll now be able to distinguish between chaos versus flexibility that is necessary to succeed. Outcome over Output is one of the takeaways I'll keep with me.

par Manish M

May 03, 2020

Thanks for producing and delivering this great product management fundamentals course. I really appreciate the effort to bring in experts. it really adds value when experts echo the ideas we learn here. Only one minor suggestion, some content goes really really very fast and hard to comprehend when message is between lines within lines. I suggest to articulate max 2 nested sentences in one. :)

par Joel H

Jun 26, 2019

Great overview of product management in a digital world. It was very accessible to a beginner like myself. There are a ton of great tools and process that are easily transferable to the real world.

par NITIN K

Dec 24, 2018

This course covers all the necessary and much required fundamentals about the product management. The course structure is very well balanced and covers all the aspects of product management. Thanks

par Sridhar R

May 20, 2019

I have been a product professional for more than 5 yearns now. Even at my experience level, I could gain a lot of insights and practical frameworks which I could use at my everyday work.