Chevron Left
Retour à Roman Art and Archaeology

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Roman Art and Archaeology par Université d'Arizona

4.7
étoiles
573 évaluations

À propos du cours

The objective of this course is to provide an overview of the culture of ancient Rome beginning about 1000 BCE and ending with the so-called "Fall of Rome". We will look at some of the key people who played a role in Rome, from the time of the kings through the Roman Republic and the Roman Empire. We will also focus on the city of Rome itself, as well as Rome's expansion through Italy, the Mediterranean, and beyond....

Meilleurs avis

LL

12 avr. 2021

I learned a lot about Ancient Rome. The instructor was interesting and down to earth, and I really appreciated that he spelled out unfamiliar terms. I especially liked Lana, the canine assistant.

YY

5 juin 2021

Hi, My Name is Yogesh B. I Studied This Course From India. I Hope This Course Will Be Very Useful For me. I Would Like To Thank Coursera For Giving Me This Opportunity.

Thank !

😊😊😊😊😊..

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 197 Avis pour Roman Art and Archaeology

par Laura H M

5 mars 2017

Excellent!!!

par Bart S

18 mars 2016

outstanding

par Carlos H

12 août 2020

Thank You!

par Susi A R

16 avr. 2019

fantastic

par Bugrin R

21 mai 2016

Perfect!

par Merve G E

1 juil. 2021

çok iyi

par Asal A

11 sept. 2020

Super!

par BOUTI C

2 sept. 2020

good

par Rachel A

9 janv. 2017

I

par John

21 mai 2016

Q

par georgina h b

30 mars 2016

W

par Marie-Pierre B

16 oct. 2017

The course is an introduction to Roman art but also to Roman history. It is good but I found it sometimes a bit disappointing. Most videos of the professor are very short and we spend more time with the dog Lana than with some monuments... The guests are very interesting, especially on dendrochronology, but why a whole long subject on the archaeology of Troy ? very interesting by the way, but a little far from the main subject even if Aeneas (from Troy) is supposed to be the ancestor of one of the main Roman family.

On the Mooc aspect, I liked the alternance of quizzes and peer assessment with 3 questions (not to difficult for people whose mother language isn't English).

par Sami L

27 déc. 2016

What's best in this course: the assignments. Requiring a short few paragraph essay answers to a few questions at the end of each week is so much better than just relying on multiple choice questionnaires. This encourages participants to do a little bit more, at least glimpse through a few relevant Wikipedia articles.

Of course there is plenty of multiple choice questionnaires and videos as well. Some of the videos are a bit dated, but that makes them even more interesting as an archaeological evidence. Besides, the subject matter isn't moving forward very fast, though new research reveals new things at a slow yet constant pace.

par Janis F

9 août 2016

I enjoyed the course. Lots of Roman history included. Lots of interesting videos from other experts in a particular area of study. But, I will never again take an on-line course with essay questions graded by other students. Out of frustration, I experimented by looking at the answers before taking the test so I knew I should have gotten a perfect score & still didn't get passing marks from my fellow students. I started just skipping them. Remove the essay questions & I would give this course 5 stars.

par Jeffrey M

15 nov. 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about ancient Rome. The lectures are a great overview of the history of Rome with great insight from the archaeology. I'm an architect and I really appreciated the connection between architecture and the culture of Rome. I didn't realize how much of a Archaeology rockstar Dr. Soren was until I watched the BBC documentary! Thanks to the leaders of the course and Lana.

par Yanisa L

21 avr. 2020

If you want to know about history, art and archaeology of Roman from the beginning till the end, this course is suit for you. There will be one peer-graded assignment per week since week 2, so if you don't like writing essay maybe it would be difficult. And professor's accent is very easy to understand.

par Alan G

22 nov. 2020

I would have given this 5 but the transcripts for the lectures were fairly poor, I wonder why there is no spell or sense check on them?

Good course given a history of Rome from it's beginning to the decline and end of the Empire.

Not sure I was over impressed with the appearances of the dog though!

par Cameron C

29 juil. 2020

It was an excellent broad overview of Rome. If you're looking for a brief, light history of Rome and its art and archaeology, I recommend this course. Don't expect anything too advanced, but instead an interesting horizontal perspective.

par Anil R

26 févr. 2019

Solid course for those interested in Roman History. A little meandering at times with tangential diversions into stuff like Marine Archaeology and even studying history through Tree aging but interesting and well paced most of the time.

par Susanne K

29 août 2020

Dr. Soren does a good job overall, but some of the content and lectures are a bit dated. I realize this course was put together several years ago, but more up to date archeological tools and technology should be added to this course.

par Marta R

17 mai 2020

Thanks for this course, thanks Dr. Soren your explanations are very easy to follow and deep enough to students interest. Just try to actualize the old filmations, someone impossible to watch. Hope to see you again wiht more courses!

par William M

14 sept. 2017

This MOOC is much more than the course title suggests. It is a history of Rome from its beginning to its end. It's a good and clear introduction to Roman history. The lectures are very interesting and the assignments helpful.

par Aarya J

9 juin 2020

The overall course is really good. It takes you on a journey from the very beginning of the ancient Roman world till the very end. The course specially gives a great insight about ancient Roman architecture and art.

par Acorn

11 juil. 2020

Personally I really enjoyed this course, Dr Soren is an engaging professor who is very easy to understand. The essays and quizzes definitely aren’t a burden to do and I didn’t feel stressed about handing in work.

par Emily W

16 août 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Especially enjoyed the numerous guest interviews that covered many different areas of the Classics field. The addition of the professor's dog was a little odd.