Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.5
1,752 notes
280 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

MR

Jun 13, 2016

Very good introductory course. It's a lot of material to cover for a newbie, but if you have some background, you will find you progress pretty quickly. Enjoyable, engaging, fun and useful.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 277 Examens pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par Alan A

Jan 21, 2017

I'm fascinated by bioinformatics and genomics, which is why I took this course. I gave the course four stars instead of 5 because I think the flow of the lectures could have been better. When watching lectures, I often found myself jumping around in my notebook to write something down. Other than that, the course was an excellent introduction.

par Makragić A

Nov 03, 2016

The course is a good introduction into genomic data science, I disliked last week because teacher gave too many unnecessary information. But overall it is great course for Computer Scientists especially.

par Jose G

Mar 02, 2016

Great introductory overview. I particularly enjoyed the summary of the human genome project.

par abdelazeem a e

Feb 22, 2016

it is very good but needs some more explanation and supportive materials other than videos to get more knowledge

par Charl W K

Feb 10, 2016

Comprehensive cover of the basics.

par Hao H

Mar 03, 2017

simple but important descriptions about genomic data science.

par Jacob A

Dec 09, 2016

Its called an introduction to genomic technologies and that is basically what it is.

par Krupal J

Oct 19, 2017

It is very nice course to learn new things.

par Qianhao L

Apr 25, 2018

Time of each video is limited, so lots of content are just mentioned without going deeper. Just a introductory course.

par Sabrina S

Nov 27, 2016

The entire course took me about 8 hours to complete. The videos are on average around 10 minutes long. The first two weeks of the course were very introductory and had they stayed that way I would have been disappointed (however they were focused on my specialization). Week 3 and 4 made it worth it for me and were very helpful (computing technology and statistics). I thought the course project could have been better. I didn't feel it was a strong overview of what I learned about the course. Either way, I'm glad I went through the entire thing.

par Dmitry S

Apr 11, 2016

nice! Stats review particularly

par Hendy Z

Dec 11, 2016

a great way to start.

par Himal S

Feb 24, 2017

It is very useful who are interested in Genomics and overall computational biology.

par BHARGAVA R M

Apr 29, 2016

Though the content is introductory and general concepts, it could have been done in a slower pace and a little bit more detail.

par Jen M

Jul 10, 2017

Overall a good intro course. Molecular biology basics were covered so quickly and with terms and concepts pulled almost out of thin air, anyone without a pretty substantial background would probably be lost fairly quickly. And those of us with a genetics background fairly bored until we got to the later weeks. Still as a course designed to get everyone on the same page for the rest of the Specialization, I feel ready for the next course.

par Gareth H

Jun 25, 2017

This course lays out the foundation for the rest of the Specialization. The course feels a little light on content but the concepts it does cover are well described.

par jesus b S

May 03, 2018

Buen curso introductorio a las nuevas tecnologias genomicas.

par Ricardo J P M R

Aug 12, 2016

Good Introduction!!!

par Peter A O V

Jul 17, 2017

Better organization on the biological component is needed to be clearer in the definitions

par Ana P H

Nov 16, 2017

The first three weeks were too easy, then Jeff Leek introduced a bunch of Statistical Concepts at once. I think I would rather have spent more time taking an overview of the field and what the certificate has to offer in application to my job as a biologist/learning bioinformatics.

The project at the end reminded me of evaluating scientific papers in college. Very useful, but out of context I thought. I think I would like to have more of a refresher in certain concepts in advanced genetics prior to being quizzed on them through a project.

Overall, it was a good course, but someone without a background in biology will certainly struggle with it

par Giulia P

Feb 18, 2016

Interesting topic, maybe an improvement could be to provide the material as one file and not many files one for each video (also easier to consult in the future).

par Luis O C L

Oct 04, 2017

Basic but really necessary

par Srinivas R B

Apr 06, 2017

Good information. I would request more activity based learning instead monotonous one-men presentation.

par Piyush P

Dec 05, 2016

Exceelent course for any beginners in Bioinformatics.

par MATHEUS D L C

Jun 13, 2016

The last module and the final paper was a little confuse for whom is not from Biology (I'm from computer science). But the course is very well made and gave me the notion I'd like to have. The professores are very well qualified and inspired me about the subject.