Chevron Left
Retour à Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning par Université de Rice

4.7
572 notes
122 avis

À propos du cours

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Meilleurs avis

SR

Aug 21, 2017

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

BM

Aug 29, 2017

Very good course! Dynamic and very well structured. I totally recommend, it provides you notions of all aspects involving the first two stage of project. I look forward doing the other parts.

Filtrer par :

101 - 120 sur 120 Examens pour Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

par samarth v

Jul 08, 2018

The course is apt for understanding the basics of managing a project. the peer review assignments should have some weightage to the final grade

par Shoaib A

Apr 15, 2019

great source of learning online this course for clear basic concept of pmp

par EDGAR I D R

Apr 29, 2019

Great content and challenging projects!

par liz a

Apr 07, 2019

it seems really interesting. and to the point

par David G

Jun 17, 2019

Content great. Delivery could be better. Found the lecturers laboured through the videos, obviously reading straight off a slide. This made it hard at times to take in what was being presented.

par Fabricio A C

Jun 24, 2019

Very good.

par Amir M O

Jun 27, 2019

A relatively good course. Week 1-3 are pretty good but week 4 is absolutely vague and impossible to follow.

The handout provided by the instructors is good but doesn't 100% match the video lectures.

Another flaw is that you have to wait a lot so your assignments get peer reviewed. So that may cause you stay longer in the course and pay more for the subscription.

par Ramiz B

Aug 09, 2019

Very well put together...

par Kasule B J

Aug 23, 2019

great learning experience for a person who has started out with online courses

par Alp P

Oct 24, 2019

Very beneficial

par amr s

Oct 02, 2019

It's really helpful. Aus empfehlen

par NISHANTH K

Oct 13, 2019

GOOD COURSE WITH NICE ASSIGNMENTS

par somil s

Oct 21, 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THEBASIC AND SOME ADVANCED LEVEL OF PLANNING AND EXECUTING A PROJECT HELPS ME TO UNDERSTAND THE INITIATING AND PLANNING OF PROJECT AND HOW TO MANAGE IT AS A PROJECT MANAGER.

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR THIS VALUABLE COURSE AND I AM VERY IMPRESSED BY THE INNOVATIVE TREACHING TECHINQUES .

par Berna

Oct 28, 2019

Good lectures, good availability of course material! Time difference makes participation in course discussions difficult... I like the concept of peer reviewed assignments!

par Miguel F M

Jan 31, 2019

Como es habitual en Coursera, las unidades didácticas, videos y demás están muy bien. El curso en líneas generales está muy bien.

En cuanto al contenido, se agradecería un poco más de profundidad en la parte "Engineering". Casi lo único que lo hace exclusivo de la ingeniería es el caso práctico.

par Liliana P

Feb 14, 2019

Es preocupante que los otros estudiantes califiquen tu trabajo y si consideran que algo esta incompleto, al momento de realizar los cambios y volverlos a subir, hay que hacer malabares para que vuelvan a revisar tu trabajo y aparece como trabajo retrasado, aunque lo entregaste a tiempo. Deberían de mejorar ese punto.

par Alberto C

Feb 26, 2018

interesting course in general, though it could be improved.

e.g several times the slides have too much text, sometimes the multiple-choice tests seems to have been prepared in hurry

par Jocelyne F V

Jul 15, 2019

This course nicely explains the concepts applied in project management. It however gives few concrete examples and remains 'theoretical'. It is helpful for someone with some practical experience who wants to learn the formal tools and concepts. Most learnings come from the peer-reviewed assignment and reflection on own experience. It will however probably not be adequate for beginners without professional experience, e.g university students.

par MBo

Jul 25, 2019

Interesting course for project management newbies, but it could be improved with some real life examples to accompany the theory. I liked the format of the video and the presentation style, although the visuals are more distracting and not adding to the experience. Presenters are well articulated and easy to follow. Big thumbs up for the transcripts and subtitles!

On the downside, I'm not particularly impressed by the peer review system. Who are my peers? People like me, who don't really know much about this topic in the first place? How relevant is their grading/feedback? Also, the grading system is fundamentally flawed, in my opinion, as it's focused on the format, and not the content. More than once I found errors in the content, but because it was filled out per the rubrik, I had to give it points.

par David T L

Oct 16, 2019

Same old PMI stuff.