Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
2,904 notes
807 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

KF

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

Filtrer par :

676 - 700 sur 767 Examens pour Fundamentals of GIS

par GABRIEL I B B

Nov 22, 2019

A great introductory course in GIS! At first I thought it was too easy, but when you get to week 4 and work on the final assignment, everything that was taught will be utilize for you to finish the assignment and it is really challenging. All in all a complete, well thought of and challenging introductory course in GIS.

par Santhosh M

Nov 21, 2019

The course was excellent and it's very suitable for professionals learning Arcgis and students under mapping and geomatics domine

par Ardi V

Nov 25, 2019

I have been browsing the internet so hard for a good course about GIS until I suddenly came across Coursera. I have never been so amazed with how everything was well-organized and well-thought. Thank you so much to the team, especially to Nick Santos for putting up such great effort for such great course. I am looking forward to taking the next few courses to complete the specialization.

par Jason W

Nov 25, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this class! Nick Santos does a fantastic job of breaking down the core concepts and making them easy to understand while at the same time showing you how to jump right in and start learning by doing. I'm hooked! At this point, all the other things in my life (job, family, dog, sleeping, eating etc.) are just annoyances that are getting in the way of me being able to learn more in these courses.

par Ripan K

Nov 25, 2019

I was confused on using ArcGIS and how to analyse and visualize data correctly by it. This course 'Fundamental of GIS' is helps me to overcome the limitations I had. I am gratitude to Coursera to offer such a course and giving me chance to do the course. Furthermore, this course is designed with proper steps that is crucially helpful for any beginner learning GIS.

par Kamal A

Dec 07, 2019

Thanks for instructor

par Gokce S

Jan 09, 2019

Making the online features of ArcGIS mandatory components of the final assignment may pose a barrier to some people. In my case, I am learning ArcGIS for my work and have been using the software on an offline work server (my personal computer could not meet the minimum system requirements for ArcGIS and often crashed). So, I was not able to add the elements like basemap to my maps, which made it a big challenge for me to pass the final assignment.

par Ryan J

Mar 13, 2019

I would give this course 4.5 stars if I could. It is a great course and I feel like I really grasped the basics of GIS and using ArcMap after I completed it. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars is that it would be nice if there were an intro course like this that was a little more geared towards people who already have some basic knowledge of SQL and relational databases so that the course could move a little faster.

par Nway O K K

Mar 13, 2019

Its good!

par Veera H

Jul 10, 2018

Clear and easy to follow.

par Areck J

Jul 13, 2018

Exaclty what i needed

par Innocent T

Aug 16, 2018

Comprehensive content for a beginner like me. following so far

par Prasanga K

Nov 02, 2018

For a beginner like me the course helped a lot

par Assem M A E

Nov 04, 2018

good work

par ASHISH V

Nov 12, 2018

This course is very useful for the beginners in Gis

par Bruno A

Nov 21, 2018

Very enthusiastic instructor.

Good starting course, very well structured (with just the necessary small repetitions to consolidate knowledge).

Good final assignment.

(Very small) caveat: could be clearer at times in conveying certain not-so-difficult notions.

par Shikha C

Nov 22, 2018

Very nie course for beginners

par Roland W

Nov 20, 2018

The lectures were presented in a very casual, enthusiastic manner.

par Jianyuan N

Apr 26, 2016

Really good for beginners and if this course have more detailed instruction of final assignment, I would like to give five stars.

par Jason M

Sep 13, 2016

I found a number of the lessons were light on content, but I have guilty knowledge having used ArcMap on and off for the past few years. A lot of the meat of this course is replicated in similar or only slightly more detail in the follow-on class in the specialization. If you have experience with GIS or Arc I would strongly recommend skipping this class and moving directly to GIS Data Formats, Design and Quality.

par Gregory B

Mar 21, 2016

Great course with engaging material and enthusiastic and experienced instruction. The materials, lectures, assignments, extras, links, etc. were excellent. Only two negative aspects occurred. The first was the initial lack of materials with which to follow the instructors as they went through various processes in ArcMap in their lectures. However, this was remedied quickly and materials were provided. The second was the instructional material for the week 2 assignment, which lacked the step-by-step detail and polish of the assignments from other weeks. This may have been due to the course being new and somewhat unrefined. Overall, the course was extremely helpful and well worth the time and money. I intend to continue on and complete the entire specialization.

par Arshad A S

Dec 09, 2016

It was an Excellent Course I learned a lot and it was a great opportunity to learn GIS basics.

Thank you so much

Nick Santos (our instructor) and the UC Davis Extension Team

par İsmail S

May 16, 2017

Good introduction to GIS.

par Ebenezer O

Nov 21, 2017

Very good course, it helped me to understand the very basic of GIS, and the Instructor is so good, He makes it easy to follow and understand

par Mauricio L F

Aug 13, 2016

Cómo estudiante no pude cordinarme al curso, por el contenido que manejaban