Chevron Left
Retour à Fundamentals of GIS

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Fundamentals of GIS par Université de Californie à Davis

4.8
2,760 notes
761 avis

À propos du cours

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Meilleurs avis

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

JS

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

Filtrer par :

701 - 723 sur 723 Examens pour Fundamentals of GIS

par luisa m

Mar 05, 2016

Great course, right what I needed as I use with statistics and econometrics in development issues, but I needed to add the "spatial" element.

I would give the 5th star, if the slide of the lessons were available

thanks!

par Conor J R

May 20, 2016

A good introduction to GIS focusing on the fundamental principles with a good practical element included. There is a lot to take in over four weeks so it does require plenty of time to absorb all the required learning and complete the assignment. Plenty of information and resources are provided and the lectures are clear and easily to follow. The only criticism I would have is that there is probably too much emphasis on Arc GIS, it would have been nice to learn some more about open source platforms like QGIS.

par Hilary W

Jun 01, 2017

I found the course tutorials and materials really good and clear. I found achieving what I wanted on ARC GIS much harder than I thought it would be, so it was re-assuring where they indicated that people would re-watch the tutorials more than once (Can't tell you how many times I had to watch them to get some elements of the course!!). But encouraged to go on and do the next one.

par Sergio E T

Oct 03, 2016

Good teaching methods. Convenient for starting to get to know GIS software and sharing your map data.

par Hema P

Jun 13, 2016

Excellent course, well-explained and complete! It does need a lot of focus and practice to actually understand and master what's going on there.

par NELSON E

Apr 18, 2019

T

h

i

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

w

a

s

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

f

r

u

t

f

u

l

l

t

o

m

e

.

i

h

a

v

e

l

e

a

r

n

t

a

l

o

t

i

n

F

u

n

d

e

r

m

e

n

t

a

l

o

f

G

I

S

a

n

d

h

o

p

e

t

o

c

o

n

t

i

n

u

e

t

o

l

e

a

r

n

m

o

r

e

a

n

d

e

v

e

n

j

o

i

n

t

h

e

G

I

S

g

r

o

u

p

.

t

h

a

n

k

y

o

u

v

e

r

y

m

u

c

h

D

v

i

s

f

o

r

y

o

u

r

t

i

m

e

a

n

d

g

u

i

d

e

n

c

e

.

N

e

l

s

o

n

E

n

y

a

g

u

par Hebatallah E

Apr 21, 2019

The course is great in the aspect of practice and hand on experience ! I liked the most how the instructor focused on doing examples in the videos and encouraging us to try them out on our own. Not to mention the practice assignments and the extra reading to additional practice.

The course also was successful in engaging the learners in discussion forums and lesson summaries.

I think its the perfect start to learn GIS and get the initial concept on how to navigate this area of analysis

par Adam K

Aug 14, 2019

Excellent general introduction to the fundamentals of GIS. The course instructor gives clear explanations and is quite easy to listen to and follow. Every lesson contains everything for a foundational knowledge of the particular topic or skill, without overloading or dragging on for too long. The lecturer is also careful to preface anything that will be gone into in a later lesson, so you never feel concerned if you see all the options available but only delve into a few.

The content is well structured and the course follows an easy pace, without both too much hand holding or leaving you wondering where to go next. Having done GIS before in university, I found this was an excellent refresher to prepare me for the rest of the specialization, but that someone with relatively little knowledge could also excel.

My only critical points are that there is occasionally the odd line which you need to listen to a few times, due to jargon or the odd phrase or stutter in the flow of the lesson, but overall I found it very easy to follow. Also in the reviewed assignment, the items which would be included in the marking rubric were scattered in the explanation document, so I missed them before my initial upload.

par Aidan r j

Sep 11, 2019

some parts are hard to follow sometimes and can be monotunioos some times but over a great cour to get into gis with plenty of exrecises and avilable file as the one being worked on in the lectures

par Cherie C

Sep 13, 2019

Very informative, detailed and well-organized course. Thank you NICK!!!

par Sean C

Feb 18, 2019

Good information. A little simple at times

par Mohammed A

Jul 08, 2017

Great course also best instructor my problem is the grading by others is taking really longtime I've been waiting two days until now and no one even looked at my assignment. also I tired posting my problem in the discussion thread even begged but nothing.

par Acato A

Sep 06, 2017

The assignments are very easy to cheat in. The peer review even makes it easier, upload something crappy, download a better one from someone else, edit the name and upload on your account. The man i reviewed actually forgot to change the author of the map, he uploaded it as downloaded.

The certificate is too plain, it doesn't talk of the skills gained through the course or the weight of the certificate according to the student's performance. It makes the whole thing seem like a joke. First anyone can cheat their way through and secondly even if you work hard and get straight 100%s you are no different from the the average student.

par Pierre V

Apr 03, 2017

Quiet good introduction with clear objectives.

Some step by step explanations could be shortened because they seem too detailed.

A brief introduction to creating your own data could be great and will cover more steps

By hte way, thanks for this good introduction

par Margaret F

Oct 18, 2016

The course and the content was great, but the grading process was terrible. Will probably finish the specialization, but wish there was a better way to be graded for the money.

par James M

Jul 30, 2017

Peer review is unreliable.

par Jacob G

Feb 14, 2018

Needs to be updated to cover the use of ArcGIS pro.

par James S

Aug 06, 2016

Very well presented. Unfortunately I think the order was a bit strange. We focused on data analysis instead of basics of data generation. In an introductory course I would have liked to see a bit more what different data looks like. Vectors, rasters, etc.

Some of us live and work in countries that don't have a lot of data (I'm a South African and I work in Malaysia... California, the Karroo, and Borneo have different amounts of information available). We're not learning GIS to analyse data because we don't have much data available. We're building the data...

We spent too much time on rivers/watersheds. I get that hydrology is Nick's field but some us will work with cities, or population, or roads, planning farmlands - a bit of variety would be nice.

The data should not be available off the Coursera page - we should have to get it off the internet so we get familiar with public data resources. The websites should have the broadest data - good regardless of what country you're in.

par Akshat J

Sep 15, 2019

Focuses mainly on ArcGIS tool whereas the objective of this course should be to explain GIS concepts.

par Neil K

Feb 17, 2017

Needs to be more concise.

Nick seems very passionate and trying to reach a broad audience, but overly explaining topics is creating "lecture fatigue" for me. For instance, every video starts with "welcome back... this is why people like this... [meat of the video]... this is what we just talked about.... see you next time". I really just need the [meat of the video] part. These videos are 5-10 minutes long each. They are very short and therefore I do not need an introduction/closeout for each individual one. The Module Overview and Module Recap videos are sufficient to serve that purpose.

Overall, I learned the basics and will probably take the next GIS course because I like the Coursera framework, but I think this particular course could be much more condensed.

par Anshuman P

Jun 25, 2017

This course gets difficult in Week 4 as the Assignment is tough if you do not fully understand how to use GIS. Discussion forums sometimes help but only if someone else is kind enough to reply. If you don't understand how to do things on your own, do not take this course. There is no way to message or ask the instructor questions.

par Deleted A

Feb 24, 2016

Crippleware if you don't

par Carla L

Jul 31, 2017

The assigmentes after every lesson was step-by-step conducted, but que final lesson was "do yourself", with diferents topic of the class.

They reprove me, but I have no explanation because the class finish at 31 and today 31 they say I have to switch the course. I fell really cehated and unsatisfy and I will not finish the specialization anymore.

Thos was the worst Cousera course that I did.