Chevron Left
Retour à Data Collection and Processing with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Collection and Processing with Python par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
3,030 évaluations
501 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

A
9 juil. 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

CM
9 oct. 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

Filtrer par :

451 - 475 sur 499 Avis pour Data Collection and Processing with Python

par Terry M

15 mars 2019

The content itself was "clearly better than average" but the delivery ( due to Runestone being buggy ) was "clearly below" average. Figuring out what's wrong with your own code is a "good stress" because there is something you can do about it. Figuring out why Runestone is doing something unexpected is a "bad stress" because all you can do is paste it into a discussion forum and wait ( often for quite some time ) for a reply which may or may not be helpful. So here's the thing; it's not always obvious as to when it's the former at play vs the latter or perhaps even both and hence one is left to speculate as to whether or not one is spending hours diligently and happily *learning by doing* or just *Completely Wasting Your <hyphenated expletive> Time*. This review applies to courses 1-4 .

par Partha M

16 mai 2020

The first two weeks of this course had a smooth intonation to it but the third week suddenly became a point of lots of things packed here and there. API's were introduced and which was not bad to learn the timeframe was too short and sometime a bit tedious to deal with.

The project at the end of the third week was a simple one which could have been easily done if not for the buggy runestone environment. The same code that fails once worked when the page was refreshed syninymous to switching on and off the computer solution. Nevertheless I adore Proffesor Resnick and woud love to attend more courses done by him. He is the only saving grace that would make me recommend this course to anyone.

par Loreisis H

3 févr. 2020

The beginning of the course was fine

(The first two weeks). Week 3 was a hard fight to overcome. I couldn't understand why we were suddenly dealing with API. Compared to the previous 2 courses (in this Python3 specialization) I think working with APIs has been difficult, I think it would be helpful if there were more exercises to work with APIs in the material before addressing the project. The final project requires a lot of analysis in the forums to discover how to do things. And the Q6 of the final project was very complex to overcome

par Benjamin S

19 mai 2020

The first two course are great and I learned a lot. They prepared you to take the final test. This course did not prepare me for the final. It was a struggle to get through and I needed help at several points from the forum. I am going to try to attempt to write code using several API's outside of this course before I move on to make sure I understand this information.

par Chris

5 déc. 2019

Difficult last project w just Runestone -- would recommend doing project on Jupyter to actually see what's going on w/ your code then pasting to Runestone to make it work for the class. Runestone is fine for smaller quizzes but 2/2 size of output window (as to what's actually happening in your code) really only good for a grade.

par William M

31 janv. 2021

Went from zero to sixty. The final question on the last test took forever because the dataset is flawed and there is no ['Ratings'][1] for two of the movies. Would have been nice to know with ANY sort of feedback at some point before you put it all together

par Gustavo R E

5 févr. 2020

The API exercises are too easy and then when it comes to the real deal I didnt feel prepare, you guys should take it easier and step by step, way too much explaining and not too much hands on deck with each step of the code, and to do that, shorter videos

par Samanth N

4 oct. 2020

I understand that APIs are an integral part of getting into programming but, I feel that this course was just streamlined to make use of APIs. The runestone textbook had issues with caching the responses and would often lead to wrong data accumulation.

par Alvaro G B

27 juil. 2019

In general it is a good course but it would be more practical to teach django for the http request/response part, specially if you think that the industry works in terms of backend and frontend, therefore, professionally it would much appreciated.

par Bavan M Y

7 déc. 2020

I was a bit disappointed at week 3. I took help for almost 90% of the project work. There were no practice programs for week 3 and for a slow learner like I lost a lot of confidence and I'm back to start feeling like a dumb person.

Thank you.

par Edward K

19 mai 2020

The lessons on REST API need more information and more examples about the subject.

Also, the instructions in the final project should be cleaner. If a list is required, the specifically write, "output is a list. this list will contain".

par Liu W

26 mars 2020

The tool is TERRIBLE!!! To much bugs that waste tons of times!!!

Fine, then, except for the tool, everything else of the course is fine. But the course is DEFINITELY NOT for beginners. At lease take a basic python course before this one.

par Carol M

20 août 2020

Compared to the first two classes in the Python 3 Specialization, this one has fewer exercise opportunities and is highly focused on a few concepts. The final project is a bear, due largely to challenges in the Runestone environment.

par Scott C

12 août 2019

This would be much better if you could use an external IDE. The final project wasn't realistic because we were stuck using the Runestone code window which makes it very difficult to code as you would in a real job.

par Frank P

6 mai 2020

The final assessment is a nightmare as your CACHE File is broken. My code works perfectly in my IDE but I never could make it work on your evaluation tool. Wasted 5 days on this.

par Matthew F

12 août 2020

the final project was very difficult and had to learn a package that only applied to this class and will never be used outside of class and has less function

par Paul S

15 févr. 2021

Good course. The training environment is a bit rough to work in just for this specific course. Pay attention to the instrcutions to get it to run right

par Michelle M V

14 juil. 2020

The Runestone environment becomes very slow once you're working with multiple functions and is sensitive to bugs.

par Edwin Y

15 janv. 2021

the last question of project is such a challenge, the run time error is not helping in many cases

par Nidhi K

13 juin 2020

The runestone environment often gives mistakes that are not actually present

par Yongjian F

5 juil. 2019

The API documents are not so useful. The final project is fun though.

par Helena L

9 juil. 2020

Hope the course material could be more related to the final project.

par Paul B

13 mai 2020

Last assignment was screwy with the runestone implemenation.

par LIBIN W

4 août 2020

good course but concepts in 3rd week was a real quickie.

par Yash R

12 juin 2020

feedback: week 3 modules were not structured properly.