Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
2,043 notes
662 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM

Nov 05, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 640 Examens pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Roy N

Jan 01, 2018

I have been writing for a while now, but always felt like I could do better, like I was missing the fundamentals. This course made that pretty apparent then went about filling in some of my gaps. I recommend this course. It was eye-opening in the best of ways and it has made me a better writer.

par KONSTANTINA G

Jun 18, 2018

The most important of the 4 courses in terms of setting the basis. As usual, the only problem was having to wait for someone to review my work (10 days) in order to finish the course... but hey, that's´s how it is.

par Eula C

Feb 17, 2017

Step by step instructions with excellent examples of the various elements used in writing and crafting a plot.

par Sarah S

Apr 13, 2017

A super introduction to writing that leads, step by step, to the confidence to write.

par Luana B

Mar 16, 2016

The course is really intereresting and I am learning a lot of new skills.

par Alex C

Oct 21, 2016

I loved it

par Kelly C

Apr 02, 2016

easy to understand and funny Assignment

par xiaoqiang

Aug 14, 2016

really good organized!

par Janet W

Jul 06, 2016

I loved this course. It really gets into the meat writing. I look forward to the other Creative Writing Courses and recommend it to anyone interested in writing.

par Amanda C

Aug 15, 2016

Brando Skyhorse is a well spoken instructor. Well done.

par Nourhan E

Sep 18, 2016

This course was really useful and Mr. Skyhorse's way of explaining in the videos was so good

par Alejandro P

Jun 17, 2018

It has been a great course that helped me better understand the basics of plot, structure, "scenes", building characters and trying to show rather than tell a story

par Zsuzsanna J

May 11, 2016

Excellent course, helped me so much and gave me good ideas and inspiration.

par Anna B

May 16, 2016

i recommend this course , an excellent introduction for an aspiring writer or anyone interested in litterature as it explains and decomposes thorougly the mechanics of plot , thru very alive ideos and sharing of experienced writers , i enjoyed the submissions which taught me disciplin and structure . This experience helped broaden my horizon , i learned a lot from the peer rewiew also , this first module convinced me to go on and complete the full course. Thank you

par Ольга О

Jun 13, 2016

Thank you very much! I was enjoying this course and I hope that I will be enjoying all specialization.

par Heather F R

Jul 22, 2016

Excellent course. I learned tools that I can apply to my writing. Thank you

par Renee C

Aug 30, 2016

I found this course useful in focusing my short stories. I found the lectures useful, interesting, and directly applicable to the assignments.

par Hugo E G L

Feb 07, 2016

I'm learning a lot about creative writing. The examples are very clear, the course itself is very entertaining. You won't regret taking this course.

Cheers!

par Akmaral

May 28, 2017

I really liked the course! It was exactly what I needed. All the topics are in place, mapping out all the white spots, feeling gaps with knowledge on how to draft your story, how to build rising action to finally end up with self-fullfilling denouement. The video lectures are compiled logically, bit by bit they help you through your own creative chaos and nail your story so that it contents intrigue, tension and empathy potential.

par lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

This course involved challenging assignments and very interesting lessons. I thought the course was well thought out and would recommend it to anyone.

par Hope M V

Jun 21, 2016

I am very much enjoying how my professor breaks everything down to the simplest form. I find myself applying what I have learned to my everyday writing as well as things I read and watch. He is upbeat and energetic and the assignments are fun! Although he asks for 200 words and I find that difficult because I am accustomed to writing a small novel for each answer, as you can clearly tell from my review of this course.

I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to begin writing or to writers who want a fundamental understanding of what they are already doing.

par David H

Jun 18, 2016

This was a great way to get started writing again after a long time. The videos were engaging and full of good information. It's good to see and hear real authors talk about the work.

par Pansy W

Jun 27, 2016

Excellent.

par Juan A R P

Feb 18, 2016

Great start on the course.

par Siddhesh P

Mar 22, 2016

Awesome!