Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
2,036 notes
659 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

BM

Nov 05, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 638 Examens pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Crystal M

Mar 19, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It had a lot of concrete advice, and motivated me to start writing again. The assignments made sense, and gave me a list of things to look for when editing the draft.

par David E

Apr 05, 2016

This is an absolutely wonderful course.

par Siddhesh P

Mar 22, 2016

Awesome!

par Alejandro M G M

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting, and very hard to achieve a good grade, therefore challenging. Loved it.

par Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

I learned so much in this course, particularly, how to edit what I am writing to tell a better story to the reader. Great course- highly recommended.

par Gloria C

Sep 21, 2017

Great course to understand the foundations of story writing.

par Beckie M

Sep 14, 2017

This was a great start to the creative writing specialization! The videos only took up about 30 minutes per week and most of the time was focused on writing and doing peer reviews. That was good in the sense that it didn't take up too much of my time and felt very do-able, but I think the course could benefit from some more instruction or learning content (even if it's not required). The instructor was great!

par Alejandro P

Jun 17, 2018

It has been a great course that helped me better understand the basics of plot, structure, "scenes", building characters and trying to show rather than tell a story

par Hugo E G L

Feb 07, 2016

I'm learning a lot about creative writing. The examples are very clear, the course itself is very entertaining. You won't regret taking this course.

Cheers!

par Akmaral

May 28, 2017

I really liked the course! It was exactly what I needed. All the topics are in place, mapping out all the white spots, feeling gaps with knowledge on how to draft your story, how to build rising action to finally end up with self-fullfilling denouement. The video lectures are compiled logically, bit by bit they help you through your own creative chaos and nail your story so that it contents intrigue, tension and empathy potential.

par Zsuzsanna J

May 11, 2016

Excellent course, helped me so much and gave me good ideas and inspiration.

par Anna B

May 16, 2016

i recommend this course , an excellent introduction for an aspiring writer or anyone interested in litterature as it explains and decomposes thorougly the mechanics of plot , thru very alive ideos and sharing of experienced writers , i enjoyed the submissions which taught me disciplin and structure . This experience helped broaden my horizon , i learned a lot from the peer rewiew also , this first module convinced me to go on and complete the full course. Thank you

par lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

This course involved challenging assignments and very interesting lessons. I thought the course was well thought out and would recommend it to anyone.

par Ольга О

Jun 13, 2016

Thank you very much! I was enjoying this course and I hope that I will be enjoying all specialization.

par Heather F R

Jul 22, 2016

Excellent course. I learned tools that I can apply to my writing. Thank you

par Hope M V

Jun 21, 2016

I am very much enjoying how my professor breaks everything down to the simplest form. I find myself applying what I have learned to my everyday writing as well as things I read and watch. He is upbeat and energetic and the assignments are fun! Although he asks for 200 words and I find that difficult because I am accustomed to writing a small novel for each answer, as you can clearly tell from my review of this course.

I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to begin writing or to writers who want a fundamental understanding of what they are already doing.

par Renee C

Aug 30, 2016

I found this course useful in focusing my short stories. I found the lectures useful, interesting, and directly applicable to the assignments.

par Tim J

May 26, 2017

Excellent class!

par Arvid O

Sep 29, 2016

Great course

par Larry G

Mar 01, 2018

Learn a lot and it was challenging

par adam g

Apr 04, 2017

Thank you. This has enriched my life and given me such purpose and drive. Fantastically put together course, can wait to finish the next 4.

par Skye S

Apr 13, 2017

I am so happy with this course and can't wait to complete the sister courses!

par Henry W

Aug 23, 2017

T

par G P

Oct 27, 2016

Very informative course. I enjoyed doing the assignments and reading my peers write ups

par Lynnette O

Feb 02, 2017

I learned a lot from this course and enjoyed taking it. The instructor was awesome and the feedback from fellow students was invaluable. Thank you very much