Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
2,038 notes
660 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

LB

Nov 16, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 640 Examens pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par arya k s

Oct 14, 2017

Its a great course. Simple, precise great and useful.

par Sasha K C

Apr 04, 2018

This course got me off on the right foot in writing. It gives specific structure on elements of a good plot. There is no failing, just constructive review of your work by your peers. Very good course

par Anna V

Nov 28, 2016

A helpful one

par Sean D

Jul 05, 2018

Absolutely loved this course, it's really challenging but I learned so much right from the start. Highly recommended.

par Crystal B

Jan 17, 2017

Very helpful if you are picking up writing again. Not to time consuming, the content is manageable and the instructor is very clear and concise!

par Tere F

Feb 10, 2016

The instructor really gives the nitty-gritty of how to write a plot that will intrigue readers. He explains what a plot is (and it may not be what you think! The assignment is much harder than it looks! Believe me, it took three days for me to get mine done, sign of a good assignment as I can typically write 250 words in a snap (this review for example!). If you want to write, this is a good beginning.

par TJ S

Jun 23, 2018

I recommend this course. I find creating clear plots rather difficult which are time- consuming when done correctly. The steps provided for creating the structure, scenes, and plot are very informative and all one need do is think and write.

par Nadezhda S

Oct 10, 2017

A great course, good lectures and good tasks to help you get started.

par Matthew J G

Sep 06, 2017

Awesome introduction to the specialization. You won't leave without a good set of skills and a general understanding on the processes of writing.

par Pritika P

Dec 18, 2017

I really enjoyed this course!!

Brando taught this course so well- with adequate resources, theoretical knowledge, easy-to-understand explanations!

Enriching experience!

par Paulina V

Mar 19, 2018

Great course, I've learned a lot!

par Alexandra L

Mar 25, 2018

A lot of valuable information and the assignments are just right to try to put it into practice

par Rochelle S

Aug 21, 2016

Didn't pay to unlock the assignments but still enjoyed it. Lecturer explains points clearly and gives examples from familiar literature. Even if you aren't an aspiring (or struggling) writer, you'll still learn a lot about the structure of good storytelling. Ever wondered why movies and novels seem to follow the same pattern, yet it always works? You'll find out here. Great course. My only regret is that assignment reviews are locked until you pay for them. It would've been nice if only the capstone project required payment.

par Evita K

Mar 27, 2018

Very interesting and insightful. The examples are easily understandable.

par Marie-Hélène F

Feb 23, 2016

Thank you so much for this amazing course!

par Mary L R

Feb 28, 2016

Sure told me what I needed to hear

par Noha D

Oct 21, 2017

I enjoyed the learning process, the assignments and the rich information, Thanks :)

par MILLOT J M F

Dec 27, 2017

Clear, simple, accessible to beginners .. a dream.

par sally g

Mar 11, 2016

Very educative with the knowledge I have gained from this I feel I've come out with much more than just valuable notes.

par Andreea S

Dec 03, 2017

Love the course! I am learning so much and having fun doing it! Thank you ;)

par Brianne P

May 27, 2016

I love it and very easy to follow. Great for the beginner trying to fine tune their work and/or get started. They offer you the tools to author your first story!

par David S

May 04, 2018

Retired from a career as writer and occasional editor of technical and non-fiction articles, memos and magazines, fiction writing has for four decades presented an insurmountable obstacle against which I have repeatedly failed to achieve the least understanding... until Wesleyan University offered Creative Writing: The Craft of the Plot. Regardless of my love of fiction, taken both in print and audio, I have never understood the structure underlying the classics and modern works I so adore UNTIL this course. Thank You!

par Melinda

Jul 02, 2018

This was an excellent course. The amount of work was just right, and it gave me a strong foundation for creative writing. I really enjoyed the writing assignments, as well has giving and receiving feedback on them.

par Wong W

Jun 21, 2016

A humble writer and teacher, thanks for sharing everything about writing!

par Patricia A

Dec 20, 2017

Really liked the 21-point checklist to revise my work.