Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,320 évaluations

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

DA

30 nov. 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM

4 nov. 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 1,459 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Марія П

19 févr. 2022

G​reat course! I was afraid that this course would be too difficult for me, because I'm not a native English speaker, and I have never write stories in English before. But I'm happy that I tried. I got a lot of fun and satisfaction doing assessments. Learning videos were not too long, and the teacher explained everything easily. I understood all the material. Now I'm going to take next courses of this specialization. Thank you very much!

par Jessica A S V

17 juin 2020

The way the creating writing was explain was clear and easy to understand, I would recommend this course to any person who is in love with writing, but doesn't know how to start. I enjoyed how the interview with well known experts made me feel comfortable and in the right path. This was a great experience for me in all senses, I'm pleased and grateful with Brando Skyhorse and partners, keep make knowledge universal I appreciate.

Jessica

par Akmaral

28 mai 2017

I really liked the course! It was exactly what I needed. All the topics are in place, mapping out all the white spots, feeling gaps with knowledge on how to draft your story, how to build rising action to finally end up with self-fullfilling denouement. The video lectures are compiled logically, bit by bit they help you through your own creative chaos and nail your story so that it contents intrigue, tension and empathy potential.

par Vidya S

1 sept. 2020

This course has helped me with sourcing ideas, organizing my writing and developing a keener eye for structure in my stories. This course gave me an understanding of what a right and interesting book should look like. The course not only clearly reads how a writer should design his book, but also what thoughts should be in his head. Thank you for this wonderful course!

cture in my stories. Thank you so much for this opportunity,

par Alicia C

21 juil. 2020

I would like to extend my sincerest gratitude to all the people behind this course and who made it possible for us students whose interest is in creative writing. It was indeed a great course, meaty and relevant. Personally, the course has taught me a lot. It gave me the realization that I can write. I hope I could be enrolled in another course related to this subject matter in the future. Congratulations and again, thank you.

par Laura D

19 janv. 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course on the craft of plot. The instructor, Brando Skyhorse, was engaging, and I liked his direct lectures on technique that were filled with helpful point lists and plenty of illustrative examples. The homework assignments were manageable and a good way to test out some of the instruction through practice. Would definitely recommend to anyone interested in developing their skills in fiction writing.

par Lori B

14 sept. 2021

Brando is a fantastic creative writing teacher! He is so organized and easy to follow. I'm thankful for his willingness to share all that he's learned from experience like the 21-Point Checklist. That is pure gold! Learning to start each scene with something active, the ABDCE structure, and how to "show" vs. "tell" are life-changing lessons I wish I had known years ago! Thank you so much, Brando, Wesleyan, & Coursera!!!

par Kavin P

9 juil. 2020

This course has been the pioneer to my journey as a Hobby Writer - earlier my writings just felt random thoughts written down on a page; after this course, I can really feel a sense of flow and a path they lead to! Moreover, I also loved the Shop Talks with other experienced novelists, where they gave tips about writing - refined after their years of experience as writers!

Thank you so much Wesleyan University and Coursera!

par Shoshin

7 oct. 2019

As a Creative Writing blogger and aspiring writer keen to learn more about the craft, this course exceeded my expectations. I feel better equipped to draft my next story now that I have gained insight into the technique of developing a plot. Also, exchanging peer review has enabled me to assess any piece of writing by a published or an amateur writer with deeper understanding of what goes into effective storytelling.

par Rachana G

7 janv. 2020

Wonderful course! It makes creative writing so much easier for beginners. The assignments were significant and well designed for the students to dive deeper into their thoughts and come up with original stories. I especially loved the chapters with five-act structure and copy editing. I even used this knowledge in my novel. I sincerely thank the professor Mr. Brando Skyhorse for making it so simple for the learners!

par Urmila B

5 sept. 2021

Fantastic course. Helped me gain complete insight into the nuances of writing. Had remained just so clueless before with all the other courses I've taken. This one was detailed and wholesome. Helped me hone my skill to present writing pieces I'm comfortable putting out! The step by step detailed explanations were so helpful and the chats with renowned writers as well. The reviews were eye openers!

Thanks immensely!

par SANIKA D

3 août 2020

This was the first academic course I enrolled for creative writing and it did complete justice to what I expected to learn. The instructors are really good in explaining the concepts and they surely helped me to explore my imagination as well as writing skills. The assignments were challenging yet fun at the same time ! Overall a very detailed course for those who wish to indulge and improve their creative writing.

par Abhishek N

14 nov. 2019

The course has helped me a lot in giving structure to my thoughts while putting them on paper. It is enlightening to understand how a narration can be interesting to a reader and to get to try the tested method by writers was a interesting experience. Mr. Brando Skyhorse is a great teacher, I love his examples which flowed with every explanation. In the end, the readers are intelligent, hence "show, don't tell".

par Michael S

26 mars 2018

This was a good primer for starting out with creative writing. I wish there was a better format for the peer grading of assignments. especially if someone needs to resubmit. Begging people to look at your work seems silly given that most of it is subjective. If people give a non passing review they should then get a notification to re-edit a reposted revision. Either way it was a stressful part of the course.

par Beckie M

14 sept. 2017

This was a great start to the creative writing specialization! The videos only took up about 30 minutes per week and most of the time was focused on writing and doing peer reviews. That was good in the sense that it didn't take up too much of my time and felt very do-able, but I think the course could benefit from some more instruction or learning content (even if it's not required). The instructor was great!

par Mr. L R A

3 août 2020

It's so great to be part of this course in Creative writing: The Craft of Plot. I appreciate Brando Skyhorse for sharing his knowledge and skill on how to write the plot. Its so exciting to know that I am honored to have an opportunity to listen to profound teachers an award winning novelists Amy B and Salvatore Scibona during their shop talk. Happy to have received a certificate from Wesleyan University.

par Elena F H

26 juin 2020

This course was really informative and useful. I was surprised by how much I learned and how good is for advising writers-to-be. Before this course I had done one in another oganisation, and I can't believe how well this course is structred and how approchable it is. The lecturer was really good. I'm really happy with this course, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to dive deep into creative writing.

par Tere F

10 févr. 2016

The instructor really gives the nitty-gritty of how to write a plot that will intrigue readers. He explains what a plot is (and it may not be what you think! The assignment is much harder than it looks! Believe me, it took three days for me to get mine done, sign of a good assignment as I can typically write 250 words in a snap (this review for example!). If you want to write, this is a good beginning.

par Sandra M

27 oct. 2020

This was a great introductory course in creative writing. It taught me some of the techniques that authors use to construct a well-paced story that is interesting to the reader. The videos were interesting, particularly the "Shop Talk" segments with published authors, and the writing assignments were carefully constructed to force students to grapple with the concepts from the module in their writing.

par Ekta S

28 juil. 2022

Excellent course! Someone like me with zero skills in writing fiction/stories is now able to draft interesting stories by simply following the instructions in this course. The course is very well structured, good explanations, good examples, and very useful tips. Many thanks to course instructor and guest faculty. It was my dream to learn to write fiction. Am so gald I took this course, thank you!

par Rian M

27 oct. 2020

I love how the course helps you come to understand developing a novel. I would say reviewing peers is difficult, because in some ways, your peers do the assignment, but they don't always do it correctly. I think if it is a one point assessment, then that should be based on completing the assignment. There should be opportunity to assign more points based on the quality of the assignment.

par Nicole F

11 nov. 2019

Before taking this course, I had no idea how stories were structured. Brandon Skyhorse is a wonderful professor who comes off as professional and knowledgeable. The videos are interesting, and I love it when he interviews actual writers and draws on his own personal writing experience. I am actually writing pieces whereas before I had all these ideas but no knowledge of how to express them!

par Veda S F

25 oct. 2021

I really enjoyed the course. It was perfect, not too much homework but enough. I like the videos as well, it gave me the feeling that I was in class. This was my first writing class and the course was great for a beginner like me. I know I still have a long ways to go but it is a start and I will be taking more classes since this one panned out and I learned some stuff. Thank you so much.

par Victoria F S

9 nov. 2018

I have enjoyed this course very much. Now I feel confident that I can create a compelling plot in my stories. I also now understand what a scene is, which is very important. I can teach what I have learned, too. What is exciting is that I now feel energized to keep writing stories. Thank you so much for your approach, which I find caring and practical! Best to all writers/professors!

par Veronica M

23 août 2019

i loved this course! i didn't get to take any creative writing courses in college unfortunately so this was a great introduction to the craft. i felt that even as an inexperienced fiction writer, the content was clear and easy to follow and, at the same time, challenging and invigorating. my passion for writing has only increased, and i'm looking forward to the rest of the specialization!