Chevron Left
Retour à Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments par Université Duke

4.7
1,087 notes
298 Avis

À propos du cours

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Meilleurs avis

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

RH

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 294 Examens pour Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

par Elaine A H

Apr 27, 2019

Ack! I could not listen to these guys for more than 30 seconds without wanting to throw a cat out of a window. They might have something to say, but I will never hear it.

par Mauri S G

Mar 31, 2019

I loved this course. The professor is fun and clear and intelligent; the course is complex enough to hold interest and applicable enough to every day life that it will always be useful to each and every person. I personally am a retired person living in "the sticks" of the south of France (Provence) with little access to university learning. I will forever be grateful to Coursera for bringing advanced learning into my living room!!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor (Doctor) Walter Sinnott-Armstrong...

par ling

Jan 20, 2019

Very good course and very humorous professor! Every day we are facing so many propaganda and misleading news from media, if you do not know how to draw valid and sound argument and make good reasoning, it will be easy for you to be misled. Taking this course helps you to distinguish good arguments from the bad ones, therefore, I strongly recommend everyone study this course if you want to be an independent and critical thinker!

par Celso E L

Jan 04, 2019

Great ideas and excellent material presented, but, they tend to repeat themselves and extend the videos too much, making them tiring, I believe that, making it more to the point, would be appreciated by most of the students.

par ola a

Dec 09, 2018

wonderfully presented, clearly explained and very interesting.

i just wish there was a panel/person i could ask questions while i was watching the video as there were some points i wished to clarify and the forum did not address these

par Joe A

Dec 03, 2018

This is a very hard course but also very rewarding. It's average Joe's antidote to chaos in a world of fake news.

par Rayna R

Sep 27, 2018

This course was very informative! I would recommend doing the rest of the courses after you've finished this one, because this one is mostly philosophy and grammar of arguments.

par dekel l

Aug 20, 2018

This course deals with being able to express yourself in an eloquent, coherent form. It will allow you to understand your claims and opinions about the world by rethinking about them using more constructive and logic way.

Excellent lectures. Lovely examples. Sharp and clear practice questions.

Recommended for everyone.

par Dr. R C

Dec 17, 2017

This has been an amazing intro to the field of arguments and logic. Highly recommend it. But be aware, it's gonna be addictive.

par Ayman K

Dec 14, 2017

Think again of having this course simplified and delivered to students in their early years of education. Elementary school if possible. Doing so would have a positive effect of the future of humanity in avoiding conflicts as this course have the preliminary information for a critical and healthy mind

par Deepak S

Jun 17, 2019

The course was awesome. I never knew we can look at discussions and conversations from this kind of a perspective which is not only scientific but also beautifully mesmerizing. The way it was taught by Prof. Sinnott-Armstrong was simply amazing. He has a simple lucid style which is not only friendly and articulate but also entertaining at the same time allowing me to love the course even more. Thank you so much!!

par ANA L

Jun 17, 2019

Maravilhoso, consegui desenvolver-me melhor na interpretação de textos!

par Hussain

Jun 10, 2019

Fun, engaging course!

par Auricel T

Jun 04, 2019

It is a very goods course on how to understand ar

par Jiaojiao Z

May 27, 2019

very useful course to form a thinking formulate about arguments

par Heba M

May 21, 2019

wonderful experience course is taught in a good manner making it easy for the students to understand it

par Preethy A M

May 18, 2019

I found the validity portion to be confusing. Other parts of the class were interesting.

par Valentina R

May 05, 2019

A very interesting and challenging course, in my opinion the material was well structured and understandable. Strongly recommend

par Gustavo C B

May 01, 2019

Fantastic course, congratulations. The best of the course is the overall joviality that breaks away with the idea that criticizing an argument necessarily means "fighting". The emphasis on the possibility of the argument being not sound but the conclusion still true, too. Many of my students have watched the video lectures at my suggestion. My assessment is that their written and oral produce improved as a consequence of doing that. It strikes me how intricate the first version of an idea can be, and how painstaking it is to turn it simple. And, further, how much internal resistance appears in one's soul towards expressing one's ideas in their simplest, most transparent (arguably most useful) form.

par DICKY S

Apr 28, 2019

Great knowledges with fun approaches

par Nguyen T T

Apr 25, 2019

Wonderful course in introducing fundamental concepts of arguments

par Charles C W

Apr 15, 2019

I've taken several online courses on logic and argumentation. This one stands out by virtue of the professor's enthusiasm and clarity of explanations. Worth every minute I've spent on it.

par Xinyi X

Apr 14, 2019

The teacher is really adorable and funny! However, I do hope every question can show the answer to why I am wrong.

par Tina

Apr 07, 2019

Very clear and profound! The profession is clever and funny, explaining the difficult definition in a very detailed and clear way. The only thing that bugs me is that the answer in the exam. It explains the right answer which is good, but it never explains why my answer is wrong.

par king

Apr 07, 2019

great