Chevron Left
Retour à The R Programming Environment

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The R Programming Environment par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.4
étoiles
1,053 évaluations
287 avis

À propos du cours

This course provides a rigorous introduction to the R programming language, with a particular focus on using R for software development in a data science setting. Whether you are part of a data science team or working individually within a community of developers, this course will give you the knowledge of R needed to make useful contributions in those settings. As the first course in the Specialization, the course provides the essential foundation of R needed for the following courses. We cover basic R concepts and language fundamentals, key concepts like tidy data and related "tidyverse" tools, processing and manipulation of complex and large datasets, handling textual data, and basic data science tasks. Upon completing this course, learners will have fluency at the R console and will be able to create tidy datasets from a wide range of possible data sources....

Meilleurs avis

MV
25 déc. 2018

Very Very Rigorous Course for a beginner on R language and because of its nature, after completing just one course, I feel like I have gained a lot of knowledge and also familiarity with R language.

KV
17 juin 2019

A very good course to read and get the valuable content of R language. This is for the students who want to learn and practice the basic and some intermediate concepts of data manipulation.

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 280 Avis pour The R Programming Environment

par Marcelo B

4 août 2017

Very Good

par Rebecca A D

24 sept. 2017

good one

par Donatas G

17 août 2020

nice

par Ganapathi N K

13 mai 2018

Nice

par Benjamin S

14 mai 2019

T

par Dmitry S

1 oct. 2016

+: I reached my goal for the course and now I understand a bit about R. I succeeded to pass within much shorter time than anticipated course duration. The course certificate is posted to my Linkedin profile.

-: No human mentors on the course discussion forum - all questions answered by other students. Automatic tests in swirl are too restrictive and do not accept perfectly correct student solutions slightly different to those anticipated by the authors. Week 2 assignment is much different from the reading material. Nothing taught about charting in R.

Overall comment: I think it is good value for money.

par wally

25 janv. 2017

All in all good stuff. A couple of comments:

Swirl grading should be a little more flexible; sure cut is more succinct that nested ifelse's, but there's more than one way to skin the data-analytic cat in R, as I'm sure y'all are aware.

Also, I recommend more emphasis on data tables. I use them exclusively due to the dramatic performance improvement over data frames. And in my brief experiments, dplyr and tidyr commands worked on them too.

This first course was review for me. Nonetheless I definitely learned a few practical things that will up my data science game (which can always use upping).

par Bryan D

14 janv. 2018

There are a few areas of the course that are not fully explained and cause extra time trying to 'figure it out'. I am not referring to code/learning, but the logistics of the class. However, there are a few questions in assignments & quizzes that refer to things that were not particularly explained either in the lecture or in the book. I understand self study is beneficial, but I start the course with the understanding that questions will be based off of lecture or the book. If additional resources are needed, then that should be expressly stated in the lecture or book.

par Taz P

23 janv. 2019

This course has a perfect combination of theory and hands-on exercises. I've been doing a few courses in Data Science on Coursera and I have found this method the best at least for me personally. I will probably carry on doing these courses. On the negative side, the student forum is practically dead, don't count on getting any help there. Coursera support have been very difficult and I had to wait a while to get my certificate. In the meantime Coursera charged me for an extra month (after I'd completed the course).

par Kevin D

10 juil. 2017

Une initiation intéressante et complète à R qui a l'avantage de donner des bons réflexes pour coder rapidement. Le caractère interactif des exercices de programmation est un gros plus. Attention : il n'y a pas de vidéos hormis la vidéo d'introduction. On peut aussi avoir des difficultés de syntaxe susceptibles de nous bloquer un bout de temps, notamment sur des fonctions où la documentation est un peu aride (je pense à cut et à spread sur lesquelles j'ai bien passé 1/4 du temps que j'ai consacré au total à ce MOOC).

par Rafael d S P

3 juin 2020

The course is good, it concisely teaches the basics of R and it is based on chapter 1 of the book Mastering Software Development in R, so there are almost no videos, just readings. I recommend it if you have little experience with R and want a quick upgrade. However, there are some errors and typos in the material, including the final quiz. Besides, forums are mostly supported by students, the answers from mentors were from some years ago, and I have seen people with difficulties to contact the support.

par Francisco D I T

30 sept. 2019

I found this course quite interesting because sometimes we learn about modeling techniques, but we forget one of the most important things: how to write a good script by applying useful packages or functions to read and manage datasets. It has been an easy course and I recommend it to people who want to start basic reading and managing data with R-project. In addition, the possibility of deciding your own work schedule is very helpful when you have to do other stuff from the university.

par Jhosse P M R

4 févr. 2017

Excelent course to start with the basics of R language. It gives a modern introduction to R programming avoiding traditional topics like loops and conditionals keeping them for more advanced programming topics. It also covers almost all tidyverse packages with a shallow introduction to the most common packages.

I have acomplaint. The dataset for the final quiz was outdated, I managed to pass the quiz guessing variable names.

par Patrick R

9 déc. 2018

The course book is good and a nice resource. Swirl lessons were also really nice. They are interactive and helped becoming familiar with the functions. However, video tutorials on real datasets like the one from week 4 would be helpful. Also, the final quiz was disproportionally difficult in comparison to what was taught during the weeks leading up to week 4. Overall a good course that provides a solid introduction to R.

par Aubrey L

16 janv. 2020

Some frustrating issues with Swirl functionality, but the discussion boards are helpful for troubleshooting fixes. Seems to cover the majority of the basics I previously learned in the R section of an in-person, for-credit Quantitative Methods of Management course I took at my college, plus it included a few additional useful topics. I appreciate that it provides links for additional learning. All around solid course.

par Fernando J N

9 janv. 2018

Very informative, however could be more complete. Some functions aren't introduced and the swirl package didn't accept other solutions path that would likewise lead to the same result. I believe also that some update would not harm. However, this course is really informative and, in my opinion, one of the best available. I really enjoy this course. Nice job and thank you very for sharing this knowledge.

par Robert S

23 juil. 2020

The swirl assignments are fairly good but not that engaging. If you don't mind doing only readings and swirl assignments, this is a good course to take. If you really want video lectures, you'll want to look elsewhere (there are essentially none). The final assignment was pretty good for making you look things on your own in order to get the solutions, while also not being unreasonably difficult.

par Goldie T P

12 déc. 2017

You are very much on your own as far as figuring out methods and steps. Expect to use the forums a lot. The professor does a great job explaining but there's a gap between the lecture and the assignment. I compare it to not knowing what a circle is and then being asked to draw one just based on someone's explanation. You'd get better results if you were at least shown a curved line.

par Nicole V

26 févr. 2018

I really liked the format of the Quiz for Week 4 - there is a dataset given and questions requiring you to do your own data manipulation/calculation to come to an answer (as opposed to the other weeks requiring swirl lessons, which weren't as fun/challenging). I would've liked to see more of the Week 4 type quizzes earlier. Overall, though, this is a good foundation course.

par Nashit A

20 juil. 2017

Swirl should be accepting of other answers as well as different snippets of code will produce the same result.

At times this got frustrating and my reason of taking time to complete the course is because I'd leave things in between because of swirl issues.

This goes away and it is a 5-star as a beginner course; it is made beautifully to get us up to speed

par Alen D

2 sept. 2019

This course is very informative and practical special the last assignment because I saw the real data and use of some of packages and functions which I only read them so far and I didn't know how to use them. I didn't give five stars only because problem which I have with swirl during the course:)

par Morgan T

15 juin 2018

I wish there had been more exercises like the final Week 4 quiz along the way -- Swirl was useful as an interactive supplement to the readings, but those last 10 questions were the only time where I really felt challenged to use learnings to solve problems more independently and originally.

par Mehmet U

2 oct. 2018

Recorded whiteboard classes or videos from the instructors would significantly increase the value of the course. There should be more interaction with the instructors. Some weeks tasks/assignments were extremely more difficult compared to others. Otherwise, I liked it and learned a lot.

par Md K S

7 mai 2020

A very unique approach to teaching a programming language. This course removed my fear of learning a programming language. I have become comfortable in running Rstudio, and understand the codes. Various excel operations I feel comfortable doing with R. Thanks for the course Dr. Peng.

par Matthew D

21 août 2017

The course is great, and very challenging. It is a little frustrating that the course requires 1 out of 2 programming assignments to be completed, but shows you as past due despite reaching that goal...

Getting this corrected and verified by Coursera has also been difficult.