Chevron Left
Retour à Quantitative Methods

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Quantitative Methods par Université d'Amsterdam

4.7
1,143 notes
378 avis

À propos du cours

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Meilleurs avis

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 371 Examens pour Quantitative Methods

par Jamer N C A

Oct 29, 2015

Excelente!

par Sumit S

Jan 18, 2017

Good course for those desiring to develop conception about research design. Students outside the purview of social sciences can find it a bit difficult.A few more examples in each module could perhaps be of further help. Overall an excellent course.

par Prashant N

Jun 27, 2016

Very nice and interesting!

I learnt a lot. I wish I could make better use of discussion forums. Some questions and few concepts remained unanswered/ not clear, however it was a fantastic experience overall.

par Philly D

Apr 19, 2017

This is a really good course, comprehensive and useful to anyone wanting to know about quant methods. It's pretty tough and you need to study, but if you finish it you'll definitely learn a lot.

par joemclemon

Feb 02, 2017

Good content, good ideas, great examples. The forums were a little abandoned.

par Sebbane E

Jan 12, 2017

Very good and quality training : videos and material are in a very good quality. Assignments make well practice the acquired knowledge and the final exam reviews all lectures in a very practical way that allowed me to make the infinite connections until the end.

The only negatively appreciated aspect is the issue to be graded when you submit your assignment few days later. Also, there is no real mentor from the university. These are very critical points that should really exist in a paid online course.

par Jennifer P

May 08, 2016

Good pacing, good explanations, reasonable expectations.

par Juan S B M

Jan 12, 2017

very good course, well structured!!

par Catherine C

Nov 15, 2016

The lecture content covers the most basic concepts of quantitative research. It would be helpful to you if you have no experience in quantitative research before. But personally I think the lecturer covers too much on history--I had a hard time remembering the names.

par Martha C C O

Nov 07, 2016

Its great. So complete, you really gain an integral knowledge of the topic. I couldn't finish it because of the amount of homework.

par Marie R

Oct 18, 2016

I really felt this course was well presented and easily accessed for working learners. If you wish to build your skills in this area, this course is a good way to do it. My only hesitation regarding this course pertains to the time and energy spent on historical or largely theoretical constructs, such as what Plato thought or did not think about the nature of reality. To me, this should be an applied learning course given its nature and spending time and energy on this seems an academic exercise of little importance to the ability to understand research.

par Judith E

Jun 01, 2017

A very interesting course - I learned a lot. I thought it was a shame that my elective assignment in week 6 was not marked - perhaps if you're offering extra assignments, it might be worth having mentors checking and grading them. Apart from that, the video lectures are informative and enjoyable, as are the interviews, and there is a nice mix of assignments with practical and theoretical applications.

par Ferry V

Aug 07, 2016

Very good, easy to follow. Exams are well designed and offer a good training. Videos can sometimes be a bit boring to watch.

par Carl D

Mar 22, 2016

This is my first MOOC and I enjoyed it. The lectures were clear, concise, and interesting. Most of the tests and assignments were relevant and well thought out.

par Tien P

Aug 26, 2016

Good lectures, well-designed videos and tests. However, coordinators are low responsive. No extra reading is provided.

par Cedrick P

Apr 10, 2016

I loved working with this course. I am definitely going to graduate school based upon my achievement and enjoyment levels. Having a practical look at my potential new field has made me much more decisive about my path. Thank you!

par FEG R

Nov 23, 2016

Nice Course, quite some views to digest but good for understanding how social research can/should be done/considered. Repetition required to grasp all these new terms if you are not a social science stu

par Liam M

Apr 26, 2018

Good although the peer review system needs work and the quizzes that pop up during videos are annoying and useless

par Catherine A

Apr 07, 2018

It was informative and helpful. On some of the subjects, a bit more detail in the examples would help rather than brief general descriptions.

par Jan B

Aug 24, 2019

Very good course, the videos were entertaining and the tasks forced me to use the newly acquired knowledge in practice. Still, I guess we all would benefit from a longer project completed part by part, for example, a study using some database. In this way, it would bring even more benefits.

par Georgina D

Jul 08, 2019

Great course. Broad scope and hones in on important ethical aspects.

par Sara H M

Sep 02, 2019

I would like to have a review that included what answers are expected on the Writing Assignments. Because sometimes, especially in the second writing assignment, I didn't know if it was a correct answer or what is expected as an answer.

par MYAT T W

Oct 03, 2019

effective for me

par Mohammad J

Dec 30, 2017

the first 3 weeks were a little difficult to follow but then i catch up with the terms and definitions, week 4 became very enjoyable. wish i could took the quiz without payment.

You must listen to the interviews. Interviews are the best part that sum up all ideas on the related week.

par Melanie W

Nov 07, 2019

Overall the course was great. The only major critique that I have is that the exam questions were often worded unclearly, which sometimes caused me to get answers wrong for concepts that I actually understood. Otherwise I'm very happy with the quality of the course!