Chevron Left
Retour à Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion par Université Duke

4.5
96 notes
23 Avis

À propos du cours

The third course in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C introduces the programming constructs pointers, arrays, and recursion. Pointers provide control and flexibility when programming in C by giving you a way to refer to the location of other data. Arrays provide a way to bundle data by guaranteeing sequences of data are grouped together. Finally, recursive functions—functions that call themselves—provide an alternative to iteration that are very useful for implementing certain algorithms....

Meilleurs avis

DH

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

RS

Jan 24, 2019

Very well designed hands-on training course for developing a real software program in C.

Filtrer par :

1 - 24 sur 24 Examens pour Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

By Will O

Mar 07, 2019

The course requires 100% perfection in order to move on from one assignment to the next in the course as well as from one course to the next within the specialization. This expectation becomes incredibly challenging based upon 1) the minimal teaching videos, 2) lack of programming examples and practice exercises, 3) requiring students to learn and implement tools not addressed in the lessons (e.g. qsort() and void * variables), and 4) heavily relying upon reading out-of-context selections from a textbook co-written by one of the instructors.

The structure of this course consistently poses a problem (see the discussions) when a student struggles to understand the material or cannot figure out how to fix their program, even when submitting screenshots of bugs within the course grader. Too often, the instructors and/or their staff ignore questions and do not always provide feedback to assist the student in understanding why their code does not work (once again see the discussions).

These flaws could be overlooked if auditing these courses were an option, but at $49 per month these courses should be designed to enable students to learn foundational concepts without demanding absolute perfection. For students who want to learn C Programming, a much better option would be cs50x and/or C Programming with Linux through edX. Both of these courses can be audited for free and do not possess any of the issues mentioned above.

By Andrew Z

Jul 19, 2018

Wow! I took my first course that was heavy in C in college and I remember it being challenging. Eight years later, I have to say that C is still a challenging topic! I very much enjoying refreshing knowledge that I learned a very long time ago and had forgotten. I'm also pretty pleased with how much better I am at emacs :) I especially liked the clear introduction of how a program is actually organized in memory. Tail recursion explanation was very interesting as well. One thing that I would love to see improved is some of the testing exercises -- it is easy to get stuck and have several days of progress ruined without really learning anything new. This is small but extremely frustrating. Overall I really appreciate this course and think it was immensely helpful for me in my continuing studies. Very well organized and found the pace of the lectures excellent. Very happy and excited, thanks!

By Stephen L

Apr 30, 2018

The content of this course was informative and very challenging. I definitely learned a few things about pointers in C that I didn't know before. If this course were on another platform I would give it 5 stars.

However, this course isn't on another platform. It's on Coursera. I have never had such a frustrating time with any MOOC before this and I've completed several of them. The built-in terminal that we used to complete our assignments would often kick me out without any notice. I received no credit for most of my completed assignments due to some bug on Coursera's end. This bug was first reported months before I started the class and it persisted up until my final week of the course. I think that I completed the course but I'm not sure. It's tough to be certain when you click the link to view your certificate and it raises an error.

By HITESH G

Jun 16, 2019

great

By Brandon G

Jun 03, 2019

Great course that taught important programming topics.

By Егор О С

May 17, 2019

Great course

By Jimmy K A

Apr 02, 2019

Really nice and the project is really challenging.

By Martin H

Mar 19, 2019

A very good course if you just look at the programming part. But most of the time you try to find testcases what the programmer could have done wrong ( without knowing the course). That's pure luck and does not help to improve my C skills....

By Damien E B

Mar 14, 2019

Very tricky. Much trickier than the earlier courses in the specialization. This is to be expected because pointers are slippery. My only complaint would be that the course needs more basic instruction in Git. I ran into some major issues with github and lost hours trying to fix them. Git is a great skills and should be included in the course, but I think we need a little more guidance.

By Quang P B

Mar 12, 2019

Very bad tool use for uploading assignment

By Gastón M

Mar 06, 2019

Great course. They did a great job in explaining key concepts like pointers and arrays, which are usual subjects with which students struggle.

By Donglai R

Feb 09, 2019

Very bad assignment instructions

By Deleted A

Feb 05, 2019

good one

By Fabrício B

Feb 02, 2019

The course itself is great. The grading system is a bit frustrating because you don't know what the actual tests are. Some idea of what they are actually testing would be a great learning experience.

By Rameshwar S

Jan 24, 2019

Very well designed hands-on training course for developing a real software program in C.

By leekibeom

Jan 17, 2019

good

By Alan-Frank V

Jan 03, 2019

.

By Dhiego S d S

Nov 18, 2018

Very challenging course.

By Akhil P

Nov 17, 2018

Great course!!

By kedar h

Nov 08, 2018

amazing awesome

By Antonio B B A

Nov 01, 2018

I'm at the beginning, but I can assure that is really better than the programming courses in the university. The teachers here are very didactic people as long as allow students to have a complete course. Thanks you all.

By Leonid P

Oct 26, 2018

Good course, but some homeworks too hard.

By Sehyun P

Aug 30, 2018

difficult project but it was worth it

By Douglas H

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.