Chevron Left
Retour à Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion par Université Duke

4.5
étoiles
179 évaluations
48 avis

À propos du cours

The third course in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C introduces the programming constructs pointers, arrays, and recursion. Pointers provide control and flexibility when programming in C by giving you a way to refer to the location of other data. Arrays provide a way to bundle data by guaranteeing sequences of data are grouped together. Finally, recursive functions—functions that call themselves—provide an alternative to iteration that are very useful for implementing certain algorithms....

Meilleurs avis

DH

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

CF

Dec 21, 2019

Teaches you how to use GDB and debug code effectively. Challenging and engaging homework.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 48 Avis pour Pointers, Arrays, and Recursion

par Stephen L

Apr 30, 2018

The content of this course was informative and very challenging. I definitely learned a few things about pointers in C that I didn't know before. If this course were on another platform I would give it 5 stars.

However, this course isn't on another platform. It's on Coursera. I have never had such a frustrating time with any MOOC before this and I've completed several of them. The built-in terminal that we used to complete our assignments would often kick me out without any notice. I received no credit for most of my completed assignments due to some bug on Coursera's end. This bug was first reported months before I started the class and it persisted up until my final week of the course. I think that I completed the course but I'm not sure. It's tough to be certain when you click the link to view your certificate and it raises an error.

par Andrew Z

Jul 19, 2018

Wow! I took my first course that was heavy in C in college and I remember it being challenging. Eight years later, I have to say that C is still a challenging topic! I very much enjoying refreshing knowledge that I learned a very long time ago and had forgotten. I'm also pretty pleased with how much better I am at emacs :) I especially liked the clear introduction of how a program is actually organized in memory. Tail recursion explanation was very interesting as well. One thing that I would love to see improved is some of the testing exercises -- it is easy to get stuck and have several days of progress ruined without really learning anything new. This is small but extremely frustrating. Overall I really appreciate this course and think it was immensely helpful for me in my continuing studies. Very well organized and found the pace of the lectures excellent. Very happy and excited, thanks!

par Rameshwar S

Jan 24, 2019

Very well designed hands-on training course for developing a real software program in C.

par Sehyun P

Aug 30, 2018

difficult project but it was worth it

par Will O

Mar 07, 2019

The course requires 100% perfection in order to move on from one assignment to the next in the course as well as from one course to the next within the specialization. This expectation becomes incredibly challenging based upon 1) the minimal teaching videos, 2) lack of programming examples and practice exercises, 3) requiring students to learn and implement tools not addressed in the lessons (e.g. qsort() and void * variables), and 4) heavily relying upon reading out-of-context selections from a textbook co-written by one of the instructors.

The structure of this course consistently poses a problem (see the discussions) when a student struggles to understand the material or cannot figure out how to fix their program, even when submitting screenshots of bugs within the course grader. Too often, the instructors and/or their staff ignore questions and do not always provide feedback to assist the student in understanding why their code does not work (once again see the discussions).

These flaws could be overlooked if auditing these courses were an option, but at $49 per month these courses should be designed to enable students to learn foundational concepts without demanding absolute perfection. For students who want to learn C Programming, a much better option would be cs50x and/or C Programming with Linux through edX. Both of these courses can be audited for free and do not possess any of the issues mentioned above.

par Chunzhi W

Apr 07, 2020

This is course is one of the greatest coding courses that I have taken in Coursera. The coding assignment is a bit of challenging, definitely needs to put in a lot of time. In the beginning, I skip the part about gdb and Valgrind thinking that they are not that important, and later when I was trying to debug my program, I finally realized that it is extremely hard to move on if you don't master these skills. Anyway, this course definitely worth putting your effort into it.

par Kristen P

Feb 27, 2020

Excellent course with valuable testing and debugging lessons! My only constructive feedback is for Duke to add more clarity to the assignments and their README's and for Coursera to adjust the time commitment. It took me well 30+ additional hours beyond the time commitment estimate.

par SHASHANK K

May 22, 2020

The course is great in quality, so are the assignments but duke should better take care of their PPE because it has caused lot of trouble while completing this course.

William is great at solving doubts and helping students .thanks William for your quick responses.

par Antonio B B A

Nov 01, 2018

I'm at the beginning, but I can assure that is really better than the programming courses in the university. The teachers here are very didactic people as long as allow students to have a complete course. Thanks you all.

par Jessica S

Nov 07, 2019

Some concepts a bit complex, but with the exercises, especially with the latest project, everything is clear. It was a challenge and I feel very happy to have finished it. I recommend it.

par Gastón M

Mar 06, 2019

Great course. They did a great job in explaining key concepts like pointers and arrays, which are usual subjects with which students struggle.

par Douglas H

Aug 13, 2018

End of course project was challenging and fun. Lots of opportunity to learn how to debug memory issues with valgrind.

par Charulaxmi F

Dec 21, 2019

Teaches you how to use GDB and debug code effectively. Challenging and engaging homework.

par Vrushali T

Apr 22, 2020

very informative and helpful quizzes, readings, and videos

par Guo F

Dec 22, 2019

Very good material arrangement and assignment settings!

par Brandon G

Jun 03, 2019

Great course that taught important programming topics.

par Jimmy K A

Apr 02, 2019

Really nice and the project is really challenging.

par Neel P

Feb 16, 2020

awesome .please give more example

par SMRITI A

May 12, 2020

faculty charges reply very late.

par Anurag S

Apr 25, 2020

Best course to learn c language

par Dhiego S d S

Nov 18, 2018

Very challenging course.

par Hien D Q

Mar 23, 2020

very useful for me

par kedar h

Nov 08, 2018

amazing awesome

par Akhil P

Nov 17, 2018

Great course!!

par Егор О С

May 17, 2019

Great course